Majority
Headnote
1. Nonsuit—What Constitutes Judgment of. Where the complaint in an action brought by a policyholder against a life insurance company fcr a paid-up policy in lieu of one lapsed by the non-payment of a premium and which had been lost, was dismissed on the trial, upon motion of defendant at the close of plaintiff’s case, after plaintiff had conclusively established his application for the paid-up policy within six months after default in payment of the premium, his compliance with all other requirements of the policy except the surrender thereof, the loss of the policy and his failure to find it after diligent search therefor and of notice of such fact to the company, the tender to the company of a release of all liability upon the lost policy, and the refusal of the company to accept such release and issue a paid-up policy in lieu thereof, and no facts were specifically found by the court, and the record does not show what the decision of the court was in regard to the facts alleged in the complaint and answer, which formed the issue between the parties, the judgment entered upon such dismissal isa nonsuit and not the result of a trial upon the merits, since the trial judge virtually decided that plaintiff had not produced any proof sufficient to call upon the court to consider it and determine the facts in issue one way or the other; theThe plaintiff in this action sought to obtain a judgment or decree for the specific performance of a clause in a policy of life insurance. The case in its general features is the same as one which has recently been passed upon by this court. (Wilcox v. Equitable life Assurance Society, 173 N. Y. 50 .)
On the trial the complaint was dismissed and the judgment has been unanimously affirmed on appeal. It is, therefore, necessary in the first instance to determine the nature and character of the judgment appealed from. If it was a non-suit and not a trial and decision on the merits all the questions in the case are open for review in this court. The complaint was dismissed at the close of the plaintiff’s case upon the motion of the learned counsel for the defendant. Mo facts were specifically found by the court; and, hence, the record does not show what the decision of the court was in regard to the several facts alleged in the complaint and in the answer which formed the issue between the parties. The following facts were conclusively established at the trial:
(1) That on the 10tli day of May, 1882, the defendant, through its Pittsburg agency, issued and delivered to the plaintiff a policy of insurance on his life for the sum of four thousand dollars, payable to the insured, if living at the expiration of its term, together with the accrued earnings, or to his heirs, next of kin or legatees, at the time of his death prior to the expiration of its term. It was a twenty years’ policy and the annual premium of $194.08 was payable semiannually on the 10th day of May and Hovember in each year.
(2) The policy contained a clause providing that upon “ the lapse of said policy by non-payment of premium at any time
(3) That, in accordance with the terms of this policy, the plaintiff made twenty-three semi-annual payments of premiums as required, all of which were received by the defendant, amounting in all to the sum of two thousand and seventy-five dollars and fifty cents. That thereafter and on or about the 10th day of November, 1893, the policy lapsed by reason of non-payment of the premium due on that day. That thereafter and on or about the first day of March, 1894, and within six months after the time that the policy had lapsed the plaintiff desiring to have it changed to that form of policy known as a paid-up policy made application to the defendant for the' same.
(4) In the meantime the plaintiff had removed from Pitts-burg to New York and when he applied to the defendant for the paid-up policy he informed the officers that his policy had been lost and that he was hot able to surrender the identical paper. This is wdiat the plaintiff testified to on that point: “ I inquired for the official that had charge of these matters and some one appeared and I stated to him the case that the policy was lost and inquired what, under the conditions, I should do. He said I "should make further search for the policy and if it could not be found it possibly could be arranged by my giving a bond, but that it would be far less complicated if I would make a further search for the policy and find it.” Subsequently, he made search for the policy in Pittsburg and elsewhere, but failed to find it. Various communications passed between the agent at Pittsburg and the defendant, in which the company was informed from time to time that the plaintiff could not find the policy. Before the commencement of this action the plaintiff tendered to the defendant a release of all liability upon the policy, which was refused, and there was also a refusal to deliver the paid-up policy, and, hence, this action.
In this respect we think that the learned trial court committed an error. The plaintiff was entitled to have his proofs considered and facts alleged in the complaint and answer determined. We cannot know from the present record what facts the learned trial judge considered to be established and what facts, by way of defense, were proven to defeat the action. On the argument in this court the learned counsel for the defendant relied upon one proposition, and one only, and that was, that whereas the defendant waived the six months’ Statute of Limitations and directed the plaintiff to make further search for the policy the latter waited too long before calling the attention of the defendant again to the transaction and that, in consequence of that delay, the plaintiff’s right of action, which accrued to him within the six
The judgment should be reversed and a new trial granted, with costs to abide the event.
Parker, Ch. J., Gray, Bartlett, Haight Vann and Cullen, J«L, concur.
Judgment reversed, etc.
Cases cited
- Mills v. Albany Exch. Sav. Bank 28 Misc. Rep. 251 p. 77
- Rolston v. Central Park, North & East River Railroad 21 Misc. Rep. 439 p. 77
- Dupignac v. Quick 27 Misc. Rep. 500 p. 77
- Read v. Marine Bank 136 N. Y. 454 p. 78
- Fintard v. Tackington 10 Johns. 104 p. 78
- McNair v. Gilbert 3 Wend. 344 p. 78
- Blade v. Noland 12 Wend. 173 p. 78
- Wright v. Wright 54 N. Y. 437 p. 78
- Solomon v. Continental Fire Insurance 160 N. Y. 595 p. 78, p. 79
- McNally v. Phœnix Insurance 137 N. Y. 389 p. 78
- Paltrovitch v. Phœnix Insurance Co. of Hartford 143 N. Y. 73 p. 78
- Sergent v. Liverpool & London & Globe Insurance 155 N. Y. 349 p. 78
- Howell v. Knickerbocker Life Insurance 44 N. Y. 276 p. 78
- Straube v. Pacific Mutual Life Insurance 123 Cal. 677 p. 78
- Stayner v. Equitable Life Assur. Soc. of United States 22 Misc. Rep. 53 p. 78
- Wheeler v. Connecticut Mutual Life Insurance 82 N. Y. 543 p. 78
- Weed v. Hamburg-Bremen Fire Insurance 133 N. Y. 394 p. 79
- Morris v. Sickly 133 N. Y. 456 p. 79
- Inman v. Western Fire Insurance 12 Wend. 452 p. 79
- Bennett v. Lycoming County Mutual Insurance 67 N. Y. 274 p. 79
- New York Central Insurance v. National Protection Insurance 20 Barb. 468 p. 79
- Wilcox v. Equitable Life Assurance Society of the United States 173 N. Y. 50 p. 79
- Deeley v. Heintz 169 N. Y. 129 p. 81
- Ware v. Dos Passos 162 N. Y. 281 p. 81
- Veazey v. Allen 173 N. Y. 359 p. 81
- Toplitz v. Bauer 161 N. Y. 325 p. 82