Majority
Headnote
1. Life Insurance — Essentials of Action by Policyholder to Recover Share of Company’s Surplus. An action by a policyholder against a life insurance company, to recover a proportionate share of the company’s surplus, brought without application to or approval by the attorney-general, and therefore prohibited by the Insurance Law (L. 1892, ph. 690, § 56) if regarded as an action for an accounting or as interferingThe question of the sufficiency of the plaintiff’s complaint has been certified to this court by the Appellate Division and presents the only question to be determined upon this appeal. The importance of this case requires a careful and studious consideration of that question and of the principles involved in its determination. Its importance arises not so much from the amount at issue in this particular case, although it is large, as from the principles to be established by its decision. The determination of the principles involved will not only affect existing contracts amounting to many million dollars, but may disturb the methods and basis upon which vast business transactions have hitherto been conducted, and create confusion and disorder in a system under which an important branch of business has been transacted for at- least a half century.
The defendant was organized in 1859 under an act of the legislature providing for the incorporation of life insurance companies, passed June 24, 1853, with a capital stock of one hundred thousand dollars, upon which, under its charter, its holders might receive not to exceed seven per cent per annum, and the earnings and receipts of the company, over the dividends, losses and expenses, were to be accumulated by it. Its corporate powers were vested in a board of directors who were authorized to select from among their number a president and vice-president, and to appoint a secretary and such other officers as they might deem requisite. They were given power to enact by-laws, rules and regulations for the government of the officers and agents of the company and for the management of its affairs, to determine the rates of premiums, the amount to be insured upon any one life and the terms of such insurance. The charter also provided that the insurance business of the company should be conducted on the mutual plan, and that all premiums should be payable in cash. In case a policyholder should omit to pay any premium due from him, or should violate any other condition of the policy, the board of directors might forfeit his policy and apply all previous pay
In 1868, by chapter 118 of the laws of that year, a statute was enacted which provided that any domestic insurance corporation, which, by its charter or articles of association, is restricted to making a dividend only once in two or more years, may hereafter, notwithstanding anything to the contrary in such charter or articles, make and pay over dividends annually, or at longer intervals, in the manner and proportions, and among the parties, provided for in such charter or articles.
Chapter 100 of the Laws of 1872 provided that “ it shall be lawful for any life insurance company organized under the laws of this state, to ascertain at any given time, and from
On the first day of July, 1882, the plaintiff entered into a written contract of insurance with the defendant whereby it, in consideration of the statements contained in the plaintiff’s application and the payment of the premium mentioned therein, promised to pay to the plaintiff or his representatives on May 2, 1897, or upon his death if it occurred before then, the sum of twenty thousand dollars. Among the provisions and requirements indorsed upon and made a part of the policy, and relying upon which it was issued and received, was the following: “ This policy, during its continuance, shall be entitled to participate in the distribution of the surplus of this society, by way of increase to the amount insured, according to such principles and methods as may from time to time be adopted by this society for such distribution; which principles and methods are hereby ratified and accepted by and for every person who shall have or claim any interest under this contract; but the society may at any time before a forfeiture, upon request of the person holding the absolute legal title to this policy, substitute a cash payment to be fixed by said society in lieu of the said increase to the amount insured, to be used in reduction of subsequent premiums.”
All the conditions of the policy were kept and performed by the plaintiff on his part. The defendant annually, within sixty days from the thirty-first day of December in each year, from 1882 to 1896, both inclusive, caused a balance to be struck of the affairs of the society, exhibiting its assets and liabilities, both present and contingent, and also the net surplus after deducting a sufficient amount to cover all outstanding risks and other obligations. Such net surplus ascertained
The several divisions of surplus distributed to the plaintiff were from sums received in excess of the several amounts mentioned as the balance of the surplus for each year, so that each distribution of surplus has been from profits accruing during the year without diminishing the • surplus on hand at the end of the preceding year, and the plaintiff has received no portion of the net surplus of $43,277,179 ascertained and declared by the defendant as the amount on hand December 31, 1896.
According to the principles and methods adopted by the defendant for distribution of surplus there was distributed to the plaintiff in the year 1895 $328, as his proportion of a distribution of surplus amounting to $2,002,954.23, and the proportion due the plaintiff of the $43,277,179, net surplus ascertained on December 31, 1896, according to the same principles and methods, which were the principles and methods in force during the life of the plaintiff’s policy, is $7,087.38, in addition to the amount of surplus actually awarded of $3,932, making a total of $11,019.38 of surplus, and twenty thousand dollars of principal.
