Majority
Headnote
1. Insurance — Binding Slip — Custom — Parol Evidence. A “ binding slip,” issued by an insurance company to insurance brokers, commencing with the word “ insure,” specifying certain property, giving the name of the owner, expressing a specified sum and a period of twelve months, but adding “this memo, to be void on delivery of the policy,” is not on its face such a perfect and complete contract of insurance as to preclude paroi evidence of a usage between insurance brokers and insurance companies and of an actual intention of the parties that the slip should be binding only until action upon a pending application for renewal of a policy, and should not survive the rejection of the application and notice to that effect to the insured.In this case the trial court directed a verdict for the plaintiff for nearly fourteen thousand dollars for a loss arising upon a contract of insurance. The defendant’s counsel excepted to this direction and requested the court to submit the case to the jury, which request was refused and an exception taken. The learned trial court virtually held that none of the facts pleaded, or as to which proof was offered, constituted any defense to the action. The proof offered by the defendant was excluded upon the plaintiffs’ objection, and to this ruling in various forms an exception was taken.
It is alleged in the complaint that on or about the 1-lth day of January,. 1889, the defendant delivered to the plaintiffs’ intestate its policy of insurance in the standard form, whereby it insured his building for the sum of ten thousand dollars for one year from the first of January of that year. It then alleges that this policy was renewed during the two following years by two successive renewals, and receipts delivered by the defendant to the plaintiff’s intestate as owner of the property. The most material allegation then follows, which is that the defendant, on or about the 1st of January, 1891, executed and delivered to the plaintiff in the form of a binding slip a further renewal of the policy for another term of one year, which expired on the first of January, 1892. This binder or binding slip, as it is called in the pleading, appears in' the record and is in the following words:
“ Beecher & Benedict, blew York: 189
“ Insure E. M. Yan Tassel $10,000 for 12 months on Building bT. E. corner 13th Ave. & W. 11th Street, bl. Y. City, In Store Binding this 1 day of January, at noon (this memo, to be void on delivery of the policy at the office of Beecher and Benedict).
“Company. Amount. Accepted.
“ Greenwich. $10,000.
“ Benewah
“559298 not in force. WI. ADAMS.”
There is some confusion in the dates of the two renewals appearing in the record when compared with that of the
The defendant denied that it ever made or delivered the contract upon which the action is based, and for a separate defense alleged the following facts, viz.: That on or about the 30th day of December, 1890, the plaintiff, through his brokers, applied to the defendant for insurance of §10,000 on the premises in question for one year from the 1st of January following; that, upon such application and in connection therewith, the brokers submitted to the defendant an application form of such proposed insurance, and at the same time requested that the defendant give them what is known as a binding slip to cover temporarily said risk pending the consideration of such application by the defendant, in accordance with the practice, usage and understanding then existing and prevailing in the city of Hew York between insurance brokers and insurance companies, then and there well known to plaintiff’s said brokers, namely, that in.case said application was declined by the defendant, and notice of declination was given to such brokers, said binding slip immediately then and there ended and fell and no premium was charged for the time that the same was in force, and that in case said application was accepted a policy of insurance in the Hew York standard form should be issued, as of the date when the application was made, the binding slip thereupon merging in said policy and premiums to be paid from the time the binding slip took effect. The answer then proceeds to state that when this application was made to the defendant by the brokers it did
In the form in which the case is presented by the record the question really is whether the facts stated in the answer-above referred to constituted any defense to an action based upon the binding slip above described. The view of the learned court below that reviewed the case upon appeal seems to be that this paper constituted a contract -between insurer and insured so complete and perfect in its character and terms that it could not be affected or explained by any evidence of usage, though known and understood by both parties, nor by paroi evidence as to the purpose for which it was delivered, or the scope and effect which it was intended to have by the mutual agreement of the parties at the time of delivery.
