Majority
Plaintiff, a retired fireman, appeals from a declaratory judgment fixing Ms retirement rights under the provisions of the San Francisco Charter. The action, except for one minor point, was tried upon stipulated facts.
Plaintiff was appointed to the civil service position of fireman in October, 1909, under the then provisions of the charter. In December, 1925, he was appointed captain, which position he held until his retirement in May, 1942. At the time of his retirement his salary was $250 a month. On July 1, 1944, the salary for the rank of captain was increased to $300. Judgment in this action was filed August 15, 1944.
In 1909 the city charter provided that a fireman, after 25 years of active service, could retire on a monthly retirement allowance equal to one-half the amount of salary attached to the rank held by him for three years prior to retirement. In 1932 a new charter was adopted. It contained a provision similar to the above 1909 provision but added an entirely new provision, section 163 (now numbered § 163b) reading as follows: “Should any retired person, except persons retired for service prior to January 8, 1932, . . . engage in a gainful occupation prior to attaining the age of sixty-two, the retirement board shall reduce that part of his monthly pension or retirement allowance which is provided by contributions of the city and county to an amount which, when added to the amount earned monthly by him in such occupation shall not exceed the compensation on the basis of which his pension or retirement allowance was determined.” So far as firemen are concerned the city has made all the contributions to pay the retirement allowances. Plaintiff has made no contributions for that purpose.
After judgment was entered, the above-quoted section was amended. This amendment became effective in January, 1945. It provides: “The provisions of paragraph (b) of this section shall be inoperative during the existing war between the United States and the axis powers, and for six (6) months after the termination of said war.”
It is stipulated that in June of 1942 plaintiff, then under the age of 62 and not disabled, accepted gainful employment. Since that date the retirement board has paid him as his retirement allowance the difference between the amount he so earned and the amount he would have earned in the fire department had he not retired. This has resulted in materially reducing his retirement allowance from a maximum of $125
Plaintiff asserts that the 1909 civil service retirement provisions, under which he was first employed, constituted a contract for wages for services rendered, and that the 1932 amendment has no application to him; that to apply the 1932 amendment to him would be to impair the obligation of his contract with the city and interfere with his vested rights. It is next asserted that even if section 163 is applicable to plaintiff, inasmuch as in 1932 when that amendment was adopted plaintiff had worked under the 1909 provision for 22 years, he had earned 22/25 of his retirement allowance, and his right had vested as to that proportion of it. Neither contention can be sustained.
It must be conceded that there has been some confusion in the California cases as to the exact legal status of public employees’ pensions. The majority of states hold that such pensions are gratuities that can be modified or terminated at the will of the donor. (See eases collected and commented upon, 54 A.L.R. 943 ; 98 A.L.R. 505 ; 112 A.L.R. 1009 ; 137 A.L.R. 249 .) Although there are a few early cases in California holding that a pension is a gratuity, if that rule were now followed it would mean that pension laws would be invalid, being in violation of article IV, section 31, of the Constitution prohibiting gifts by government to any individual. To obviate this difficulty it is now well-settled in this state that pension provisions do not provide for a gratuity but “become a part of the contemplated compensation for those services and so in a sense a part of the contract of employment itself” (O’Dea v. Cook, 176 Cal. 659 , 661 [ 169 P. 366 ]), and that “the right to a pension becomes a vested one upon acceptance of employment by an applicant.” (Dryden v. Board of Pension Commrs., 6 Cal.2d 575 , 579 [ 59 P.2d 104 ]; see, also, Riggs v. District Retirement Board, 21 Cal.2d 382 [ 132 P.2d 1 ]; Aitken v. Roche, 48 Cal.App. 753 [ 192 P. 464 ]; Snyder v. City of Alameda, 58 Cal.App.2d 517 [ 136 P.2d 857 ]; Groat v. Walkup Drayage etc. Co., 14 Cal.App.2d 350
Plaintiff next contends that the 1945 amendment providing that section 163b (1932, § 163) “shall be inoperative during the existing war” is retroactive to December 7, 1941. While this charter provision was not adopted until after judg
The contention that the 1945 amendment should be given retroactive effect is unsound. It is elementary law that all statutes are interpreted to operate prospectively unless their language clearly compels an interpretation that they were intended to operate retroactively. (See Chaney v. Los Angeles County Retirement Bd., 59 Cal.App.2d 413 [ 138 P.2d 735 ], and Holmberg v. City of Oakland, 55 Cal.App. 270 [ 203 P. 167 ], applying this rule to pension statutes.) There is no such compelling language here. While the word “during” is susceptible of the interpretation that the amendment should apply throughout the period of the war, it is far more reasonable, particularly when the future tense “shall be” immediately precedes it, to interpret the word as only including the period of the war from the date of the 'statute to six months after the end of the war. In Holmberg v. City of Oakland, 55 Cal.App. 270 , 271 [ 203 P. 167 ], a charter provision that a police officer injured in the performance of his duty “shall be entitled to receive . . . such medical . . . treatment ... as may be required during the continuance of his disability ...” was held not retroactive and therefore not applicable to an officer disabled by injuries sustained prior to the effective date of the charter provision.
