Majority
Headnote
Negligence —Employers’ Liability Act— insufficiency of notice — statement of cause of injury not definite enough to comply with statute — when it is error to submit case to jury — erroneous admission of evidence that defendant was insured in casualty company.Through undue zeal on the part of the counsel for the plaintiff this case was overtried, and hazardous chances were taken by inviting rulings, which require a reversal of the judgment. We will call attention to a few of the errors, trusting that upon another trial counsel will realize that the true interest oí a client is rarely advanced by a verdict resting on error.
The only specific allegations of negligence set forth in the complaint are that “the defendant operated a derrick and bucket which swung, raised and lowered in and about said premises and, in utter disregard of its duty to the plaintiff, failed to supply a sufficient number of servants to operate said apparatus ; failed to furnish or supply signalmen at various points about said premises to warn plaintiff of the approach of said apparatus or any of its parts; failed to furnish or supply other signalmen or appliances of any kind whatever to warn plaintiff of the approach of said apparatus or any of its parts; failed to supply sufficient electric lights, or any other kind of light in the night time to enable plaintiff to see about said premises with reasonable clearness, so that said premises were dark.” Although these were simply allegations of negligence at common law, the plaintiff also alleged the service of a notice under the Employers’ Liability Act, but without setting forth any fact to bring the case within the reach of that statute.
Upon the trial the first evidence offered by the plaintiff was a notice claimed to conform to said act. The defendant objected to it as incompetent and immaterial, as having nothing to do with the case and as wholly insufficient in that it did not properly show the cause of the accident or comply with the requirements of the statute. The objection was. overruled, an exception taken and the notice read in evidence. It stated the time and place of the injury with fullness and accuracy, but the only attempt to state the cause of the injury was as follows: “ Said accident was caused by the failure of the said Foundation Company to provide proper protection for the said Simpson in his employment, and as a result
In submitting the case to the jury the court read sections one and two of the statute and charged that “ This action is brought under this act and this law applies to the evidence in this case and you must apply this law to the evidence.” The court further instructed the jury to decide whether the defendant provided a safe place and exercised proper care to keep it safe, and refused to charge that there was no evidence to warrant a finding that there was any defect in the ways, works or machinery furnished by the defendant which in any way contributed to the accident. Exceptions were duly taken to these rulings.
1. The notice did not comply with the Employers’ Liability Act because it failed to adequately describe the accident, and did not notify the defendant of any cause of injury that came within the provisions of that statute. It is simply a notice of common-law negligence, which was not required, and is not a notice to bring the case within the enlarged liability imposed by the legislature. There is no notice of any defect in the condition of the ways, works or machinery, or of the negligence of any person exercising superintendence with the authority or consent of the employer. It alleges a failure to provide “ proper protection,” but does not point out the kind of protection needed, nor the nature of the work in which the plaintiff was engaged, nor “ indicate what the real, producing trouble in this case was as distinguished from many others which might have existed.” While it says that he was struck by a bucket and caused to fall into a pit, it does not state what he was doing, why the bucket struck him, where he fell from, or under what circumstances he fell. Upon reading the notice the employer could not tell whether something broke, or whether the accident was caused by some defect in machinery, or through careless operation, or the failure to give warning, or through any particular act of omission or commission. The allegation of a failure to provide proper
It is not enough to specify the time and place of the accident, although that would guide the employer to some extent in making an investigation, which is one of the objects of requiring notice. The statute says that “the cause of the injury ” must also be stated, and this means that the accident should be so described that a person of ordinary intelligence who knew nothing about it could understand how it happened. Notice that the plaintiff was struck by a bucket and knocked into a pit is good as far as it goes, but it was necessary to further state, however informally, how the bucket came to strike him, or, in other words, in some reasonable way to describe the occurrence as it actually took place.
2. Even if the notice had been adequate, the evidence did not warrant the submission of the case to the jury as one governed by the Employers’ Liability Act. As was well said by Mr. Justice Miller below: “ The master was liable, not for a defect in the ways, works or machinery, nor for the failure to furnish a safe place in which to work, but if at all, for not furnishing a signalman. The evidence respecting the light, the absence of bell or other signal, and the obstructions of the engineer’s view only relate to the defendant’s duty tó furnish a signalman and to the question of the plaintiff’s contributory negligence.”
