Majority
Headnote
Insurance (fire) — cancellation of policy—when notice of cancellation of fire insurance policy given by insured and received by insurer effective, although insurer took no action with reference thereto until after loss by fire — construction and application of section 122 of Insurance Law (Cons. Laws, ch. 28) relating to cancellation of policies of fire insurance.The complaint in this action alleged that by a certain policy of insurance, dated May 5th, 1915, the defendant in consideration of a premium to it paid by the' copartnership of Fitch & Hahn, insured said firm against loss or damage by fire on. enumerated personal property for the period of one year. In July, 1915, the plaintiff having purchased from Fitch & Hahn the insured property, the policy of insurance, with the consent of the defendant, was assigned and transferred to the plaintiff. On January 27th, 1916, the property described in the policy was damaged and in part destroyed by fire. Plaintiff thereafter duly served on defendant verified proof of loss with a demand for payment of the amount claimed by reason of the loss. Defendant refused to recognize a liability under the policy. The answer served by defendant admitted the foregoing facts.
A further allegation of the complaint that the policy was in force at the time of the loss was denied in the'
“ Gately-Haire Go., Inc.,
“108 State Street,
“Albany, N. Y.
“Jan. 18, 1916.
“Messrs. Van Allen & Hamilton,
“ 8 Tweddle Building,
“Albany, N. Y.:
“Gentlemen.— On taking our inventory we find we are carrying more insurance than is necessary. We wish to cancel policy No! 15,997 with the Niagara Fire Insurance Co. of the City of New York for $3,000. This cancellation to take effect at once.
“Please give this matter your immediate attention and oblige,
“Yours very truly,
“GATELY-HAIRE GO., INC.,
“Per J. L. Gately, Pres.”
Each party moved for judgment on the pleadings. The application of defendant was denied. Judgment for the relief demanded in the complaint was granted to plaintiff.
Upon appeal therefrom a slight modification was made by the Appellate Division, and as so .modified the judgment was affirmed. Defendant appeals to this court.
The question presented by the pleadings is one of law, viz.: Was the policy of insurance in force on January 27th, 1916, the day when the loss occurred ? The opinion of the justice at Special Term tersely stated the claims
Section 122 of the Insurance Law (Cons. Laws, chap. 28; formerly section 3, chapter 110, Laws of 1880) was enacted for -the protection of an assured and conferred upon the assured the sole right to cancel a policy of fire insurance. It reads as follows:
“ Any corporation, person, company or association transacting the business of fire insurance in this state shall cancel any policy of insurance upon the request of the insured or his legal representatives, and shall return to him or to such representative the amount of premium paid, less the customary short rate premium for the expired time of the full term for which the policy has been issued or renewed, notwithstanding anything in the policy to the contrary. * * * ”
Counsel for respondent argued that the letter of January 18th, addressed by plaintiff to defendant, was not a request to cancel the policy within the meaning of the Insurance Law for the reason that the statute requires a request thereunder to be couched in terms positive and unequivocal; that plaintiff merely expressed a “ wish ” to cancel the policy rather than a “ request ” that same be canceled, hence plaintiff failed to exercise the privilege secured to it to cancel the policy. The attempted distinction between the expressions “wish” and “request” .is unwarranted. A casual reading of the communication discloses'the unmistakable intention of the plaintiff. It was carrying more insurance than its inventory warranted. It expressed a desire to have the policy issued by defendant canceled, not at a future day or upon any condition but “ at once ” and the urgency of the demand "made was emphasized by a request that, defendant give “ immediate attention ” to the same. I conclude that the
I pass to the suggestion that the policy was in force notwithstanding the request of plaintiff that the same be canceled by reason of a failure of plaintiff to surrender the policy and the omission of defendant to tender or pay the unearned premium thereon. The clause in the policy set out in the answer provides for a cancellation by the company as well as by the assured. It reads:
‘ ‘ This policy shall be cancelled at any time at the request of the insured; or by the company, by giving five days’ notice of such cancellation. If this policy shall be can-celled as hereinbefore provided, or become void or cease, the premium having been actually paid, the unearned portion shall be returned on surrender of this policy or last renewal, this company retaining the customary short rate; except that when this policy is cancelled by this company by giving notice it shall retain only the pro rata premium.”
