Majority
Headnote
A policy of fire insurance is not invalidated by the fact that no particular person is named therein as the assured.The policy contained this provision: “ If the exact interest of the insured in the property, whether aa;
The solution of the question raised by this contention depends upon the scope and meaning to be given to the words “ Estate of O. ¡Richards ” contained in the policy.
The policy was valid, although no particular person was named therein as the assured. (Clinton v. Hope Insurance Co., 45 N. Y. 454 ; Weed v. L. & L. Fire Ins. Co., 116 id. 106.)
What is the precise significance of the word “ estate,” when used as it is here, has not been determined in any case, and the law has not assigned to it any definite meaning. It is an indeterminate word, the precise meaning of which is to be ascertained from the circumstances under which it is used. It may be used to represent the interest of administrators in personal estate, or the interest of widow and heirs in real estate, or the interest of all these in both personal and real estate, and the scope to be given to it will depend largely upon the persons who procured the policy, and the purpose for which it was procured. Here the plaintiff knew of the trust deed. He needed an insurance covering all the interests in the property. He could have had no purpose to insure any particular or limited interest. It was difficult, if not impossible, to specify what particular interest the administrator or the heirs or the trustee had, and hence the comprehensive word “ estate ” was used to cover all the interests. The plaintiff procured this insurance through an insurance broker, and it does not appear that he had any negotiation in reference thereto with the defendant or its agent. He must, therefore, be presumed to have chosen the phrase inserted in the policy, and the defendant assented to it and must be held to have assented to its use in the most comprehensive sense that will give validity to the policy. In the absence of proof it cannot
We have thus far proceeded upon the assumption that the trust deed was valid and sufficient to pass the title of the property to the trustee. But we do not determine whether it was valid or not, as it is wholly immaterial. If it was not valid then the title remained in Richards at the time of his death and passed as his unqualified estate to his widow and heirs.
But other objections are made to this recovery which must be noticed.
In the mortgage, the complaint and the proofs of loss, the plaintiff appears as the mortgagee in his own right. He alleges in his complaint that he advanced upon the security of the mortgage upwards of $15,000. The defendant, in its answer, denied that the plaintiff advanced any money upon the mortgage, or that he ever owned it, and alleged that it was made and executed to secure the Manufacturers’ Hational Bank of Troy for such loans and advances as might be made by it to or for the benefit of, or at the request of Bichards, and that the plaintiff had no interest in the mortgage; that if the mortgage was executed to and in the name of the plaintiff as mortgagee, it was so made and held by the plaintiff in trust, secret or otherwise, for the benefit of the bank, and not otherwise, and that this action is not prosecuted in the name of the real party in interest. Upon the trial, the plaintiff proved the mortgage, and testified that he advanced to Bichards upon the mortgage upwards of $15,000. Upon his cross-examinatian, he testified that he was formerly president of the bank for many years. The defendant’s counsel asked him this question : “ Oan you tell me when you were president ? ” This was objected to on the part of the plaintiff as immaterial and
The fire took place on the 4th day of February, 1882. It does not appear that any notice of the loss was given to the defendant. But proofs of the loss were served upon it about the twenty-third day of February, and it claims that the plaintiff cannot recover upon the policy because he did not forthwith give notice of the loss as required by the policy. There can be no doubt that the proofs of loss served upon an insurance company are a sufficient notice of the loss if served in time. In the absence of special circumstances justifying delay it cannot be said that a notice of loss served nineteen days after a fire is “forthwith.” But the word “forthwith” in such cases must have a reasonable construction. The assured must have a fair opportunity to serve his notice and a delay of a few days, depending as to the length of time upon all the circumstances of the case, ought not to defeat a recovery upon the policy. So, too, if the insurance company intends to claim that the notice of loss was not served in time it should take its position promptly and not put the assured to the expense of complying with other conditions in the policy upon the assumption that adequate notice had been given. Here the proofs of loss were received and' retained without any objection that the proper notice of loss had not been given. Hot only this, but the defendant requested the plaintiff to amend his proofs from time to time without any suggestion that the proper notice had not been given. The defendant had undoubtedly obtained through its agent early notice of the loss and was satisfied with that. Under all the circumstances the
The defendant makes the further objection that the proofs of loss were not sufficient in that they were not made by any person authorized to make them. They were made by the plaintiff and by the administrator and one of the heirs of Bicharás, and it does not appear that the defendant objected to them on the ground that any other person should join in making them. If the defendant claimed that the trustee Sage, or any other person should join in making them, it should have specified the objection so that the plaintiff could obviate it.
We, therefore, reach the conclusion that the judgment should be affirmed.
All concur.
Judgment affirmed. ‘
Cases cited
- Weed v. London & Lancashire Fire Insurance 116 N. Y. 106 p. 395, p. 398
- New York Central Insurance v. National Protection Insurance 20 Barb. 468 p. 398
- Savage v. Howard Insurance 52 N. Y. 502 p. 398
- Donovan v. Van De Mark 78 N. Y. 244 p. 398
- Heermans v. Robertson 64 N. Y. 332 at 342 p. 399
- Darling v. Rogers & Sagory 22 Wend. 483 at 486, 491 p. 399, p. 400
- Savage v. Burnham 17 N. Y. 561 at 576 p. 399
- Royer Wheel Co. v. Fielding 101 N. Y. 504 at 508, 509 p. 399
- Lasher v. St. Joseph Fire & Marine Insurance 86 N. Y. 423 p. 399
- Rohrbach v. Germania Fire Insurance 62 N. Y. 47 at 60 p. 399
- Graham v. Fireman's Insurance 87 N. Y. 69 p. 399
- Pitney v. Glen's Falls Insurance 65 N. Y. 6 p. 400
- Furman v. Johnson 91 N. Y. 663 p. 400
- Herkimer v. Rice 27 N. Y. 163 p. 400
- Rapalee v. Stewart 27 N. Y. 310 p. 400
- Walsh v. Washington Marine Insurance 32 N. Y. 427 p. 400
- Evah Bros. v. California Insurance 121 N. Y. 659 p. 400
- Clinton v. Hope Insurance 45 N. Y. 454 p. 401
- Considerant v. Brisbane 22 N. Y. 389 p. 407