3. The next evidence received after the notice was introduced was given by the plaintiff himself, who, after testifying that he was thirty years of age at the time of the accident, was asked if he was married, and, under objection and exception, he answered': “ I am married. I was married on the 27th day of June, 1896. My wife was living at that time and she is living to-day.” He was then asked if he had any children, and, subject to objection and exception, he answered that he had four.
When an action is brought by the personal representatives of a decedent to recover damages for causing his death by negligence, evidence that he had a wife and children is competent, because the measure of damages provided by the statute which authorizes the action is “just compensation for the pecuniary injuries resulting” to the wife and next of kin. (Matter of Meekin v. B. H. R. R. Co, 164 N. Y. 145 , 147; Code Civ. Pro. §§ 1903, 1904.) When, however, the injured person survives the accident and brings the action himself, the damages recovered belong to him and are allowed only for the loss which he has personally sustained. In such a case evi
We have thus stated the general rule in relation to the admissibility of such evidence. In this case, however, evidence that the plaintiff was married, although incompetent when received, was subsequently made competent through testimony given by the plaintiff and his physician tending to show that as the result of the accident he had lost all sexual power. It was proper that the jury in estimating the damages should consider the fact that although married and still a young man, he was rendered incapable of enjoying marital rights. • Thus, under the peculiar circumstances of this case, evidence of marriage and that his wife was still living was competent, but it is an exception to the general rule.
I am personally of the opinion that evidence that the plaintiff had begotten children prior to the in jury was also competent under the extraordinary facts of this case, because he had the natural right to possess unimpaired the power of procreation during the normal period. The fact that he had children was evidence that he possessed the power before the accident. It must be presumed that his children might be a source of comfort and support in his old age, and, hence, loss of the power bore on the question of the pecuniary damages he had sustained, independent of the policy of the law and the interest of society in the perpetuation of the species. It is not a complete answer to say that the law presumes the previous existence of the power, for it is not reversible error to prove a fact which the law presumes.
A majority of my associates, however, are of the opinion that the evidence relating to children was incompetent, and that it was brought in to aggravate the damages. They think that the power is presumed without proof, and that the real object of the attorney for the plaintiff is shown by the fact that the evidence was clearly incompetent when offered, and yet he did not state that he intended to prove anything which might make it competent.
Subsequently another witness for the plaintiff testified to an interview with Mr. Brown, and stated that two attorneys were present at the time. He was asked, “ Where did they tell you they were coming from ? ” The answer was, “ Travelers’ Insurance Company, I think they said.” There was no objection or exception to this question, and no motion wa.s made by either party to strike out any of the evidence relating to the subject of insurance.
Later on in the trial after one Biley had testified for the defendant, a paper purporting to be a statement made by the witness was offered in evidence to contradict him. The last vrr/-vi'/4o rvr 4no r\o nm» vrrm»n • \ rvion o ofaf¿linn™f 4a ">>o
If the answers were unexpected, as claimed, it was the duty of the plaintiff’s counsel himself to move to strike out the evidence and to ask the court to instruct the jury to disregard it. Although warned by objection and exception, he had brought it into the record, and when he knew that it was not what he expected, but something highly improper, he should have lost no time in getting it out of the record and doing his utmost to correct his mistake. A prompt withdrawal of the evidence by the counsel for the plaintiff would go farther toward correcting the evil than any motion made by the attorney for the defendant. While there was no proof in this case that the defendant was insured, by suggestion and indirection the jury were given to understand that such was the fact and the result, apparently, is reflected in the verdict.
Evidence that the defendant in an action for negligence was insured in a casualty company, or that the defense was conducted by an insurance company, is incompetent and so dan-
Many other rulings made during the trial are challenged by the appellant, but in an opinion of reasonable length it would be impossible to discuss them all, and we have said enough, as we hope, to secure, upon the new trial which it is our duty to order, greater care in offering and receiving evidence and a closer observance of the principles of law.