As bearing upon the privilege of the assured to cancel the policy it is essential that the statute and the provision of the policy be read together. The statute peremptorily requires a cancellation upon the request of the assured “ notwithstanding anything in the policy to the contrary.” The policy is the standard form policy adopted pursuant to legislative authority intended to make effective the requirements of the statute which had been in force since 1880. To adopt the argument of counsel would require this court to read into the statute and the policy approved by law conditions precedent to a cancellation of the policy by an assured which the legislature in
The policy provides: “ This policy shall be cancelled at any time at the request of the insured: if this policy shall he cancelled as hereinbefore provided (at the request of the insured), the premium having been actually paid, the unearned premium shall be returned on surrender of the policy or last renewal. ” Under the statute and language of the policy upon receipt by defendant of the notice of cancellation by plaintiff, the contract was ipso facto terminated and “ a further continuance of the contract would be in contravention of the statute.” The contract terminated. The premium having been paid thereon, the policy prepared by legislative direction (Section 121, Insurance Law) provides how and when the unearned premium shall be paid, viz., “on surrender of the policy or last renewal.” It does not provide for a surrender of the policy or refund of unearned premium as condition precedent to effect a cancellation, hut recognizes the absolute right of the assured to cancel a policy at any time, and having exercised such right that the assured becomes a creditor of the company for the amount of unearned premium as of the date of cancellation, payable upon surrender of the policy or last renewal.
Certain decisions relied upon by counsel necessitate reference to the clause of the policy relating to the right of an insurer to cancel the same. The provision is: This policy shall be canceled at any time by the company by giving five days’ notice of such cancellation, if this policy shall be cancelled as hereinbefore provided (by giving notice) the premium having been actually paid, it (the company) shall retain only the pro rata premium.
In Nitsch v. American Central Ins. Co. (affirmed without opinion, 83 Hun, 614 ; 152. N. Y. 635) the trial justice held that under a like provision in a policy an insurer could not make the notice of cancellation effective and at the same time retain the whole premium, that
The case of Buckley v. Citizens Insurance Co. of Mo. ( 188 N. Y. 399 , 404), cited in the opinion at Special Term and statements contained in the opinions in the Crown Point and Boutwell cases it is said by counsel are decisive of the right of plaintiff to recover in this action.
An examination of the opinions in the cases cited when interpreted with regard to the subject-matter under consideration by the court demonstrates the fallacy of that argument. In the Buckley case the policy was terminated by the company, not by the assured. Accompanying the notice of cancellation the company requested a return of the policy. Buckley returned the policy and thereafter a loss occurred. The unearned premium not having been paid by the company, Buckley asserted that the policy was in force, brought action thereon and recovered judgment. This court reversed the judgment on the ground that the voluntary and unconditional surrender of the policy was as matter of law a waiver of his right to treat the policy as in force until the company paid or tendered to him the unearned premium, distinguishing the cases of Nitsch v. American Cen. Ins. Co. and Tisdell v. N. H. F. Ins. Co. Notwithstanding the fact that the reversal of the judgment proceeded upon the sole ground of waiver; that the question of the right of the assured to cancel a policy of insurance under the Insurance Law on the policy was not presented upon the appeal before the court, the opinion continued: “It is a question of vital importance to the insurer and the insured as to the precise meaning of the cancellation clause in the standard policy. The situation is not a complicated one and the court desires to so construe the clause that its
Counsel for plaintiff interprets the decision of the BucTcley case as a determination that a surrender of a policy is necessary to effectuate a cancellation of the same. Reference is notmade in the opinion to the provisions of the Insurance Law that an insurer shall upon request of the assured cancel a policy, nor to the construction placed upon the same by this court sixteen years before the decision of the Buckley case in the Crown Point Co. case, where it was held that the request of an assured for a cancellation upon receipt of same by the insurer ipso facto terminated the contract. When occasion demands that a decision solemnly made by this court cannot longer be considered as controlling it is the universal practice not only to indicate that fact in unmistakable language but to point out the reasons why such conclusion has been reached. Had this court intended to adopt a rule of construction adverse to the one so clearly defined in the Crown Point Co. case, precise language to that effect would be found in the opinion. That it was not intended to overrule the earlier construction is evidenced by the fact that in the Boutwell Case ( 193 N. Y. 323 ), decided eighteen months after the decision of the Buckley case, this court in an unanimous opinion referred to the decision of the Crown Point Co. case, quoted at length from the opinion therein upon the interpretation
The principle established in the Crown Point Co. case, approved in the Boutwell case, has been adopted and followed in numerous cases in other jurisdictions (Webb v. Granite S. F. Ins. Co., 164 Mich. 139 ; Hillock v. Traders Ins. Co., 54 Mich. 531 , 539; Colby v. C. R. Ins. Co., 66 Iowa, 577 ; Parsons v. N. W. Nat. Ins. Co., 133 Iowa, 532 ; Davidson v. German Ins. Co., 74 N. J. L. 487 ; El Paso R. Co. v. Hartford F. Ins. Co., 121 Fed. Rep. .937; Skillings v. Royal Ins. Co., 6 Ont. L. Rep. 401) and is still the law in this state.
