Majority
Headnote
Insurance—fire—mortgagee’s right to recover on policy not affected by failure of owner to make proof of loss.This action was brought by the plaintiff, a mortgagee, upon a policy of fire insurance issued to the mortgagor, and the single question involved is whether the refusal of the mortgagor to make proof of loss at the
The standard fire insurance policy of the state of New York contains in lines numbered 56 to 59, inclusive, this provision:
“If, with the consent of this company, an interest under this policy shall exist in favor of a mortgagee or of any person or corporation having an interest in the subject of insurance other than the interest of the insured as described herein, the conditions hereinbefore contained shall apply in the manner expressed in such provisions and conditions of. insurance relating to such interest as shall be written upon, attached, or appended hereto.”
The earlier provisions relate to matters affecting the risk either when incurred or while subsisting. The later provisions relate in the main to conditions to be complied with by the “insured” after a loss has occurred. This court decided in Heilbrunn v. German Alliance Insurance Co, ( 202 N. Y. 610 ) that the said later provisions relating in terms to the “ insured ” or mortgagor did not apply to a mortgagee and adopted the opinion of Mr. Justice Scott on the point. (Vide 140 App. Div. 557 .) There was a mortgagee clause attached to the policy in that case, but the reasoning of that opinion applies with equal force to a case like this, in which, by an indorsement on the policy, an interest is created by the act of the parties in favor of a mortgagee. It is undoubtedly the settled law of this state that such an indorsement, in the absence of a mortgagee clause, does not import an undertaking to pay the mortgagee, independent of that to pay the “ insured ” or the mortgagor. (Grosvenor v. Atlantic Fire Insurance Co., 17 N. Y. 391 ; Bidwell v. North
Upon the first reading of that provision it might appear to have been intended that the earlier provisions should not apply to the interest of a mortgagee except as, or “in the manner,” provided by the rider to be attached; but a comparison of a single one of those provisions with the standard mortgagee clause discloses the error of that interpretation. Lines 31 to 35 provide that the company shall not be liable for loss caused by “invasion, insurrection, riot, civil war or commotion, or military or usurped power, or by order of any civil authority; or by theft;” or, except as specified, by explosion or lightning. Plainly, the company does not insure against those risks either as to the owner or a mortgagee, but said provision is in no way referred to in the authorized riders. Obviously,
The further study of the terms of the standard policy strengthens the view, taken in the Heilbrunn case, that the provisions which follow lines 56 to 59, most of which relate in terms to the “insured,” were not intended to apply to a mortgagee. Among those provisions is one, lines 96 to 101, for contribution in case of other insurance. If that applied to a mortgagee there would be no occasion for a contribution clause in a rider except to limit or supplement the clause of the policy. There are two standard mortgagee clauses applicable where the owner has an interest in the insurance. They are alike except that one makes no reference whatever to the subject of contribution and the other contains the following clause:
“In case of any other insurance upon the within described property this company shall not be liable under this policy for a greater proportion of any loss or damage sustained than the sum hereby insured bears to the whole amount of insurance on said property, issued to or held by any party or parties having an insurable interest therein, whether as owner, mortgagee or otherwise.”
It was plainly the intention of the parties that the plaintiff as mortgagee should have an interest in the insurance superior to that of the owner. The loss was to be first payable to the plaintiff. The defendant’s construction of the contract defeats that purpose. It permits the destruction of that interest after a loss has occurred by the arbitrary refusal of the insured, i. e., the owner, to make proof of loss. It is reasonable that those conditions which affect the risk, while it is subsisting, should apply alike to mortgagor and mortgagee, unless the parties have expressly stipulated otherwise by attach
Two constructions, which avoid the unreasonable result suggested, seem to be possible, namely: 1, The construction adopted by the Appellate Division in this case, that' the mortgagee is the “ insured ” within the meaning of the clause requiring proofs of loss; 2, the construction adopted in the Heilbrunn case, applied to every case in which a mortgagee as such has an interest in the policy with the consent of the company, irrespective of whether there is a full mortgagee clause attached to the- policy or merely an indorsement on its face. The former construction has the support of the only decisions in this state on the point which have been called to our attention. (Cornell v. Le Roy, 9 Wend. 163 ; Armstrong v. Agricultural Insurance Co., 56 Hun, 399 ; reversed on another point, 130 N. Y. 560 ; Moore v. Hanover Fire Insurance Co., 71 Hun, 199 ; also reversed on another point, 141 N. Y. 219 .) But there is ample internal evidence that the word “ insured,” if used in the same sense throughout the contract, applies only to the owner, the one to whom the policy was issued. The latter construction does not do violence to any language of the contract, but rather tends to give some effect to all of its provisions and at the same time to carry out its primary purpose. It is within the logic of the Heilbrunn case, and we, therefore, adopt it.
The order should be affirmed, and judgment absolute ordered against the- appellant on the stipulation, with costs in all courts.
Cullen, Ch. J., Gray, Werner, Hiscock and Collin, JJ., concur; Cuddeback, J., concurs in result.
Order affirmed, etc.
Cases cited
- Heilbrunn v. German Alliance Insurance 202 N. Y. 610 p. 483, p. 484
- Graham v. Phœnix Insurance 77 N. Y. 171 p. 483
- McMaster v. President of Insurance Co. of North America 55 N. Y. 222 p. 483
- Lewis v. Guardian Fire & Life Assurance Co. of London, England 181 N. Y. 392 p. 483, p. 485
- Grosvenor v. Atlantic Fire Insurance 17 N. Y. 391 p. 484
- Bidwell v. Northwestern Insurance 19 N. Y. 179 p. 485
- Perry v. Lorillard Fire Insurance 61 N. Y. 214 p. 485
- Weed v. London & Lancashire Fire Insurance 116 N. Y. 106 p. 485
- Moore v. Hanover Fire Insurance 141 N. Y. 219 p. 485, p. 488
- Pitney v. Glen's Falls Insurance 65 N. Y. 6 p. 485
- Hathaway v. Orient Insurance 134 N. Y. 409 p. 485
- Eddy v. London Assurance Corp. 143 N. Y. 311 p. 487
- Cornell v. Le Roy 9 Wend. 163 p. 488
- Armstrong v. Agricultural Insurance 130 N. Y. 560 p. 488