Clare v. Mutual Life Ins. Co., 128 App. Div. 908 , affirmed.
(Argued March 27, 1911;
decided April 25, 1911.)
Appeal from a judgment of the Appellate Division of the Supreme Court in the fourth judicial department, entered October 23, 1908, affirming a judgment in favor of defendant entered upon a dismissal of the complaint by the court at a Trial Term without a jury.
The nature of the action and the facts, so far as material, are stated in the opinion.
The contract entered into between the guardian and the defendant exceeded to a material degree and in a material respect the contract authorized by the order of the surrogate and never received the approval of the surrogate. (Matter of Bartsch, 60 Misc. Rep. 272 ; Hardy v. Citizens’ Nat. Bank, 61 N. H. 34 ; Poultney v. Randall, 9 Bosw. 232 ; Jones on Pledges & Coll. Sec. § 61; Woerner on Guardianship, 172, 173, § 53; Schouler on Dom. Rel. [4th ed.] § 344; Rollins v. Marsh, 129 Mass. 166 ; Moore v. Hazelton, 9 Allen, 104 .) The surrogate had no power to authorize, nor had the guardian any right or power to enter into any contract waiving the infant’s common-law and statutory right to demand of payment and notice of sale. (Togplitz v. Bauer, 161 N. Y. 325 ; Stenton v. Jerome, 54 N. Y. 480 ; Nelson v. Little, 2 N. Y. 443 ; Williams v. U. S. T. Co., 133 N. Y. 660 ; Vickers v. Battershall, 84 Hun, 496 ; Hughes v. Harlan, 166 N. Y. 427 ; Mooney v. Byrne, 163 N. Y. 86 ; Macauley v. Smith, 132 N. Y. 524 ; Sherman v. Wright, 39 N. Y. 227 ; Howell v. Mills, 53 N. Y. 322 ; Losey v. Stanley, 147 N. Y. 560 .) The guardian had no power to waive or contract away the infant’s right or equity of redemption in the pledged property and the contract made by her in an attempt so to do was against public policy and, therefore, void. (Thompson v. Dolliver, 132 Mass. 103 ; King v. Van Vleck, 109 N. Y. 363 ; First Nat. Bank v. Hall, 22 App. Div. 356 ; Griggs v. Day, 136 N. Y. 152 ; Bryan v. Baldwin, 52 N. Y. 232 ; Duncomb v. N. Y. & H. R. R. Co., 84 N. Y. 190 .)
Maulsby Kimball for respondent.
The guardian had power and authority to surrender the policy and apply the proceeds to the benefit of the infant even without a court order, and had the right to agree upon the terms on which such surrender should be had. (Fields v. Schieffelin, 7 Johns. Ch. 150 ; Tuttle v. Heavy, 59 Barb. 334 ; Chapman v. Tibbits, 33 N. Y. 289 ; Maclay v. E. Life Assur. Co., 152 U. S. 499 ; Lawrence v. Morrison, 68 N. C. 182 ; Lamar v. Micon,
The action is upon a policy of insurance issued by the defendant, which insured the life of the plaintiff’s mother for his benefit in the sum of $3,000. The defense to the action was, principally, that the policy had been cancelled and all obligation of the defendant thereunder satisfied. Findings were made by the trial court, in its decision of the issues, which were based upon a stipulation of the parties as to the main facts. In substance, these were the facts as found. Mrs. Clare, the plaintiff’s mother, in January, 1900, took out a paid-up policy of insurance, whereby the defendant promised to pay the sum of $3,000 to the plaintiff, if living at her death, and, if not living, then, to her executors, administrators, or assigns. She died in December, 1906, from a cause not
The question of the surrender value of the policy is not here. The finding upon the subject is explicit and is based upon the stipulation and there is no request to find otherwise. Mor is there any doubt but what the guardian could agree to waive notice and demand of payment. The subject of the contract was a non-negotiable chose in action and not a chattel, and the plaintiff’s interest in the policy was a peculiar species of property. The defendant was not bound to maintain the policy, upon the non-payment of the amount of the loan; which equalled its surrender value. The effect of the agreement was to provide for a method of realizing upon the policy and there can be no legal objection to such an agreement by the guardian. It is always competent for parties to agree between themselves that, in a transaction of loan, notice and demand may be dispensed with.
