Majority
Defendant Transport Indemnity Company has appealed from a judgment awarding plaintiff, California Steel Buildings, Inc., the sum of $11,491.82 which represents the
Defendant insurer defines the basic issue .as whether or not the general contractor was using the concededly insured truck at the time of the accident. It asserts that the facts compel a negative answer on this issue and that therefore plaintiff’s possible liability was not covered by its policy. The insurer further asserts that the trial court erred in refusing to admit into evidence the policy of insurance carried by plaintiff, and in admitting certain evidence in relation to the services performed by and the charges of an attorney without adequate foundation.
For the reasons hereinafter expressed it is concluded that plaintiff was entitled to coverage under defendant’s policy by reason of its “use” of the truck; and that the record reflects that defendant has failed to preserve what right it might have had to litigate the existence and priority of other insurance. Error is found in the admission of evidence on the issue of plaintiff’s damages, and the case is remanded for a proper determination of that question.
Plaintiff was entitled to coverage under defendant’s policy
The facts relating to the principal issue were the subject of an agreed statement which in turn was the source of the trial court’s findings of fact. The latter reveal: The plaintiff was a general contractor engaged in the erection of a building. The claimant was an independent cement finishing subcontractor employed on the job site. Prior to the accident the electrical subcontractor had laid unprotected electrical conduits on the ground. At the request of the electrical subcontractor and of the cement supplier plaintiff procured and brought planks to the job site, which were placed on the ground within the uncompleted building for the sole purpose of enabling the supplier’s cement trucks, including the one involved in the accident, to reach the point where they were to be unloaded without damaging the conduits, or, as elsewhere stated, to assist the truck in reaching the point where it would be unloaded.
The claimant thereafter brought suit against plaintiff, the cement supplier and other defendants to recover damages for personal injuries. At the time of the accident the truck was covered by a policy of liability insurance which was then in full force and effect and had been issued to the cement supplier by defendant. Defendant undertook the defense of its named insured and obtained a dismissal for a $1,000 payment. As a result it was familiar at all times with all the facts and circumstances out of which the action arose. Plaintiff gave defendant notice of the occurrence of the accident and tendered its defense to defendant. Upon the latter’s refusal, plaintiff proceeded with the defense of the action on its own behalf. The case was tried three times resulting in a jury disagreement on two occasions, and finally in a defense verdict in favor of plaintiff herein, and against the claimant.
In accordance with the stipulation of the parties the court first determined the question of liability, and then took evidence, hereinafter discussed, on the question of the reasonableness of the attorneys’ fees expended by plaintiff, or on its behalf. According to the agreed statement of facts the following were the only issues first before the court: “ (1) Whether the policy of defendant covered the liability of plaintiff for said accident; (2) If it covered said liability, whether defendant was required to defend said action on behalf of plaintiff. ’ ’ The trial court answered each question in the affirmative in its interlocutory decision, and so framed its final conclusions of law.
The trial court rejected defendant’s proffer of findings to the effect that defendant did not issue a policy of insurance to nor was it in any other way contractually hound to plaintiff, and that plaintiff was not using the vehicle of defendant's named insured in any manner whatsoever or at all.
The question of coverage is governed by the provisions of
Prom the cases referred to by the parties, and others to which they lead, the following rules may be distilled. The term “using” encompasses “loading or unloading” even though the latter phrase is not included in the statute (United States Steel Corp. v. Transport Indem. Co. (1966) 241 Cal.
1 The complaint and answers raised an issue as to the policy provisions and the coverage thereby afforded; the question was not resolved by the final pretrial order and the policy was made a part of the agreed statement of facts. The sole reference to the policy provisions in the appeal is plaintiff’s reference to a provision whereby the policy shall furnish such insurance as is necessary to comply with the provisions of the motor vehicle financial responsibility laws of any state which shall be applicable.
2 Wildman v. Government Employees’ Ins. Co. (1957) 48 Cal.2d 31 , 38 [ 307 P.2d 359 ] and American Auto. Ins. Co. v. Transport Indem. Co. (1962) 200 Cal.App.2d 543 , 552 [ 19 Cal.Rptr. 558 ].
