Majority
Headnote
Insurance (Fire) — Policy Insuring Automobile — Clause Excepting “Loss or Damage Caused by Fire Originating Within tüe Vehicle” —Meaning and Effect Thereof — Loss Hot Coyered by Policy. Where a policy insuring an automobile contained a provision that the policy should not cover “ loss or damage caused by fire originating within the vehicle,” the fair and natural import and meaning thereof excluded loss by fire, danger of which was inherent in the use or operation of the automobile itself without the intervention of any extrinsic cause or agency. When, therefore, the automobile was damaged by fire originating in an explosion of gasolene, which, owing to the partial overturning of the automobile in a ditch containing water, ran out of its tank upon the water, and its vapor, coming into contact with lighted lamps attached to the automobile, was ignited and exploded, causing the fire and the resulting damage, it must be held that the fire originated within the vehicle, and that the policy did not cover the loss.This action is brought on a fire insurance policy to recover for the damage caused to an automobile by fire. The policy contained this provision : “ It is understood and agreed that this policy does not cover loss or damage caused by fire originating within the vehicle.” On a dark night in July, 1902, the automobile insured, which was propelled by the explosion of gasolene vapor, while going from Pleasure Bay to Monmouth, 24ew Jersey, ran off the road into a ditch filled with water to the depth of a man’s-knee. At the time of the occurrence there were in the vehicle a chauffeur and three other men. The automobile lay at an angle of forty degrees with the bed of the road. Finding it impossible to extricate the machine from the ditch the three men left for assistance, and almost immediately after heard the noise of an explosion, when running to the place of the accident they found the automobile in flames and the chauffeur lying on the ground across the ditch, with his clothes torn and his arms and hands bare. The chauffeur died before the trial of this action, so the origin of the fire can be determined only from the circumstances narrated by the other persons. At the time of the accident two kerosene lamps on the dash
We cannot accept the view entertained by the majority of the Appellate Division. Doubtless the general rule is, as often stated, that where an insurance policy is so drawn as to be ambiguous or require interpretation, that interpretation will be adopted which is most favorable to the insured. (Rick erson v. Hartford Fire Ins. Co., 149 N. Y. 307 ; Michael v. Prussian Nat. Ins. Co., 171 N. Y. 25 .) But the rule is equally well settled that contracts of insurance, like other contracts, are to be construed according to the sense and meaning of the terms which the parties have used, and if they are clear and unambiguous the terms are to be taken and understood in their plain, ordinary and proper sense. (Imperial Fire Ins. Co. v. Coos Co., 151 U. S. 452 ; Nelson v. Traders' Ins. Co., 181 N. Y. 472 .) That the lamps were part of the automobile so that the policy would have covered their loss had the fire been caused by other than the excepted risk seems reasonably clear. That the gasolene vapor must have penetrated within the lamp to have ignited is also clear. Therefore, within
Dissent
The order of the Appellate Division should be reversed and the judgment entered upon the report of the referee affirmed, with costs in both courts.
(dissenting). The decision of this appeal turns on the meaning of the words “fire originating within the vehicle,” which form part of an exception that is claimed to release the defendant from the obligation of its general promise to insure “ against all direct loss or damage by fire.” The exception from the promise is not a part of the printed policy, hut was written in and is peculiarly the language of the insurer. If the meaning of the exception is in doubt, the law holds the company responsible “ because it prepared and executed the contract, and the language used is wholly its own.” (Rickerson v. Hartford Fire Ins. Co., 149 N. Y. 307 , 313.) The learned Appellate Division gave the words in question one meaning, while the referee and one of the justices below gave them another. We also differ with no uncertain divergence of views as to what they mean, and can it be said under these circumstance, with propriety or truth, that the meaning of the company is expressed so clearly as to exempt it from the application of the rule that the author of a serious doubt in a written instrument must bear the burden thereof ?
Where did the fire originate and what was the direct cause thereof ? The gasolene was a mere potentiality, the same as a bundle of pine shavings or a can of gunpowder might have been. It did not cause the fire, for there is no claim of spontaneous combustion. It was highly inflammable, but it was not the first material that caught fire. The fire did not originate in the gasolene. It originated in an explosive vapor that came partly but not wholly from the gasolene, owing to rapid evaporation after it had escaped from the vehicle. The gasolene in the form of a liquid oil flowed out of the inverted
The purpose of the exception from general liability imposed on the defendant by the policy, as I gather the meaning from the words used, was to exempt the insurer when the fire was caused by the operation of the machinery, or by defects in the vehicle itself, or by inherent agencies which were a part of the machine and operated wholly within it, with no aid from external'causes. Such a fire would owe
I vote for affirmance and judgment absolute against the appellant on its stipulation.
Gray, Haight, Werner and Willard Bartlett, JJ., concur with Cullen, Ch. J.;. Chase, J., concurs with Vann, J.
Order reversed, etc.
Cases cited
- Preston v. Ætna Ins. 118 App. Div. 784 p. 142
- Nelson v. Traders' Insurance Co. of Chicago, Ill. 181 N. Y. 472 p. 142, p. 143, p. 144
- Allen v. German American Insurance 123 N. Y. 6 p. 142
- Peabody v. Satterlee 166 N. Y. 174 p. 142
- Imperial Fire Insurance v. Coos County 151 U. S. 452 p. 142, p. 144
- Foot v. Ætna Life Insurance Co. of Hartford 61 N. Y. 571 p. 142
- Yoch v. Home Mutual Insurance 111 Cal. 503 p. 142
- Michael v. Prussian National Insurance 171 N. Y. 25 p. 142, p. 144
- Devitt v. Providence Washington Insurance 173 N. Y. 17 p. 142
- Griffey v. New York Central Insurance 100 N. Y. 417 p. 142, p. 143
- Rickerson v. Hartford Fire Insurance 149 N. Y. 307 at 313 p. 143, p. 144, p. 146
- Schoonmaker v. Hoyt 148 N. Y. 425 p. 143
- Dady v. O'Rourke 172 N. Y. 447 p. 143
- Hustace v. Phenix Insurance 175 N. Y. 292 p. 143