There is another reason why this section should not be construed to operate retroactively, and that is that so to construe it would probably result in declaring it unconstitutional. As already held, plaintiff’s right became vested in May of 1942 when he retired. Each month the extent of that right became fixed. Although the city could raise or lower the amount of the pension in the future by changing the salary of captain, they could not lawfully raise or lower the retirement allowance that had already accrued. After plaintiff started to work in June of 1942 the right that accrued each month thereafter was no longer $125 per month, but varied from $8.08 per month to $88.72 per month. If the city, after
Plaintiff also argues that section 163 (now § 163b) is a general law which does not operate uniformly, and is therefore invalid under article I, section 11, of the Constitution. In this connection it is pointed out that the section operates to reduce the part of the pension provided by the contributions of the city and county to those retired employees who are under 62 years of age, and whose income, over a certain amount, is derived from gainful employment. It does not affect those over 62, those who were under 62 but retired for disability received in the course of their employment, or those under 62 whose income is not derived from gainful employment. Plaintiff argues that this classification is arbitrary and unreasonable, and, for that reason, invalid. With this contention we cannot agree. The presumption is that the legislative body acted properly, and unless the classification is clearly arbitrary, the legislation must be sustained. A court will not and should not set aside a statutory provision unless the classification is palpably arbitrary. (See cases collected 5 Cal.Jur., p. 832, § 193.) The section was obviously passed to make retirement less attractive to those under 62. Retirement was to be permitted after 25 years of service, but to restrain men to a limited extent from retiring in their forties and fifties it was provided that if they did so they could not engage in lucrative employment without having their allowance proportionally reduced. Apparently, those who drafted the charter felt that no such limitation should be placed on those over 62, it apparently being felt that it was not in the public interest to induce men of that age or older to remain in the service. A similar obvious distinction exists between those who retire for a service incurred disability and those who do not. Thus, it is perfectly clear that the classification between those over and those under 62, and between those who retire for service disability and those who are not disabled, is based upon a reasonable and sound distinction.
The reason for distinguishing between those under 62 who retire and who then take another job, and those under 62 who retire and receive an independent income, is not so clear. It perhaps was felt that it would be too difficult to enforce
Plaintiff’s final contention is that the judgment was erroneous in declaring that under section 163 the board “was and is required ... [to reduce plaintiff’s pension] ... to an amount which, when added to the amount earned monthly by John M. Brophy in his outside gainful occupation, shall not exceed $250 per month, which was the compensation on the basis of which John M. Brophy’s pension or retirement allowance was determined. ...” Respondents concede that the amount of the pension is not based on a fixed salary of $250, but may vary as the salary attached to the rank of captain increases or decreases. In fact, some six weeks before judgment was entered, the salary of a captain was increased to $300.
The judgment is obviously too limited. This was an action for declaratory relief. Among other things plaintiff prayed “that it be declared and determined that plaintiff is entitled to a pension equal to one-half of the compensation attached to the rank of Captain. ...” The action was instituted to secure a determination of plaintiff’s pension rights not only
Ward, J., and Schottky, J. pro tern., concurred.
Appellant’s petition for a hearing by the Supreme Court was denied December 20, 1945.
Cases cited
- O'Dea v. Cook 176 Cal. 659 at 661 p. 458
- Dryden v. Board of Pension Commissioners 6 Cal.2d 575 at 579 p. 458
- Riggs v. District Retirement Board 21 Cal.2d 382 p. 458
- Aitken v. Roche 48 Cal.App. 753 p. 458
- Snyder v. City of Alameda 58 Cal.App.2d 517 p. 458
- Groat v. Walkup Drayage & Warehouse Co. 14 Cal.App.2d 350 p. 458
- McCarthy v. City of Oakland 60 Cal.App.2d 546 p. 459
- Risley v. Board of Civil Service Commissioners 60 Cal. App.2d 32 p. 459
- Brooks v. Pension Board 30 Cal. App.2d 118 p. 459
- Pennie v. Reis 80 Cal. 266 p. 459
- Klench v. Board of Pension Fund Commissioners 79 Cal.App. 171 p. 459
- Jordan v. Retirement Board 35 Cal.App.2d 653 p. 459
- Sweesy v. Los Angeles County Peace Officers' Retirement Board 17 Cal.2d 356 p. 459
- Carr v. Fire Commission 30 Cal.App.2d 208 p. 459
- Murphy v. City of Piedmont 17 Cal.App.2d 569 p. 459
- Casserly v. City of Oakland 6 Cal.2d 64 p. 459
- Tulare Irrigation District v. Lindsay-Strathmore Irrigation District 3 Cal.2d 489 at 526 p. 460
- Chaney v. Los Angeles County Peace Officers' Retirement Board 59 Cal.App.2d 413 p. 460
- Holmberg v. City of Oakland 55 Cal.App. 270 at 271 p. 460
- Mansur v. City of Sacramento 39 Cal.App.2d 426 p. 462