On June 23, 1897, the defendant paid to the plaintiff the sum of $23,932 and certain interest thereon, and an agreement was then and there made between them that such payment should not prejudice the right of the plaintiff to claim that he is entitled, under his policy, to a further and greater sum by way of surplus or profits, and there still remains due from the defendant to the plaintiff, under and by virtue of said policy, the aforesaid sum of $7,087.38 and interest thereon
The foregoing are all the material averments of the complaint, and include the provisions of the policy, the charter and the various statutes so far as they apply to the policy in suit .or are referred to in the complaint.
This examination discloses that after alleging the incorporation of the defendant, the provisions of its charter, the statutes relating to the subject, the issuing of the policy, its provisions, the plaintiff’s performance of all its conditions, and after eliminating the conclusions and inferences of the pleader, there remain in the complaint the allegations as to the surplus for each year from 1882 to 1896, the amount which was distributed to the plaintiff during those years from profits other than were included in such surplus, the distribution to the plaintiff in 1895 of $328 as his proportion of a surplus of $2,002,954.23, and that his proportion of the $43,277,179 surplus in 1896 would be $7,087.38 if it was distributed in the same manner.
The defendant demurred to the complaint upon the ground that it did not state facts sufficient to constitute a cause of action. By interposing this demurrer, it admitted all the facts alleged and such inferences as could be fairly drawn from them. (Moss v. Cohen, 158 N. Y. 240 ; Coatsworth v. Lehigh Valley R. Co., 156 N. Y. 451 ; Sanders v. Soutter, 126 N. Y. 193 ; Marie v. Garrison, 83 N. Y. 14 ; Flynn v. Brooklyn City R. R. Co., 158 N. Y. 493 , 503; Sage v .Culver, 147 N. Y. 241 , 245 ; Kley v. Healy, 127 N. Y. 555 .) But it admitted none of the conclusions averred, nor any construction put upon the contract by the pleader. 27or did it admit the correctness of any inference drawn by the pleader from the facts alleged. The contract having been set forth, the rights of the parties must be determined by the terms of that instrument, so far as they are dependent upon it. (Buffalo Catholic Institute v. Bitter, 87 N. Y. 250 ; Bogardus v. N. Y. Life Ins. Co., 101 N. Y. 328 .)
In considering whether the complaint states facts sufficient to constitute a cause of action, the point to be determined is whether the facts stated are sufficient to entitle the plaintiff to recover in an action at law upon the policy as an instrument for [lie payment of money, or to recover against the
The contract provides that the plaintiff’s policy, during its continuance, shall be entitled to participate in the distribution of the surplus of the society according to such principles and methods as may from time to time be adopted by it for such distribution, and these principles and methods were expressly accepted and ratified by the plaintiff for himself or any other person having an interest in the policy. Thus, by the terms of the plaintiff’s contract, he expressly ratified and accepted the principles and methods which were from time to time adopted by the defendant for the distribution of such surplus.
The plaintiff’s claim, that the whole surplus should be distributed, cannot be sustained if it is in conflict with the provisions of the contract between the parties, without making a new contract for them, which the court will not do. Therefore, this question depends for its solution upon a proper interpretation of the provisions of the policy. The parties agreed that the plaintiff should participate in the distribution of the surplus according to the methods and principles adopted by the company. It is to be observed that the agreement was that the plaintiff should participate, not in the whole surplus, but in the distribution of the surplus, or, in other words, in the surplus which, according to the defendant’s methods and principles, was to be distributed. We find nothing in the record to sustain the suggestion of the learned Appellate Division to the effect that the minds of the parties did not meet as to that provision in the contract. It was clearly a part of it, which was presumptively understood and deliberately entered into by them. Surely there is nothing in the complaint to indicate that any of the provisions of the policy was not fully understood by the plaintiff and intended to be an effective part of it.