I think that the judgment was right and that it should be affirmed.
Cullen, Ch. J., Haight, Vann, Willard Bartlett, Chase and Collin, JJ., concur.
Judgment affirmed, with costs.
Cases cited
- Nappa v. Erie Railroad 195 N. Y. 176 p. 482
- Logerto v. Central Building Co. 198 N. Y. 390 at 394 p. 482, p. 486
- Harris v. Baltimore Machine & Elevator Works 188 N. Y. 141 p. 482
- Lewis v. Gehlen 136 App. Div. 855 p. 482
- Finnigan v. New York Contracting Co. 194 N. Y. 244 at 248 p. 482, p. 486
- Lipp v. Otis Bros. 161 N. Y. 559 p. 482
- Pennsylvania Co. v. Roy 102 U. S. 451 p. 482
- Alberti v. New York, Lake Erie & Western Railroad 118 N. Y. 77 p. 482
- Moody v. Osgood 50 Barb. 628 p. 482
- Cosselmon v. Dunfee 172 N. Y. 507 p. 483
- Loughlin v. Brassil 187 N. Y. 128 p. 483
- Dougherty v. Milliken 163 N. Y. 527 p. 483
- Dolan v. Herring-Hall-Marvin Safe Co. 105 App. Div. 366 p. 483
- Trenkman v. Schneider 26 Misc. Rep. 695 p. 483
- Donaldson v. Alexander 29 Misc. Rep. 356 p. 483
- Hurley v. Olcott 198 N. Y. 132 p. 483
- Patchin v. Astor Mutual Insurance 13 N. Y. 268 p. 483
- Meekin v. Brooklyn Heights Railroad 164 N. Y. 145 at 147 p. 487
- In re Bartsch 60 Misc. Rep. 272 p. 493
- Poultney v. Randall 9 Bosw. 232 p. 493
- Toplitz v. Bauer 161 N. Y. 325 p. 493
- Stenton v. Jerome 54 N. Y. 480 p. 493
- Wilson v. Little 2 N. Y. 443 p. 493
- Williams v. United States Trust Co. 133 N. Y. 660 p. 493
- Hughes v. Harlam 166 N. Y. 427 p. 493
- Mooney v. Byrne 163 N. Y. 86 p. 493
- Macauley v. Smith 132 N. Y. 524 p. 493
- Edgerton v. New York & Harlem Railroad 39 N. Y. 227 p. 493
- Howell v. Mills 53 N. Y. 322 p. 493
- Losey v. Stanley 147 N. Y. 560 p. 493
- King v. Van Vleck 109 N. Y. 363 p. 493
- Griggs v. Day 136 N. Y. 152 p. 493
- Bryan v. Baldwin 52 N. Y. 232 p. 493
- Duncomb v. New York, Housatonic & Northern Railroad 84 N. Y. 190 p. 493
- Field v. Schieffelin 7 Johns. Ch. 150 p. 493, p. 497
- Tuttle v. Heavy 59 Barb. 334 p. 493, p. 497
- Chapman v. Tibbits 33 N. Y. 289 p. 493
- Maclay v. Equitable Life Assurance Society 152 U. S. 499 p. 493, p. 497
- Lamar v. Micou 112 U. S. 452 p. 494
- Hyland v. Baxter 98 N. Y. 610 p. 494, p. 497
- In re Ward 49 Misc. Rep. 181 p. 494
- In re Forkel 8 App. Div. 397 p. 494
- Hovell v. Noll 10 Misc. Rep. 546 p. 494
- In re the Judicial Settlement of Accounts of Bolton 159 N. Y. 129 p. 494
- In re Hynes 105 N. Y. 560 p. 494
- Wuesthoff v. Germania Life Insurance 107 N. Y. 580 p. 497
- In re Bostwick 4 Johns. Ch. 100 at 105 p. 497