3 Entz v. Fidelity Cas. Co. of New York (1966) 64 Cal.2d 379 , 381 [ 50 Cal.Rptr. 190 , 412 P.2d 382 ]; General Pump Service, Inc. v. Travelers Ins. Co. (1965) 238 Cal.App.2d 81 , 83-84 [ 47 Cal.Rptr. 533 ]; San Fernando Valley Crane Service, Inc. v. Travelers Ins. Co. (1964) 229 Cal.App.2d 229 , 232 [ 40 Cal.Rptr. 165 ]; Colby v. Liberty Mutual Ins. Co. (1963) 220 Cal.App.2d 38 , 42 [ 33 Cal.Rptr. 538 ]; Industrial Indem. Co. v. General Ins. Co. (1962) 210 Cal.App.2d 352 , 356 [ 26 Cal.Rptr. 568 ]; Standard Acc. Ins. Co. v. Hartford Acc. & Indem. Co. (1962) 206 Cal. *754 App.2d 17 , 19 [ 23 Cal.Rptr. 424 ]; Columbia Southern Chemical Corp. v. Manufacturers & Wholesalers Indem. Exch. (1961) 190 Cal.App.2d 194 , 198 [ 11 Cal.Rptr. 762 ]; Pleasant Valley etc. Assn. v. Cal-Farm Ins. Co. (1956) 142 Cal.App.2d 126 , 129 [ 298 P.2d 109 ]; Liberty Mutual Ins. Co. v. Steenberg Constr. Co. (8th Cir. 1955) 225 F.2d 294 , 296 and 297.
The question here, however, relates to when the unloading or use commences. Both parties rely on American Auto. Ins. Co. v. Transport Indem. Co. (1962) 200 Cal.App.2d 543 [ 19 Cal.Rptr. 558 ]. The insurer points out that in that case the recipient’s foreman was held to be responsible for using the truck because he “not only directed where the truck was to unload, but also assigned the employee ... to participate in the unloading.” (200 Cal.App.2d at p. 552.) It urges that the cited case and other precedents[4] wherein the claimant of
4 Continental Casualty Co. v. Zurich Ins. Co. (1961) 57 Cal.2d 27 [ 17 Cal.Rptr. 12 , 366 P.2d 455 ]; San Fernando Valley Crane Service, Inc. v. *755 Travelers Ins. Co. (1964) 229 Cal.App.2d 229 [ 40 Cal.Rptr. 165 ]; Colby v. Liberty Mutual Ins. Co. (1963) 220 Cal.App.2d 38 [ 33 Cal.Rptr. 538 ]; Industrial Indem. Co. v. General Ins. Co. (1962) 210 Cal.App.2d 352 [ 26 Cal.Rptr. 568 ]; Standard Acc. Ins. Co. v. Hartford Acc. & Indem. Co. (1962) 206 Cal.App.2d 17 [ 23 Cal.Rptr. 424 ]; Pleasant Valley Assn. v. Cal-Farm etc. Ins. Co. (1956) 142 Cal.App.2d 126 [ 298 P.2d 109 ]; American Auto Ins. Co. v. American Fid. & Cas. Co. (1951) 106 Cal.App.2d 630 [ 235 P.2d 645 ].
The record reflects that in the trial court the controversy centered upon the significance to be attached to the planking, and the party or parties responsible for placing the plank which propelled the claimant into the air when the truck drove over it. There is no question herein but that the accident arose out of the use of the truck (see City of Santa Monica v. Royal Indem. Co. (1958) 157 Cal.App.2d 50 , 55 [ 320 P.2d 136 ]); nor is there question as to the causal connection between the movement of the truck for the purpose of unloading the cement which it carried and the accident (cf. Entz v. Fidelity & Cas. Co. of New York, supra, 64 Cal.2d at pp. 386-387). The question is whether plaintiff was using the truck at the time within the meaning of the statute. Plaintiff claims that its action in placing the planking to assist the truck in reaching the point where it could be unloaded” was as much a direction to the driver of the truck and therefore as much a use of the truck as was the direction of the foreman in American Auto. Ins. Co. (200 Cal.App.2d at p. 555).
Defendant counters with the finding that the planks were placed to protect the conduits at the request of defendant’s assured and the electrical contractor, and were in no sense to provide a fixed path for the insured’s truck. It points out that the directions were given in this case not by plaintiff’s foreman or employee but by an independent contractor. This argument overlooks the facts that the plaintiff ordered and paid for the cement and that the claimant was merely an independent contractor to finish, not supply and furnish, the cement. It may be inferred that plaintiff as general contractor maintained dominion and control over the premises and the right to direct subcontractors and suppliers in their use of the premises. The claimant in directing the truck was
Under the agreed facts in this case the trial court was justified in finding that plaintiff was covered as a person using the truck with the permission of the named assured. The plaintiff had general control and is charged with supervision of the job site. It had undertaken (whether voluntarily or by contract does not appear) to order and pay for the cement, and it may be implied therefrom that it had the duty to direct the truck to that portion of the job site where the claimant was to perform his work. It may further be inferred that the unloading and resultant use came into play at the same time as this duty of direction arose. The fact that plaintiff either delegated or neglected to perform this duty renders it no less a user of the truck while that vehicle was proceeding over the job site to the point where plaintiff was obligated to furnish the cement.