The principles and methods by which the defendant distributed its surplus are set forth in the complaint. It dis
It is manifest that by the terms of the plaintiff’s policy the only right he acquired was to share in an equitable distribution of the accumulated surplus. Until a distribution was made by the officers or managers of the defendant, the plaintiff had no such title to any part' of the surplus as would enable him to maintain an action at law for its recovery. We think the principles which control the disposition of the surplus earnings of a stock corporation are applicable here. In those cases it has often been held that until dividends have been declared a stockholder has no right of action at law to recover any part of the fund applicable to that purpose, and that when directors have exercised their discretion in regard thereto the courts will not interfere unless there is bad faith, or willful neglect, or abuse of such discretion. (Cook on Stock and Stockholders, § 542, note 5, §§ 272, 542,545 ; Williams v. W. U. T. Co., 93 N. Y. 162 ; McNab v. McNab & Harlin Mfg. Co., 62 Hun, 18 ; Park v. Grant Locomotive Works, 40 N. J. Eq. 114 ; Boardman v. Lake Shore da Mich. S. Ry. Co., 84 N. Y. 157 ; Thomas v. N. Y. & G. L. Ry. Co., 139 N. Y. 163 ; Day v. O. & L. C. R. R. Co., 107 N. Y. 129 ; Fuller v. Met. Life Ins. Co., 70 Conn. 647 .) Those principles were recognized by G-oodeioh, P. J., in his dissenting opinion in this case. He says: “ In general, only the directors of any corporation have the power to decide what amount or share of its earnings is to be applied in dividends, and I can see no difierent principle which limits tire authority of the directors of this society to decide what part of the net surplus is to be distributed to the
The learned Appellate Division, while it admitted that the defendant had a large discretion in determining the amount of its surplus, and that it might increase its reserve fund for the security of its policyholders and to cover any contingent liabilities that might arise, taking such steps and adopting such principles and methods as were demanded by a wise and prudent management to insure the prompt payment of losses and to successfully carry on and extend its business, still held that as the fund remaining in the defendant’s hands had been denominated by it as surplus, instead of a reserve fund, all the usual powers and authority of its directors and managers to determine how and when it should be distributed, and all their discretion as to the manner of its disposition, were spent, and, hence, they were required, as matter of law, to distribute the entire amount among its policyholders. We are not disposed to agree with that conclusion. We think this case should not be decided upon any such narrow or technical ground. It should be determined upon a fair interpretation of the intent and purpose of the provisions of the policy, and not by giving to a single word an undue, unusual or exaggerated effect. In a sense, all the funds in the possession of a mutual insurance company, over and above its immediate and present liabilities, may be regarded as surplus, yet it is not for that reason understood as belonging to, or to be immediately distributed among, the policyholders, either by them or by the company. If the same exaggerated meaning were to be given to the word “ liabilities ” when applied to demands against the company, as was given to the word “ surplus,” it would include the full face amount of all its outstanding risks or policies, and no surplus would ever exist. The word “ surplus,” like the word “ liabilities,” has acquired a special meaning in this branch of the insurance business.
While the complaint alleges that the defendant declared its surplus to be more than forty-three million dollars, there is no allegation as to the amount of its outstanding policies or the proportion which the surplus bears to the amount of its existing insurance. Hor does it show that the surplus is in any way disproportionate or unnecessary to the proper security of the amount of such outstanding insurance. If, as was stated upon the argument, the amount is one thousand million dollars, the surplus would be only about four and three-tenths per
It is said that the charter provides for a distribution of the entire surplus when ascertained. We find no such provision in it. What it does provide is that when ascertained each policyholder shall be credited with an equitable share of the surplus, to be determined and applied in the manner stated and that the earnings and receipts over and above the dividends, losses and expenses shall be accumulated. Hence, if we assume that the charter and not the contract is to control (which we by no means hold), then the question at once arises who is to determine what an equitable distribution of the surplus is. Or, in other words, the question is who is to determine how much of the surplus shall be distributed to the policyholders and how much shall be accumulated and retained for the security of the society and its members. Manifestly, that question is to be decided by the officers and managers of the defendant, who are to exercise their discretion in determining it, having in view the present and future contingencies of the business. In the absence of any allegation of wrongdoing or mistake by them, their determination of the question must be treated as proper and their apportionment of the surplus is prima facie to be regarded as equitable. (Uhlman v. N. Y. Life Ins. Co., 109 N. Y. 421 .)
There is no allegation that the amount of the fund held by the defendant is greater than is required by a prudent management to meet the possible and probable emergencies of its business, nor that the plaintiff has been inequitably treated as between himself and the defendant’s other policyholders. Whether the discretion exercised by the defendant’s officers was or was not equitable, could not be determined by the court unless an accounting by the defendant was had, and after a full investigation and ascertainment of the exact situation and condition of its affairs. Confessedly, that was not the purpose of this action.
Furthermore, the facts alleged fail to show that the plaintiff was entitled to any portion of the undistributed fund. The substance of his allegations as to that fund and its distribution is that by the defendant’s distribution of a portion of its surplus in 1895, his proportion of $2,002,954.23 was $328, and that if the fund of $43,277,179 -was distributed in the same manner, $7,087.38 would be placed to the credit of his policy. He, however, fails to allege any facts which show that any surplus which was not credited to his policy was available for or could properly or equitably be thus employed. The remaining fund may have equitably belonged to other policyholders who held a different kind of policy and who belonged to a separate class to which it was properly dedicated. This fund may have been, and doubtless was, necessary to the proper security of the various holders of the defendant’s policies and to the proper and successful transaction of its business. The plaintiff avers no facts which disclose that under the provisions of' his policy he acquired any interest in that portion of the surplus which represented the accumulation of a part of the defendant’s earnings for forty years and which remained after it paid the plaintiff the por
The contract between the parties, the defendant’s charter and the statute of 1872 are all to the effect that the distribution of its surplus by the defendant was to be based upon principles of equity and controlled by the discretion of the defendant’s officers. Under the policy it was only the pro-' portion of the surplus which equitably belonged to it that was to be credited to it and paid to the plaintiff.. Therefore, before any amount of the surplus was available as a credit upon the plaintiff’s policy, the proportion which equitably belonged to him, or should be credited to his policy, must be ascertained and determined. Until that was done no action at law to recover any portion of it could be maintained. Such an ascertainment and determination was a condition precedent to the right of recovery. It may be that if the defendant had failed or refused to ascertain and distribute the proportion of the surplus which equitably belonged to the plaintiff he could compel it to act and determine the amount. Still, until that was done no action at law for its recovery could be maintained.
