Majority
Headnote
Plaintiff received two policies of insurance upon his life issued by defendant, giving his notes and a check for the premiums, under an agreement with defendant’s agent, that certain policies then held by plaintiff in other companies, and which were delivered by him to said agent, should be surrendered by the latter to the insurers and their surrender value paid in cash, or paid-up policies obtained therefor, the ainount in either case to be satisfactory to plaintiff. In case of the agent’s failure to. make arrangements for surrender, satisfactory to plaintiff, it was agreed the latter could return the policies and receive back his notes and check.. The policies contained provisions to the effect that no agent of the company had power to make or modify the contract of insurance, or to bind it by any promise. The agent failed to effect a surrender of the old policies satisfactory to plaintiff, and on refusal of defendant to receive back its policies and surrender the notes and check, he brought suit to compel such surrender. Held, that said provisions in the policies related to the policies themselves after they became executed instruments between the parties; that the agreement with the agent as to a surrender of the old policies was a condition precedent to the full delivery and acceptance of defendant’s policies, and until fully complied with or waived no valid contract of insurance existed ; and, therefore, that said provisions did not apply ; that it was immaterial whether the agent had power to make a conditional delivery or not, as plaintiff had power to attach such conditions as he chose to the acceptance, and if the agent lacked the power, the result would still be that there was no absolute acceptance, and so no contract; and that, therefore, plaintiff was entitled to the relief sought.There was no contradictory evidence in the case. At its close the plaintiff requested the court to find the
We think the fact was material and was based upon sufficient arid uncontradicted evidence. It thus appears that an agent of the defendant entered into an agreement with the plaintiff by which the two policies subsequently issued by the defendant were to be accepted by the plaintiff, only upon condition that certain other policies then delivered by the plaintiff to the agent should be surrendered by him to the companies issuing them, and their surrender value in cash paid to him or paid-up policies given in exchange therefor, in either case in amounts satisfactory to the plaintiff. This, we think, was clearly a condition precedent to the full delivery and acceptance of these policies issued by the. defendant, and until such condition precedent was complied with or waived, no fully executed and valid contract of insurance existed between these parties.
No question of right to conditionally receive an instrument, not under seal, by a party thereto can be successfully raised. Benton v. Martin ( 52 N. Y. 570 ) decides this proposition, and leaves it unnecessary for us to discuss the abstract question as to whether there is or is not a good reason for the distinction between the case of a sealed and an unsealed instrument in this respect.
The provisions contained in the policies, which are above quoted, relate to the policies themselves after they should become executed instruments between the parties. All negotiations had before such event, and all parol agreements between the assured and the agent of the defendant, would
The learned counsel for the defendant claims that the condition referred to, assuming it to have been made, was a condition subsequent, and that, at all events, a condition subsequent would be invalid as against the contract evidenced by the policies. He says the contract entered into was to cease to be of any effect in case Hamlin did not obtain the surrender or exchange of the plaintiff’s policies in the companies. We think that, instead of the contract ceasing to be of any effect in case Hamlin failed'to accomplish the surrender, the plain meaning was that the contract should not exist until Hamlin had brought about the exchange. In other words, there was not a contract entered into with a provision that it should cease to bind in case Hamlin failed to redeem his promise in the future, but the contract was not to become binding in any event until the condition was performed by Hamlin. And, upon its performance, and not until then, was the contract to become effective.
We think, with the learned court below, that it is wholly unimportant whether Hamlin had any power from the company to make a conditional delivery or not. The plaintiff had power to attach such conditions as he chose to the acceptance of the policies, and if the agent of the company had no power to make conditional delivery to the plaintiff, the result would still be that no contract was ever made and no absolute acceptance ever had. It cannot be argued for one moment that an absolute delivery of a paper is made to an individual who has
Nor do we think that any inconvenience, at least of much weight, will follow the result of holding that an individual can refuse to accept a policy of insurance from a corporation, except upon the performance of some condition precedent under an arrangement made between him and an agent of the company, which arrangement the agent fails to communicate to the corporation. Insurance companies may, with entire propriety, provide in the same manner as the defendant provided in the policies in question, in cases where the contract of insurance becomes executed. There it is highly necessary and important for the company to know exactly how far they are bound and the entire nature of the contract which has been made between them and the assured. .But an agreement between an individual and the agent of a company, by which the policy is accepted only upon conditions relating to the same, and an agreement to hold the policy until the performance of those conditions, or a failure to perform, cannot, as we think, result in any serious inconvenience to the company. But whether that is so or not cannot alter the right of an individual to refuse to be bound by a policy of insurance until he has absolutely received and accepted it.
We think the order of the General Term was right and should be affirmed, and judgment absolute granted against the defendant, with costs.
All concur.
Order affirmed, and judgment accordingly.
Cases cited
- New York Life Insurance v. Fletcher 117 U. S. 519 at 530 p. 395, p. 396
- Chase v. Hamilton Insurance 20 N. Y. 52 at 55, 57 p. 395, p. 396
- New York Life Insurance v. Statham 93 U. S. 24 at 30 p. 395
- Attorney-General v. Continental Life Insurance 93 N. Y. 70 p. 395
- Coleman v. First National Bank of Elmira 53 N. Y. 388 at 393 p. 395
- Bissell v. New York Central Railroad 25 N. Y. 442 p. 396
- Wilson v. Genesee Mutual Insurance 14 N. Y. 418 p. 396
- Southard v. Boyd 51 N. Y. 177 p. 396
- Devendorf v. Beardsley 23 Barb. 656 p. 396, p. 397
- Rowley v. Empire Insurance 36 N. Y. 550 at 553, 554 p. 396
- Insurance Co. v. Wilkinson 13 Wall. 222 at 234 p. 396
- Miller v. Phœnix Mutual Life Insurance 107 N. Y. 292 p. 397
- Ripley v. Larmouth 56 Barb. 21 at 25 p. 397
- Marvin v. Stone 2 Cow. 781 p. 397
- Dilleber v. Home Life Insurance 69 N. Y. 256 p. 397
- Brackett v. Barney 28 N. Y. 333 p. 397
- Fisher v. Hall 41 N. Y. 416 p. 397
- Benton v. Martin 52 N. Y. 570 p. 397, p. 398
- Frisbee v. Hoffnagle 11 Johns. 50 p. 397
- M'Allister v. Reab 4 Wend. 483 p. 397
- Whitford v. Laidler 94 N. Y. 145 p. 397
- Western Railroad v. Bayne 75 N. Y. 1 p. 397