Before proceeding to discuss the question involved in the case it may be well to note with all distinctness what this case was and what we decided when it was here upon the former appeal ( 151 N. Y. 130 ). In the action as then presented the plaintiff sought to recover five thousand dollars upon the alternative proposition for insurance contained in the letter above quoted. The trial court held that inasmuch as this proposition had never been accepted, it did not bind the defendant, and so the plaintiff’s complaint was dismissed. This court held, as I understand the opinion, that there could be no recovery upon this unaccepted proposition of the company, and if there could be a recovery at all it must be not upon the letter but upon the binder. The case comes here now upon an amended complaint and a new answer interposing a new defense presenting issues of fact and law that in the nature of things could not have been considered or decided upon the former appeal. It is very correctly stated in the
The first step in the discussion would, therefore, seem to be to ascertain what this binding slip really imports and what is its true scope and legal effect, whether a renewal of an old policy, or the basis of a new one, whether the defendant was entitled to give proof of the agreement and understanding between the parties when it was delivered and of any known or established usage existing with respect to its effect in the city where the transaction took place. It is said that the binding slip in and of itself is such a complete and perfect instrument that it embodies all the mutual stipulations of the parties and hence cannot be affected by any paroi proof, whether it be established usage or actual agreement at the time of delivery. I think it is quite reasonable to assume that this paper is not evidence of any agreement to renew an. old policy. It does not upon its face purport to be a renewal, but, on the contrary, if the closing words mean anything at all, they indicate that it was not intended as a renewal. Moreover, there' had been two prior renewals of the only policy which appears to have been'delivered by the defendant. Both of those • renewals appear in the record and they are very
If the facts stated in the defendant’s answer constitute any defense whatever to the action on this instrument, it is apparent that the judgment entered upon the direction of the verdict cannot be permitted to stand, since proof was offered by the defendant of substantially every fact contained in the answer. This proof was excluded under exception. We think that the answer contained a defense and that the proof offered was competent. The contention that a paper of this character standing alone is a perfect and complete contract of insurance,' not admitting of paroi proof to show the purpose for which it was • delivered, or the established usage of the business to explain it, is not reasonable, and no authority can be found to sustain it. Indeed, it may be very safely asserted that without proof of this kind, the paper itself is scarcely intelligible. The ruling of the trial court cannot be upheld by the rule which forbids the introduction of paroi evidence to vary or contradict a written agreement. One of the cases cited in the court below is Lipmam v. Niagara F. Ins. Co. ( 121 N. Y. 454 ). The action in that cáse was upon a binding slip much more complete and perfect in form than that now under consideration, and speaking of its legal effect Judge Andrews said : “ The binding slip signed by the defendant was not a mere written agreement to insure, but was a present insurance
An informal paper of this character generally denotes whatever the purpose intended by the parties at the time of its delivery was, and its legal effect as an agreement must, in the nature of things, be effected by known and established custom. But perhaps the most obvious answer to the contention of the learned counsel for the plaintiffs, that this slip is in itself evidence of a complete and perfect contract, is to be found in the fact, clearly disclosed by the record, that he was himself unable - at the trial to make out his case by its mere production. It will be seen that the paper does not upon its face express any consideration whatever, and that essential element of all contracts is as necessary in a contract of insurance as in any other contract. It contains no conditions such as are usually found in insurance policies, and upon breach of which the contract terminates. All these elements of the contract of insurance the plaintiff was obliged to supply at the trial by proof
That contracts or written instruments in form much more perfect and complete than this binding slip may be affected by paroi proof as to the design which the parties had in view when they were delivered, and by proof of known and established custom, is a principle of evidence so well established that citation of authorities would seem to be unnecessary. Two of the present members of this court have, however, quite recently stated the principle, and it will be quite sufficient to quote "their language- and the authorities there cited. In Newhall v. Appleton ( 114 N. Y. 140 ) Judge Parker said: “ Every legal contract is to be interpreted in accordance with the intention of the parties making it. And usage, when it is reasonable, uniform, well settled, not in opposition to fixed rules of law, not in contradiction of the express terms of the contract, is deemed to form a part of the contract and to enter
The right of the defendant to give paroi proof of the actual intention and design of the parties at the time of the delivery of the binding slip is equally clear. It was once debated whether a deed absolute upon its face could be shown to have been in fact intended as a mortgage. This court has sanctioned such proof in numerous cases, embracing a great variety of contracts much more complete and formal than that now in question. It has been held that a written instrument might be affected by proof that it was delivered for some special purpose different from that appearing upon its face. Hence it has been held that a party sued upon a bond or other instrument might show as between the jiarties that it was delivered conditionally. When the writing in question appears to be inconqffete in any respect, or where words or phrases used, in their application to the agreement of which they form a part, are ambiguous or unintelligible, jiarol proof is admissible to supply the incomplete term, to aid in the interpretation and to explain what is obscure or doubtful. (Emmett v. Penoyer, 151 N. Y. 564 .) The cases in which the principle is discussed are numerous, and it is quite unnecessary to review them in detail. Many of them are cited in a recent case in
Dissent
Even if it were admitted that some of these cases have gone too far in extending an exception to a rule of evidence that all must admit has many exceptions, there would still remain a large balance of unquestionable authority to support the argument that a writing which, upon its face, appears to be so informal and incomplete that it can scarcely be said to express a distinct idea without the aid of extraneous proof of some kind, as is the case with the binder in question, is open at the trial to paroi proof in order to show the design and purpose of the parties when it was delivered. Such proof does not violate the rule which excludes paroi evidence to vary, explain or contradict a written agreement embodying the final and mutual stipulations of the parties.