In each case the companies interposed as an affirmative defense that prior to the fire the plaintiff had surrendered the several policies for cancellation and terminated the insurance. The court held that the policy of the .¿Etna Company, with notice of cancellation, had been received prior to the time of the loss, but that as to the other companies the policies and notice of cancellation were not received until subsequent to the loss.
All that was written in the Crown Point Co. case upon the question of surrender of a policy had reference to the facts appearing in that case where there had been a voluntary surrender of the policy by the assured accompanying the request for cancellation.
In the Boutwell case, to which reference has been made, a binding slip had been issued but no premium paid thereon or on the policy subsequent to the loss. In an action upon the policy, judgment was rendered for defendant, which was affirmed by the Appellate Division but reversed by this court for the reason that the request for cancellation as made carried with it and as a part of it the abandonment by the defendant company of any claim for insurance premiums, and the court held, “To avoid an assent to the conditional proposition it was necessary for the agents to reject it wholly. The rejection of the proposition left the binding slip and the policy issued thereon unaffected and at full force at the time the loss occurred.” (p. 327.)
Additional decisions cited by counsel for plaintiff,
Concurrence
The judgments of the Appellate Division and Special Term should be reversed, and the complaint dismissed, with costs to appellant in all courts.
(concurring). The plaintiff, nine days before the fire occurred, requested the defendant to cancel the policy. The request was in writing, as follows: “ On taking our inventory we find we are carrying more insurance than is necessary. We wish to cancel policy No. 15,997, with the Niagara Fire Insurance Co. of the City of New York for $3,000. This cancellation to take effect at once.” After issue had been joined in the action by the service of the answer each party moved, under section 547 of the Code of Civil Procedure, for judgment on the pleadings. The defendant’s motion was denied and the plaintiff’s granted, and from a judgment entered in favor of the plaintiff for the relief demanded in the complaint an appeal was taken to the Appellate Division, where the judgment was affirmed, and from such affirmance the present appeal is taken.
The sole question presented by the appeal is whether, under the terms of the policy and section 122 of the Insurance Law (Cons. Laws, chap. 28), a request by the insured to have a policy of fire insurance canceled is sufficient to accomplish that purpose without a surrender of the policy. The learned justice sitting at Special Term was of the opinion that the policy having been retained by the plaintiff remained in full force at the time of the fire, notwithstanding the request made prior thereto to cancel, and this was the view entertained by the Appellate Division.
I have been unable to reach such conclusion. To do so necessitates, as it seems to me, not only an utter dis
The request which the insured made to have the policy canceled was so clear and explicit that it could not possibly be misunderstood: “We wish to cancel policy No. 16,997 * * ' *. This cancellation to take effect at once. ” What other words could have been used which would have better expressed an intent that the contract be at once terminated ? Obviously the insured, by reason of the over-insurance, wanted the contract immediately terminated so that it could get back the unearned premium. The intent to cancel was so expressed it could not by any possibility be misunderstood and when received by the insurance company, that moment the policy, ipso facto, became canceled. (Boutwell v. Globe & Rutgers Fire Ins. Co., 193 N. Y. 323 .) There was nothing for the company to do because it had no option in the matter. N o formal cancellation or physical defacement
To the same effect are decisions in other jurisdictions. Thus, in Webb v. Granite State Fire Ins. Co. ( 164 Mich. 139 ) the court said: “ We have no hesitation in holding that the cancellation is complete when the notice provided for by the contract is given and that thereafter the relation of the parties is changed from that of insurer and insured to that of debtor and creditor.” In Parsons v. North Western Nat. Ins. Go. ( 133 Iowa, 532 ): “The insured having so requested, cancellation necessarily followed.” In Skillings v. Royal Ins. Co. (6 Ont. L. Rep. 401): “ The insurance may be terminated by giving written notice to that effect * * *. There is no direction * * * but a written notice must be given to the company or its authorized agent and the giving of that written notice is what constitutes the cancellation.”
