Majority
Headnote
Where a policy of fire insurance contained a clause declaring it to be void, “ in case of any misrepresentation whatever, either in the written application or otherwise,” a misrepresentation will avoid the policy, and this, without regard to the question as to its materiality to the risk.The first condition in each of the policies of insurance upon which this action was brought provides that if any application, etc., is referred to in the policy, it “ shall be considered a part of this contract, and a warranty by the assured.” It is then stated that if any false representation by the assured, of the condition, etc., of the property shall be made, or any omission to make known any fact material to the risk,” etc., u or any overvaluation, or any misrepresentation whatever, either in the written application or otherwise,” and after enumerating other things, concludes that “ then and in every such case this policy shall be void.” The evident meaning and purpose of the concluding clause is, that if any of the conditions named are violated, the policy shall be avoided. The judge upon the trial held that the provision touching any misrepresentation
In Anderson v. Fitzgerald (4 H. of L. Cas. 484), false answers were made to questions contained in-the proposal for lifeinsur
We have been referred to some authorities by the counsel for the appellant which are claimed to hold adversely to the doctrine laid down in the cases already cited, but we think they are not analogous. In Owens v. The Holland Purchase Ins. Co. ( 56 N. Y. 568 ), the application for insurance contained a valuation' of the lands and buildings which was excessive, and which contained a covenant that the “ valuation, description and survey is true and correct and that they are submitted as his warranty and the basis of the desired insurance.” The policy in referring to the application stated that the insurance was “on the following property as described in application.” It was held that this only adopted that portion of the application describing -the property, and that there was no warranty as to the value. The rule is also laid down that when parts of the application are not adopted and made the
The case cited from the Massachusetts Reports, Vose v. E. L. & H. Ins. Co. ( 6 Cush. 47 ) does not present a state of facts so precisely similar as renders it directly in point, but even if it were otherwise, it cannot control the adjudications in this State. Although the misrepresentation as to the ownership of the property was oral, it is nevertheless within the rule that such a representation as to a present fact as to the title, situation, use or condition of the property material to the risk maybe shown to avoid the contract. (Wood on Ins. 415, § 212; Alston v. Mechanics’ Ins. Co., 4 Hill, 329 , reversing 1 id. 510.)
This limitation, however, relates to a misrepresentation where there is no warranty. But where there is a warranty in the policy covering “ any misrepresentations whatever, either in the written application or otherwise,” the materiality of the representation is not usually controlling.
Even if it be assumed that the materiality of the misrepresentation actually made is- important, we think it is sufficiently established that the statement made as to the ownership of the property was material, and that the representation, if untrue, was such a violation of the terms of the policy as rendered it void. A distinct inquiry was made at the time as to the ownership of the property, of the plaintiffs agent, and a direct and positive answer given. It was stated by the agent, when the application for the first policy was made, that Mrs. Catharine E. Jack, the widow of Captain Jack, of Brooklyn, was the owner, and that she was going to keep a first-class hotel upon the premises. When the second policy was applied for it was represented that there was a mistake in giving the name, and that it should be Margaret instead of Catharine in the first policy, and the same was altered; and the same representation
The claim that the condition of the policy in question has no relevancy when the special mortgage clause attached to the policy is considered, and that the plaintiff was relieved thereby from such condition, and that it superseded the same, is not, we think, well founded. This clause provides that the interest of the mortgagee shall not be invalidated by any act or neglect of the mortgagor or owner of the property, and it clearly corn templated a case where the owner could act or could neglect, and not a case where the policy was issued in the name of an infant, who, by reason of its incapacity, could not furnish any protection to the company whatever. A policy obtained through misrepresentation as to the owner cannot fairly be considered as embraced within the meaning of the clause referred to, nor can such misrepresentation be regarded of itself as an act or neglect within the terms of the policy.
The authorities cited by the appellant’s counsel to sustain a different position do not apply to the facts here presented.
We think that there was no erroneous ruling as to evidence
All concur.
Judgment affirmed.
Cases cited
- Ripley v. Ætna Insurance 29 Barb. 552 p. 70
- Hoffman v. Ætna Fire Insurance 32 N. Y. 405 p. 71
- Jefferson Insurance v. H. & D. Cotheal. 7 Wend. 72 p. 71
- Herrman v. Merchants' Insurance 81 N. Y. 184 p. 71
- Wall v. Howard Insurance 14 Barb. 383 p. 71, p. 72
- Church v. La Fayette Fire Insurance of Brooklyn 66 N. Y. 222 p. 71
- Insurance Co. v. Chase 5 Wall. 509 p. 71
- Townsend v. Northwestern Insurance 18 N. Y. 168 p. 71
- Le Roy v. Park Fire Insurance 39 N. Y. 56 p. 71
- Titus v. Glens Falls Insurance 81 N. Y. 410 p. 71, p. 78
- Hastings v. Westchester Fire Insurance 73 N.Y. 141 p. 71
- Schoick v. Niagara Fire Insurance 68 N. Y. 434 p. 72
- Chaffee v. Cattaraugus County Mutual Insurance 18 N. Y. 376 at 378 p. 72
- Jeffries v. Life Insurance 22 Wall. 47 p. 72
- Shoemaker v. Glen Falls Insurance 60 Barb. 84 at 101 p. 72, p. 77
- Browning v. Home Insurance 71 N. Y. 508 p. 72
- New York Bowery Fire Insurance v. New York Fire Insurance 17 Wend. 359 p. 72
- Columbian Insurance Co. of Alexandria v. Lawrence 2 Pet. 25 at 49 p. 72
- Appleby v. Astor Fire Insurance 54 N. Y. 253 at 258 p. 73, p. 78
- Savage v. Howard Insurance 52 N. Y. 502 at 504 p. 77