Majority
Headnote
Judgment — insurance (life) — when judgment obtained by administrator of insured in another state not a bar to an action on the same policy in this state by the assignee thereof.On August 31, 1891,' Cliff F. Harrison and the plaintiff resided in Rutland, Vermont. On that date the defendant, a life insurance corporation organized under the laws of Wisconsin but doing business in Vermont, issued to said Harrison a policy on his life for $2,000, payable to his “ executors, administrators or assigns.” The policy recited that it was delivered at its office in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. It further provided that the policy was “ a contract made and to be performed in the state of Wisconsin, and shall be construed only according to the Charter of the Company and the laws of said State,” and also that if it should be assigned, a duplicate of the assignment should, within thirty days, be given to the company. •
On September 12th, 1891, Harrison assigned the policy
It was stipulated by the parties on the trial of this action that the plaintiff was not a relative, connected in blood with, or a creditor of said Harrison, and that the policy was assigned to her by him without consideration as a gift. Thereafter letters of administration upon the estate of Harrison having been issued in Vermont, and the defendant having refused to pay, the administrator brought a suit in that state to recover the amount of the policy. The defendant pleaded the general issue with notice of special matter. On the trial the defendant offered to prove the assignment to this plaintiff; that she was in no way related to the deceased; that the plaintiff here held the policy and the assignment, and had brought suit on the policy in the state of Hew York, which suit was still pending, and that the Vermont action was not brought by the administrator' at her request or for her benefit, but for the next of kin of the deceased. The evidence was excluded and the plaintiff administrator had judgment. On appeal the judgment was reversed, the Supreme Court of Vermont holding (Harrison v. Northwestern M. L. Ins. Co., 78 Vt. 473 ) that the insurance having been procured by the assured
After the commencement of the Vermont action, the plaintiff brought this suit in the county of New York, of which she was a resident. When the administrator recovered judgment in Vermont the defendant, by a supplemental answer in this action, pleaded that judgment as a bar. The plaintiff demurred to this defense, but its sufficiency was upheld by this court. ( 189 N. Y. 100 .)' After that decision and the reversal of the Vermont judgment by the Supreme Court of that state, the plaintiff withdrew her demurrer and replied to the defense that the judgment pleaded had been reversed. Subsequently the Vermont suit was again brought to trial. The defendant there made proof of the assignment and other facts which had been excluded on the first trial. In answer thereto the Vermont plaintiff was permitted to prove that the assignment was made in consideration of the promise of the present plaintiff to continue meretricious relations with the assured. That issue was found in favor of the administrator, who again recovered a judgment which on appeal was affirmed by the Supreme Court. ( 80 Vt. 148 .) Thereupon the defendant paid the judgment and by another supple
Thereafter this action was brought to trial. The assigmnent to the plaintiff was conceded. No proof was offered to show any illegal or immoral consideration for such assignment, but on the contrary it was stipulated that the assignment was a gift. The facts hereinbefore recited, including the judgments and proceedings in the Vermont action, were placed in evidence. Thereupon the court, over defendant’s objection and exception, directed a verdict for the plaintiff for the amount due on the policy. The Appellate Division, by a divided court, reversed that judgment and directed judgment dismissing- the complaint on the merits, it being conceded that the facts could not be varied on another trial.