The policy is only evidence of the contract and its termination in no way depends upon the surrender or destruction of such evidence. (Hillock v. Traders Ins. Co., 54 Mich. 531 .) The one thing necessary to effect a cancellation is a request made by the insured and received by the insurer. (Davidson v. German Ins. Co., 74 N. J. L. 487 ; Colby v. Cedar Rapids Ins. Co., 66 Iowa, 577 : El Paso R. Co. v. Hartford Fire Ins. Co., 121 Fed. Rep. 937 .)
But the citation of authorities seems unnecessary in view of the explicit language of the policy itself. In the
But it is suggested that this court in Nitsch v. American Central Ins. Co. ( 152 N. Y. 635 ), Tisdell v. New Hampshire Fire Ins. Co. ( 155 N. Y. 163 ), and Buckley v. Citizens Ins. Co. of Mo. ( 188 N. Y. 399 ), held that a surrender of the policy was necessary in order to effect a cancellation. The answer to the suggestion is that in each of those cases attempts were made by the insurance company to cancel. The right of the insured to effect a cancellation was not involved. It is true there are expressions in the opinions, or some of them, which indicate that a cancellation is not
The- foregoing view that the surrender of a policy, where the insured desires a cancellation, is unnecessary, is sustained to some extent, at least, by the following authorities: Walthear v. Pennsylvania Fire Ins. Co. ( 2 App. Div. 328 ); Backus v. Exchange Fire Ins. Co. ( 26 App. Div. 91 ); Schwarzchild & Sulsberger Co. v. Phoenix Ins. Co. of Hartford ( 115 Fed. Rep. 653 ; Id. 124 Fed. Rep. 52 ); Mangrum v. Law Union & Rock Ins. Co. (L. R. A. 1916 F. p. 440 and note); Straker v. Phenix Ins. Co. ( 101 Wis. 413 ); Phoenix Mutual Fire Ins. Co. v. Brecheisen ( 50 Ohio St. 542 ).
I, therefore, concur in the opinion of Judge Hogan that the judgments of the Appellate Division and Special Term should be reversed and judgment directed for the defendant dismissing the complaint, with costs in all courts.
Hiscock, Ch. J., Chase, Pound, Crane and Andrews, JJ., concur with Hogan, J.; McLaughlin, J., reads concurring opinion.
Judgments reversed, etc.
Cases cited
- Crown Point Iron Co. v. Ætna Insurance 127 N. Y. 608 at 614 p. 162, p. 163, p. 164, p. 167, p. 176
- Boutwell v. Globe & Rutgers Fire Insurance 193 N. Y. 323 p. 162, p. 164, p. 167, p. 171, p. 175
- Griffey v. New York Central Insurance 100 N. Y. 417 p. 163
- Van Valkenburgh v. Lenox Fire Insurance 51 N. Y. 465 p. 163
- Partridge v. Milwaukee Mechanics' Insurance 13 App. Div. 519 p. 163
- Hickey v. Hartford Fire Insurance 15 App. Div. 224 p. 163, p. 164
- Buckley v. Citizens' Insurance Co. of Missouri 188 N. Y. 399 at 404 p. 164, p. 170, p. 177
- Tisdell v. New Hampshire Fire Insurance 155 N. Y. 163 p. 164, p. 170, p. 177
- Train v. Holland Purchase Insurance 62 N. Y. 598 p. 164
- Colonial City Traction Co. v. Kingston City Railroad 154 N. Y. 493 at 495 p. 178