The right to secure a ruling on the existence of and the priority of other insurance has not been properly maintained in the record
In its complaint plaintiff alleged: “The obligation of defendant to plaintiff under defendant’s policy is primary to any other such rights or protection available to plaintiff.” The prayer includes the following: “a declaration that the
In its answer the defendant insurer alleged that plaintiff was fully covered and insured by another policy issued by United Pacific Insurance Company. The prayer sought a declaration of noncoverage of plaintiff, and did not refer te the resolution of any question of duplicate coverage.
The matter came on for pretrial conference on August 15, 1963, and thereafter a pretrial conference order was signed on August 21, 1963. Presumably the court had before it the respective pretrial statements of the parties which were filed with the order. Plaintiff's statement made no mention of the priority of the insurance it sought to enforce. Defendant’s statement set forth the issue as the nature and extent of the insurance coverage owed to plaintiff by its own alleged insurer and by defendant. The order contained no reference to plaintiff’s other insurance, and posed the issue as follows: “Whether or not [the claimant] was engaged in unloading cement when the accident in question occurred. ’ ’ On September 25, 1965, plaintiff filed a notice of motion for modification of pretrial order, supported by the declaration of one of its attorneys. Following hearing an order was signed and filed deleting the foregoing issue and substituting: “Is plaintiff insured under a policy of defendant, . ." . and therefore entitled to reimbursement ...” No mention was made of the other insurance.
The agreed statement of facts, as hereinabove noted,' set forth the issues as follows: “(1) Whether the policy of defendant covered the liability of plaintiff for said accident; (2) If it covered said liability, whether defendant was required to defend said action on behalf of plaintiff. ’ ’ It contained no reference to the insurance allegedly issued to plaintiff. The right to object to the materiality of the facts set forth was reserved, but there is no mention of the right to present further evidence except on the issue of the reasonableness of the attorneys’ fees, costs and expenses incurred by plaintiff. The statement was presented to the court by the attorney for plaintiff at the first hearing on the merits who represented that the only matter then to be decided was the time to be taken for the briefs.
At this point in the proceedings defendant offered in evidence a policy allegedly issued to plaintiff as the named insured. The trial court sustained plaintiff’s objection which
The defendant’s policy, which was made a part of the agreed statement of facts provides: “Other Insurance. If there is other insurance against an occurrence covered by this policy, this insurance shall be deemed excess insurance over and above the applicable limits of all such other insurance.” The defendant, however, failed to make any record of the contents of the policy allegedly issued to plaintiff.
On this state of the record it is impossible to review the propriety of the pretrial order which failed to include the issue raised by the other insurance. In the absence of a request for modification by the defendant, it was bound by the pretrial order. (Cal. Rules of Court, rule 216; cf. rules 215, subd. (b) and 218; and see Cal-Neva Lodge, Inc. v. Marx (1960) 178 Cal.App.2d 186 , 187 [ 2 Cal.Rptr. 889 ] and Baird v. Hodson (1958) 161 Cal.App.2d 687 , 690 [ 327 P.2d 215 ].) Defendant failed to preserve the issue of other insurance, or even the right to raise it, in the agreed statement of facts. Its agreement to the issues set forth in that statement precludes attack on the failure to set forth other issues, in the pretrial order, even if such attack could be made in the absence of a request for correction or modification under paragraph (b) of rule 215. (See Duffy v. Griffith Co. (1962) 206 Cal.App.2d 780 , 787-789 [ 24 Cal.Rptr. 161 ].)
For the same reasons the trial court properly excluded the offer into evidence of the other insurance policy. The pretrial order and the issues as framed by the agreed statement forestalled its admission. It is unnecessary on this record to determine whether an insurer who is sued by a potential insured must bring in the latter’s insurer in order to raise the question of the relative priorities; or whether it may proceed to establish that any coverage it furnishes is excess over other insurance available to the plaintiff without so joining the other insurer.
In any event, the failure of defendant to preserve the contents of plaintiff’s policy in the record precludes consideration of whether or not it covered the loss in question, and, if so, its priority with defendant’s insurance.
The agreed statement of facts referred to plaintiff’s claim of $8,571.25 for attorney’s fees and court costs, and $2,920.57 for costs of investigation. At the trial defendant agreed that those amounts had been paid out and that the issue was reasonableness. Defendant objected when the attorney for plaintiff commenced to testify in regard to a bill for $3,626.65 paid to the law firm which conducted the first trial, on the ground among others that the witness, who first came into the case thereafter, was not competent to testify as to the actual work performed by the prior firm. The court on a second offer overruled the objection and admitted the bill. No testimony was received as to the services actually performed or in respect to the reasonable value of the services itemized in the bill.
Although a bill may evidence the rendition of the services set forth thereon (see R. H. Macy & Co. v. Robinson (1960) 183 Cal.App.2d 182 , 191-192 [ 6 Cal.Rptr. 703 ]), in order to be competent evidence under section 1953f of the Code of Civil Procedure, it must be supported by the testimony of a witness qualified to testify as to its identity and the mode of its preparation. The recipient may vouch for the former, but cannot supply the latter.