The sole question before us is whether the recovery in Vermont is a bar to this suit. Counsel for the respondent contends that the question has been determined in the affirmative by our previous decision, and one at least of the learned justices who concurred in the decision of the Appellate Division placed his concurrence solely upon that ground, his personal opinion being that the Vermont judgment was not a bar. We are of opinion that our previous decision does not dispose of the issue now presented to us. A reference to the report of that decision shows that the only opinion written was that of the late Judge O’Brien, but that opinion did not obtain the concurrence of any other member of the court, the determination of which was not unanimous. We must, therefore, look, not to the opinion, but to what the defendant had pleaded in the supplemental answer to see what our previous determination necessarily decided. It was there alleged that by the laws of Vermont the assignment of a life insurance policy is no bar or defense to a claim of the personal representatives of the assured after his death, but that the personal representativés hold the policy or
In this state over sixty years ago the common-law rule was abolished, and it was required that every action should be. prosecuted in the name of the real party in interest. This change was made so long ago that none of us is familiar with the practice from personal experience, but must derive his knowledge solely from a study of the text books and decided cases. From this examination it appears that while the law courts adhered in form strictly to the theory that a chose in action was unassignable, at an early date they recognized the fact that the assignee was the real owner, and protected him against hostile action by the assignor after assignment and notice thereof given to the debtor. It seems to have been the rule everywhere, so far as we can discover, that the assignment of a chose in action gave the right to the assignee to sue for its enforcement free from any control or interference of the assignor, except that in some jurisdictions the latter was entitled to intervene to the extent of obtaining indemnity for costs in case the suit was unsuccessful. Also, the defendant could not defeat an assigned claim of which assignment he had notice by subsequent payment to or set-off against the assignor, or release from him. But the practice to effect this result seems to have differed in different jurisdictions. In England relief against such a plea could be secured only by motion to strike it out made to the court in advance of the trial. When the case was brought to trial the court would consider only the nominal parties to the record.
Further, though the policy was taken out in the state of Vermont, it was. made by the express agreement of the parties a Wisconsin contract to be performed there. While the assignment was made in Vermont, under the law as held by the Supreme Court of that state, it might be the subject of a valid gift, and under the acts appearing in this case it was a valid gift. The law of Wisconsin is the- same as our own. The assignment of a chose in action transfers the legal title. The common-law rule in Vermont that suit must be brought in the name of the assignor is one of practice and not of property; of remedy, not of right. (Lodge v. Phelps, 1 Johns. Cas. 139 .) When the administrator of the assured was appointed, and when the action was brought in Vermont, plaintiff was a resident of this state, and the policy evidencing the contract was in her possession here. The courts of Vermont, therefore, had no jurisdiction of the person of the plaintiff, nor was the subject-matter of the litigation in that state, and hence no adjudication there had could conclude this plaintiff’s rights. But if the claim on the insurance policy was property within the state of Vermont, which we think it was not, the defendant’s remedy was by bill of interpleader, in which suit jurisdiction might have been obtained over a non-resident so far as to determine title to property within the state. (Morgan v. Mut. Benefit Life Ins. Co., 189 N. Y. 447 .) If the action at law by the administrator for the benefit of the estate of his intestate would not have barred an action by the assignee in the name of the administrator, but on his own behalf, had that assignee been a resident of the state of Vermont, we do not see how its efficacy can be enhanced by the fact that the assignee was a non-resident and without the jurisdiction of the court.
The respondent relies on two cases as authorities in its behalf. In our view neither is in point. The first is in this
Gray, Vann, Hiscock, Chase and Collin, JJ., concur; Haight, J., dissents.
Judgment reversed, etc.
Cases cited
- Gleason v. Northwestern Mutual Life Insurance 189 N. Y. 100 p. 508, p. 512
- St. John v. American Mutual Life Insurance 13 N. Y. 31 p. 508
- Valton v. National Fund Life Assurance Co. 20 N. Y. 32 p. 508
- Olmsted v. Keyes 85 N. Y. 593 p. 508
- Steinback v. Diepenbrock 158 N. Y. 24 p. 509
- Haddock v. Haddock 201 U. S. 562 p. 509
- Goldey v. Morning News 156 U. S. 518 p. 509
- Morgan v. Mutual Benefit Life Insurance 189 N. Y. 447 p. 509, p. 516
- Platt v. Elias 186 N. Y. 374 p. 509
- Konitzky v. Meyer 49 N. Y. 571 p. 510
- Harris v. Balk 198 U. S. 215 p. 510
- Embree & Collins v. Hanna 5 Johns. 101 p. 510
- Green v. Clarke 12 N. Y. 343 p. 510
- Marsden v. Cornell 62 N. Y. 215 p. 510
- Sulz v. Mutual Reserve Fund Life Ass'n 145 N. Y. 563 p. 510, p. 517
- Littlefield v. Storey 3 Johns. 425 p. 515
- Andrews v. Beecker 1 Johns. Cas. 411 p. 515
- Welch v. Mandeville 1 Wheat. 233 p. 515
- Lodge v. Phelps 1 Johns. Cas. 139 p. 516