The judgment should be reversed and a new trial granted, costs to abide the event.
(dissenting). 1 think, this judgment should be affirmed. The case has been tried three times and this is its second appearance here.
In January, 1889, the defendant issued its policy on the testator’s building for $10,000, one year. In January, 1890, this policy was duly renewed for a year, and on or about January 1st, 1891, a binding slip was issued continuing the insurance for another year. On the 7th of January, 1891, the defendant wrote a letter to testator’s brokers that they would not renew for $10,000, but would for $5,000, and stated “ that the risk is not held binding by this company for more than $5,000.”
No reply was made to this letter, and on the night of January 13th, 1891, the property insured was destroyed by fire.
On the other hand, the first counsel employed by the testator treated that letter as reducing the insurance under the binding slip to $5,000, and an action was brought to recover that amount.
A verdict was directed for the plaintiff, but the General Term reversed the judgment on various grounds that need not be stated.
At the second trial the complaint was dismissed, and the General Term affirmed the judgment to that effect.
The case then came here, the appellant appearing by new counsel, and this court held that the letter of January 7th, 1891, was not effectual as a cancellation, but was a mere proposition to reduce the insurance, not acted upon, and that the binding slip was in full force and effect at the time of the fire for $10,000. ( 151 N. Y. 130 .)
Thereupon the plaintiffs amended their complaint, asking judgment for the full amount of $10,000.
I have been particular to state the history of this case in order that the situation at the opening of the third trial might be clearly understood.
This court had decided the effect to be given to the letter of January 7th, 1891, and distinctly determined that the binding slip was in full force at the time of the fire.
The defendant’s answer to the amended complaint alleged, among other things, that testator’s brokers applied, on or about December 30th, 1890,'for insurance of $10,000 on testator’s premises; that the binding slip was issued temporarily to cover the risk, and that according to custom prevailing in the city of Uew York between brokers and insurance companies, upon a declination of the risk, the binding slip immediately ceased to exist.
The defendant’s claim is that this binding slip was issued “ pending the consideration of the application.”
The record discloses that on the 26th day of December,
When the binding slip was issued it contained the statement that this renewal was not in force, or, in other words, was replaced by the former. This shows that during the last week of December, 1890, the defendant twice renewed or continued this insurance for another year on a risk with which it was necessarily familiar.
At the third' trial a verdict was directed for the plaintiff, the trial judge having refused to receive the evidence of custom as pleaded.
The learned Appellate Division, in affirming, held that- the evidence was properly rejected. Mr. Justice Patterson said: “ There was no concealment of its purpose. It was not to explain ambiguities, but' was clearly to deprive the instrument of the effect of its express terms and so to vary it and to substitute another and different obligation in the place of that which appeared plainly upon its face.”
It is undoubtedly the settled law of this state that the binding slip issued by insurance companies, to stand until the policy is made out and delivered, is a present and complete contract for the full term to be covered; that the law writes into it all the provisions of the regular policy, and if a fire occurs before the policy is issued the insured can recover on the binding slip, subject to such defenses as the company might interpose under the terms and conditions of the policy. The question now presented is, can paroi evidence of custom be introduced- to contradict and alter an absolute contract of insurance, free from ambiguity ?
If it may be done in the case of a binding slip, a policy will be subject to a like attack, as both are complete contracts containing in contemplation of law the same provisions.
That the introduction of paroi evidence offered by the defendant in this case is incompetent seems very clear, as it seeks to show that the insured, in the possession of a valid and unambiguous contract of insurance after a fire, is in fact
Furthermore, the effect of this paroi proof is to vary the contract between the parties and violate the statute, as to the right of the company to cancel the contract of insurance.
The present standard policy and the statute provide that the company can cancel a policy by giving five days’ notice.
The company being clothed with this absolute power to terminate the contract, there is no occasion to resort to the defense of custom as set up in this case, in violation of well-settled legal principles and the long-established practice in the insurance world.