Plaintiff seeks to avoid the shortcomings of its proof by reference to the principle that the amount paid is some evidence of the reasonable value of the services or goods for which it is paid. (Dewhirst v. Leopold (1924) 194 Cal. 424 , 433 [ 229 P. 30 ]; Francis v. Sauve (1963) 222 Cal.App.2d 102 , 124 [ 34 Cal.Rptr. 754 ]; Meier v. Paul X Smith Corp. (1962) 205 Cal.App.2d 207 , 222-223 [ 22 Cal.Rptr. 758 ]; Laubscher v. Blake (1935) 7 Cal.App.2d 376 , 383 [ 46 P.2d 836 ].) Support for the judgment is also sought in the following: “The value of attorney’s services is a matter with which a judge must necessarily be familiar. When the' court is informed of the extent and nature of such services, its own experience furnishes it with every element necessary to fix their value.” (Spencer v. Collins (1909) 156 Cal. 298 , 307 [ 104 P. 320 , 20 Ann.Cas. 49]; accord: Russell v. United Pacific Ins. Co. (1963) 214 Cal.App.2d 78 , 88-89 [ 29 Cal.Rptr. 346 ]; Bunn v. Lucas, Pino & Lucas (1959) 172 Cal.App.2d 450 , 468 [ 342 P.2d 508 ].)
The judgment is reversed on the issue of damages and the case is remanded to the trial court with instructions to take such additional evidence as it may be advised, to revise its findings of fact and conclusions of law in regard to the damages, and to pronounce judgment accordingly.
Sullivan, P. J., and Molinari, J., concurred.
5 According to the agreed statement plaintiff claimed attorneys’ fees and court costs of §8,571.25 and costs of investigation of §2,920.57, or a total of $11,491.82, as allowed in the judgment. A discrepancy appears in addition to the contested bill. If all of the testimony and exhibits are considered, they reflect legal fees of $8,525 and court costs and other costs of $2,676.92 or a total of $11,201.92. Defendant’s stipulation only went so far as to agree that the bills had been paid, and there is no support for a judgment in excess of the latter figure.
Cases cited
- Wildman v. Government Employees' Insurance 48 Cal.2d 31 at 37-40 p. 753
- Interinsurance Exchange of the Automobile Club v. Ohio Casualty Insurance 58 Cal.2d 142 at 150-151 p. 753
- Campidonica v. Transport Indemnity Co. 217 Cal.App.2d 403 at 405-407 p. 754
- Continental Casualty Co. v. Zurich Insurance 57 Cal.2d 27 at 33 p. 754
- General Pump Service, Inc. v. Travelers Insurance 238 Cal.App.2d 81 at 84-87 p. 754
- American Automobile Insurance v. American Fidelity & Casualty Company of Richmond 106 Cal.App.2d 630 at 634 p. 754
- Entz v. Fidelity & Casualty Co. of New York 64 Cal.2d 379 at 382, at 384-387 p. 754
- San Fernando Valley Crane Service, Inc. v. Travelers Insurance 229 Cal.App.2d 229 at 234-235, at 236-237 p. 754
- Colby v. Liberty Mutual Insurance 220 Cal.App.2d 38 at 43 p. 754
- American Automobile Insurance v. Transport Indemnity Co. 200 Cal.App.2d 543 at 551-556, at 551 p. 754, p. 756
- City of Santa Monica v. Royal Indemnity Co. 157 Cal.App.2d 50 at 55 p. 755
- Pellicano v. Royal Indemnity Co. 35 Misc.2d 259 p. 756
- J. Scheer & Sons Co. v. Travelers Indemnity Co. 35 Misc.2d 262 p. 756
- Cal-Neva Lodge, Inc. v. Marx 178 Cal.App.2d 186 at 187 p. 758
- Baird v. Hodson 161 Cal.App.2d 687 at 690 p. 758
- Duffy v. Griffith Co. 206 Cal.App.2d 780 at 787-789 p. 758
- R. H. Macy & Co. v. Robinson 183 Cal.App.2d 182 at 191-192 p. 759
- Dewhirst v. Leopold 194 Cal. 424 at 433 p. 759
- Francis v. Sauve 222 Cal.App.2d 102 at 124 p. 759
- Laubscher v. Blake 7 Cal.App.2d 376 at 383 p. 759
- Spencer v. Collins 156 Cal. 298 at 307 p. 759
- Russell v. United Pacific Insurance 214 Cal.App.2d 78 at 88-89 p. 759
- Bunn v. Lucas, Pino & Lucas 172 Cal.App.2d 450 at 468 p. 759