These considerations render it manifest that upon the facts alleged in his complaint the plaintiff is not entitled to recover.
It follows that the order and interlocutory judgment of the Appellate Division reversing the interlocutory judgment entered upon a decision of the Special Term should be reversed, that the interlocutory judgment of the Special Term should he affirmed, with costs to the appellant in all the courts, and that the question certified to this court should be answered in the negative.
All concur, except Vann, J., not voting.
Judgment accordingly.
Cases cited
- Buffalo Catholic Institute v. Bitter 87 N. Y. 250 p. 21, p. 29
- Bogardus v. New York Life Insurance 101 N. Y. 328 p. 21, p. 29
- Uhlman v. New York Life Insurance 109 N. Y. 421 p. 22, p. 23, p. 30, p. 36
- Bewley v. Equitable Life Assurance Society 61 How. Pr. 344 p. 22, p. 23
- Grobe v. Erie County Mut. Insurance 24 Misc. Rep. 462 p. 22
- Boardman v. Lake Shore & Michigan Southern Railway Co. 84 N. Y. 157 p. 22, p. 24, p. 32
- Swan v. Mutual Reserve Fund Life Ass'n 20 App. Div. 255 p. 22
- Seymour v. Mutual Reserve Fund Life Ass'n 14 Misc. Rep. 151 p. 22
- Lennon v. Mayor of New York 55 N. Y. 361 p. 22
- People v. Security Life Insurance & Annuity Co. 78 N. Y. 114 p. 23
- Cohen v. New York Mutual Life Insurance 50 N. Y. 610 p. 23
- In re the Equitable Reserve Fund Life Ass'n 131 N. Y. 354 p. 23
- People v. Grand Lodge of the Empire Order of Mutual Aid 156 N. Y. 533 p. 23
- Alexander v. Cauldwell 83 N. Y. 480 p. 23
- Carter v. Brooklyn Life Insurance 110 N. Y. 15 p. 23
- Phelan v. Northwestern Mutual Life Insurance 113 N. Y. 147 p. 23
- Baxter v. Brooklyn Life Insurance 119 N. Y. 450 p. 23
- Morse v. Goold 11 N. Y. 281 p. 23
- Sturges v. Crowninshield 4 Wheat. 122 p. 24
- Ogden v. Saunders 12 Wheat. 213 p. 24
- People ex rel. Lord v. Crooks 53 N. Y. 648 p. 24
- Swan v. Mutual Reserve Fund Life Ass'n 155 N. Y. 9 p. 24, p. 30
- Vogler v. World Mutual Life Insurance 51 How. Pr. 301 p. 24
- Cassidy v. McFarland 139 N. Y. 201 p. 24
- Camp v. Ingersoll 86 N. Y. 433 p. 24
- Jermain v. Lake Shore & Michigan Southern Railway Co. 91 N. Y. 483 p. 24
- Thomas v. New York & Greenwood Lake Railway Co. 139 N. Y. 163 p. 24, p. 32
- Day v. Ogdensburgh & Lake Champlain Railroad 107 N. Y. 129 p. 24, p. 32
- New York, Lake Erie, & Western Railroad v. Nickals 119 U. S. 296 p. 24
- Rowell v. Janvrin 151 N. Y. 60 p. 24
- Lorillard v. Clyde 86 N. Y. 384 p. 24
- Wetmore v. Porter 92 N. Y. 76 p. 24
- Parker v. John Pullman & Co. 36 App. Div. 208 p. 24
- Emery v. Pease 20 N. Y. 62 p. 24
- Moss v. Cohen 158 N. Y. 240 p. 29
- Coatsworth v. Lehigh Valley Railway Co. 156 N. Y. 451 p. 29
- Sanders v. Soutter 126 N. Y. 193 p. 29
- Marie v. Garrison 83 N. Y. 14 p. 29
- Flynn v. Brooklyn City Railroad 158 N. Y. 493 at 503 p. 29
- Sage v. Culver 147 N. Y. 241 at 245 p. 29
- Kley v. Healy 127 N. Y. 555 p. 29
- Williams v. Western Union Telegraph Co. 93 N. Y. 162 p. 32