Prior to the standard policy the company could cancel at once on giving notice to the insured. The termination of the insurance at the time of giving notice was considered unjust to the insured, and in the standard policy five days was given him in which to place his risk elsewhere. The defense here is that by reason of notice rejecting the risk “ said binding slip immediately then and there ended and fell,” etc.
This court repeatedly enforced the old provision as to cancellation where notice was given while the binding slip was in force. In Lipman, v. N. F. Ins. Co. ( 121 N. Y. 454 ), Judge Andrews said: “ The binding slip signed by the defendant was not a mere agreement to insure, but was a present insurance to the amount specified therein.”
It was held, however, that the binding slip was subject to the conditions contained in the ordinary policy, and as notice of cancellation had been served before the fire under the clause giving it effect, eo instanti, the company was not liable.
This case was followed by the Second Division of the court ■ in Karelsen v. S. F. OO. of London ( 122 N. Y. 545 , 549), Judge Parker writing the opinion.
I am deeply impressed with the far-reaching effect of the principles laid down in the prevailing opinion.
It is little short of startling to hold, at this late .day in the
As already pointed out, it is the full contract of insurance, having read into it all the provisions of the standard policy, and has been the basis of recovery in many cases. If insurance companies desire a temporary contract of insurance, whereby they gratuitously assume a risk pending investigation, which is to be terminated instantly, at their pleasure, it is very easy to draw it, and no one will be misled.
I vote to affirm the judgment.
Parker, Oh. J., Gray and Haight, JJ., concur with O’Brien, J., for reversal.
Martin and Vann, JJ., concur with Bartlett, J., for affirmance.
Judgment reversed, etc.
Cases cited
- Van Tassel v. Greenwich Insurance 28 App. Div. 163 p. 413
- Blossom v. Griffin 13 N. Y. 569 p. 414
- Chapin v. Dobson 78 N. Y. 74 p. 414
- Juilliard v. Chaffee 92 N. Y. 529 p. 414
- Emmett v. Penoyer 151 N. Y. 564 p. 414, p. 424
- Dodge v. Zimmer 110 N. Y. 43 p. 414
- Woolsey v. Funke 121 N. Y. 87 p. 414
- Insurance Co. v. Dutcher 95 U. S. 269 p. 414
- Walls v. Bailey 49 N. Y. 464 p. 414, p. 424
- Atkinson v. Truesdell 127 N. Y. 230 p. 414, p. 415, p. 424, p. 428
- Dana v. Fiedler 12 N. Y. 40 p. 414, p. 424
- Collender v. Dinsmore 55 N. Y. 200 p. 414
- Silberman v. Clark 96 N. Y. 522 p. 414
- Newhall v. Appleton 102 N. Y. 133 p. 414
- Hopper v. Sage 112 N. Y. 530 p. 414
- Smith v. Clews 114 N. Y. 190 p. 414
- Lipman v. Niagara Fire Insurance 121 N. Y. 454 p. 414, p. 420, p. 421, p. 428
- Karelsen v. Sun Fire Office of London (Ltd.) 122 N. Y. 545 at 549 p. 414, p. 420, p. 428
- Hermann v. Niagara Fire Insururance 100 N. Y. 411 p. 414
- Bigelow v. Legg 102 N. Y. 652 p. 415
- O'Donohue v. Leggett 134 N. Y. 40 p. 415
- Thomas v. Scutt 127 N. Y. 133 p. 415, p. 428
- Humphreys v. New York, Lake Erie & Western Railroad 121 N. Y. 435 p. 415
- Insurance Co. v. Lyman 15 Wall. 664 p. 415
- Knickerbocker Life Insurance v. Pendleton 112 U. S. 696 p. 415
- Hartley v. James 50 N. Y. 38 p. 415
- McMaster v. President of Insurance Co. of North America 55 N. Y. 222 p. 415
- Armstrong v. Agricultural Insurance 130 N. Y. 560 p. 415
- Van Tassel v. Greenwich Insurance 151 N. Y. 130 p. 419, p. 426
- Newhall v. Appleton 114 N. Y. 140 p. 423
- Baird v. Baird 145 N. Y. 659 p. 425
- Truscott v. King 6 N. Y. 147 p. 428
- Chester v. Bank of Kingston 16 N. Y. 336 p. 428
- Horn v. Keteltas 46 N. Y. 605 at 610 p. 428