Majority
Petition for writ of review of opinion and decision after reconsideration of respondent Workmen’s Compensation Appeals Board determining that petitioner’s industrial injury caused no permanent disability.
Question Presented
Was there substantial evidence in the record that petitioner had suffered a prior permanent disability ?
Record
On February 10, 1962, while employed by the City of Sacramento as a street cleaner, petitioner suffered an industrial back injury. Petitioner filed an application for compensation to determine liability for permanent disability, etc. Medical reports were submitted, a hearing had, petitioner’s testimony given and judicial notice taken of the files in two applications for prior industrial injuries.
The referee concluded that petitioner had suffered in the 1962 injury a permanent low back disability which precluded him from heavy work. He found a 39% percent disability, apportioned one-half to a preexisting condition and one-half to the present injury. An award was made accordingly. Upon defendant’s petition for reconsideration respondent appeals board entered its opinion and decision after reconsideration in which it rescinded the prior findings and award and found that the 1962 industrial injury had caused temporary total disability to May 6, 1962, for which petitioner had been fully compensated, and that “it has not been established by a preponderance of the evidence that the injury herein caused any additional permanent disability.” (Italics added.)
The difficulty with this ruling is that it presumes the existence of a previous permanent disability. At no time prior to the 1962 injury had it been determined that petitioner was suffering from any permanent disability.
Thus, if, as it appears, the board considered that petitioner now has a permanent disability, which the record shows did not exist prior to the last injury, it logically follows that the permanent disability is due to that injury.
On December 9, 1952, while working for the City of Sacramento as a garbage collector, petitioner sustained a low back sprain while lifting a garbage can. He recovered satisfactorily and returned to duty on December 22. On December 31, 1952,
In both of the proceedings resulting from the 1952 injuries, the commission found that petitioner had suffered no permanent disability. The only awards made were for temporary disability.
Petitioner testified in the instant proceeding that, although he had been having back trouble ever since the 1952 injuries, additional complaints had arisen since the 1962 injuries. The medical testimony on this subject was conflicting. However, although the expert testimony given in the 1952 injuries proceeding concluded with recommendations that petitioner should not engage in heavy work, that given at the instant proceeding was that petitioner must not so engage. Thus, the referee found permanent disability.
The board on reconsideration stated “A trial referee found that applicant now has a low back disability which precludes heavy work.” It then referred to Dr. Johnson’s reports as to the 1952 injuries that petitioner “would have trouble if he continued doing heavy work,” and to Dr. Arthur R. Hart-wig ’s report as to those injuries causing ‘1 a very mild musculoligamentous low back strain,” and concluded “that it has not been established by a preponderance of the evidence that the injury herein caused any additional permanent disability.” (Italics added.)
The board takes the position that section 4750 of the Labor Code prohibits the allowance of any compensation to petitioner based on the 1962 injury, because, in effect, it finds that the earlier injuries resulted in permanent disability. However, such findings are contrary to those made by the board in the earlier proceedings, which findings are res judicata (Dow Chemical Co. v. Workmen’s Comp. App. Bd. (1967) 67 Cal.2d 483 , 491 [ 62 Cal.Rptr. 757 , 432 P.2d 365 ]), that no permanent disability had resulted from either 1952 injury.
It has been repeatedly stated that the purpose of the subsequent injury legislation which the board has relied upon is to encourage the employment of the handicapped by assuring the employer that in the event of industrial injury, he will not be liable for the total combined disability that results, but only for that portion of it which is attributable to the subsequent injury. (State Comp. Ins. Fund v. Industrial Acc. Com. (Hutchinson), 59 Cal.2d 45 , 54 [ 27 Cal.Rptr. 702 , 377 P.2d 902 ]; Dow Chemical Co. v. Workmen’s Comp. App. Bd., supra, 67 Cal.2d 483 , 490, 493-494.) Where the previous injury is not of a type producing such permanent partial disability or impairment but is aggravated by a subsequent injury, the apportionment required by section 4663 of the Labor Code insulates the employer and his compensation carrier from excessive liability. Such apportionment was made in the instant case by the referee. Petitioner’s frail physical condition and small size are not factors from which an employer’s liability should be insulated. An employer takes his employee as he is when he enters employment; unusual vulnerability to injury will not preclude compensation therefor. (Tanenbaum v. Industrial Acc. Com. (1935) 4 Cal.2d 615 , 617 [ 52 P.2d 215 ].)
The board relies, too, on the following statement in State Comp. Ins. Fund v. Industrial Acc. Com., supra, 59
The appeals board’s decision is not supported by substantial evidence.
The award is annulled, and the case is remanded to the board with instructions to determine, in accordance with the rules herein announced, the extent of the permanent disability to Jones caused by the latest accident.
Pierce, P. J., and Began, J., concurred.
Footnotes
- * Retired Presiding Justice of the Court of Appeal sitting under assignment by the Chairman of the Judicial Council.
Cases cited
- Dow Chemical Co. v. Workmen's Compensation Appeals Board 67 Cal.2d 483 at 491, at 490, 493-494 p. 304, p. 305
- State Compensation Insurance Fund v. Industrial Accident Commission 59 Cal.2d 45 at 54 p. 305
- Tanenbaum v. Industrial Accident Commission 4 Cal.2d 615 at 617 p. 305