Majority
Headnote
It seems that, under the provision of the act of 1880, in relation to insurance companies (§ 3, chap. 110, Laws of 1880), which provides that “any * * * corporation transacting the business of fire * * * insurance in this state shall cancel any polity of insurance hereafter issued or renewed at any time by request of the party insured; ” no discretion or option is left to the company, the sole requirement to set the command in motion being a request by the insured, and this terminates the insur- ■ anee; no formal cancellation or physical defacement of the policy is required.The question presented by these appeals is whether the policies were canceled or terminated before the fire occurred.
The statute regulating the cancellation of fire insurance policies provides that “ any * * * corporation transacting the business of fire * * * insurance in this state shall cancel any policy of insurance hereafter issued or renewed at any time by request of the party insured.” (Laws 1880, ch. 110, § 3.)
The command of the statute is clear, and no discretion or option is left to the company. The sole requirement to set the command in motion is a request by the insured, and after that request is made, the further continuance of the contract would be in contravention of the statute.
Each of the policies in question contains a provision that the “ insurance may be terminated at any time at the request of the assured.” While the method of terminating the insurance upon the motion of the insured is not specified, except that the insured party is to request it, the language of the contract indicates that the subject is within his control and that the terminating act is to be done by him alone, without any concurrent
Ho consent of the insured is essential. Ho meeting of minds is required. Ho act on his part is necessary. The contract through the force of its own provisions, is ended by the action of the insurer only. (Stone v. Franklin Fire Ins. Co., 105 N. Y. 543 .)
Although the language of the parties is at the “ request ” of the assured in the one instance and on “ notice ” to the assured in the other, we think that in both it is within the power of the party desiring to end the contract to do so without either consent or action on the part of the other. When the insured surrenders the policy and requests that it be can-celled, he can do no more. Unless that ends the contract, he is powerless to end it and the company, while able itself to hang on or let go as it wishes, can hold him against his will. An insolvent insurer by refusing'to cancel could prevent the insured from procuring other insurance.
The right of action for the unearned premium would not be complete without the assent of the insurer, and that, in
In Train v. Holland Purchase Ins. Co. ( 62 N. Y. 598 ; S. C., 68 id. 208), it was held that a surrender of a policy by tlie insured and the acceptance of it by the authorized agent of the insurer with the intention on the part of both that it should no longer be a contract, was in effect a cancellation of it. In that case, which arose prior to the passage of the statute, it did not appear on either occasion when it was before this court, as an examination of botli appeal-books shows, that the policy surrendered contained any provision upon the subject of surrender or cancellation. Hence the decision proceeded upon the theory of a new arrangement involving a meeting of minds, but even then nothing was required to be done by the company to terminate the contract. (See also Atlantic Ins. Co. v. Goodall, 35 N. H. 328 , 336; Walters v. St. Joseph Fire & Marine Ins. Co.. 39 Wis. 489 .)
In order to terminate the insurance it was necessary that the “ request ” required by the statute and the contract should be made by one authorized to act in the matter in behalf of the plaintiff to one having adequate authority from the defendants. The act of Heed in surrendering the policies was the act of the plaintiff, because, aside from the authority plainly to be implied from the position he held, he was expressly authorized to surrender some of the policies covering the charcoal, and as he surrendered but part, the act came within the authorization. So the acts of Page and Little in receiving the policies for cancellation, were the acts of the respective defendants whom they represented, as it was conceded on the trial that they “ had authority to accept policies of insurance for cancellation and to terminate insurance at the request of the insured.” As to the ¿Etna policy, therefore, the case stands as if the insured
The order appealed from in the action against that company should, therefore, be affirmed and judgment absolute rendered against the plaintiff in accordance with the stipulation contained in its notice of appeal.
The cases against the other defendants are less clear, and the result reached less satisfactory, because it rests, of necessity, upon an arbitrary presumption, and may or may not be in accordance with justice. What has already been said applies to those cases down to the time that the policies involved therein reached the hands of Page, who, as to those policies, was not the agent of the insurer, but of the insured. When they reached his hands, therefore, his possession was the possession of the plaintiff. He promptly mailed them, however, to Little, who stood in the place of the insurer, so far as the receipt of policies for cancellation was concerned. Page had no power to impose conditions, and, as we read his letter, he assumed none. He followed the language of his instructions by stating that he enclosed the policies “ for cancellation,” giving as the reason that the stock of charcoal was used up.
It is contended by the defendants that the mailing of the policies with a letter stating the object sufficed to cancel them because it was equivalent to the acceptance oí a proposition by mail, and the following cases are cited, among others, in support of the position: Trevor v. Wood ( 36 N. Y. 307 ) : Vassar v. Camp (11 id. 441 ); Mactier v. Frith ( 6 Wend. 103 ), and Brisban v. Boyd (4 Paige, 17). These were cases of contracting wholly by letter or telegram. It was long ago held that if an offer made by mail is accepted by mail, the contract' is complete from the moment the letter of acceptance is mailed, even if it is never received. (Vassar v. Camp, supra.) Those cases have no application here, because no negotiation was pending and no contract was proposed. The plaintiff did not make any offer to the insurance companies that might or might not be accepted. It sought to do an act that would be binding on the companies, whether they were willing or not. That act was a surrender of the policies with the request that they be terminated, and the act could not be complete until the request reached the companies or their agent. The policies and notice might have been sent by a messenger, who would have been the agent of the plaintiff for that purpose. Having been sent by mail, it was none the less the agency of the.plaintiff than if a messenger had been selected. It was necessary for the plaintiff, in order to terminate the policies, to have its notice actually reach the companies, or their representative, and the instrument selected for-that purpose was the agent of the plaintiff, not of the defendant. If the plaintiff lost control of the letter as soon as it was mailed, that fact has no bearing except upon the nature of its relation
Unfortunately - the learned referee did not determine whether the policies reached Little before or after the fire. He was requested by the defendants to find in these words: “ At or about nine o’clock in the evening of July twenty-ninth Mr. Little, while on his way to "his residence, called at the post-office and opened his post-office drawer and found therein the
All concur.
Judgment accordingly.
Cases cited
- People v. Bank of North America 75 N. Y. 547 p. 612
- Rathbun v. Snow 123 N. Y. 343 at 350 p. 612
- Nixon v. Palmer 8 N. Y. 398 p. 612
- Roberts v. Tobias 120 N. Y. 1 p. 612
- Titus v. Glens Falls Insurance 81 N. Y. 410 p. 612
- Train v. Holland Purchase Insurance 62 N. Y. 598 p. 612, p. 613, p. 614, p. 616
- Eliason v. Henshaw 4 Wheat. 225 p. 612
- Harnickell v. New York Life Insurance 111 N. Y. 390 p. 612
- Van Valkenburgh v. Lenox Fire Insurance 51 N. Y. 465 p. 612
- Nelson v. Sun Mutual Insurance 71 N. Y. 453 p. 613
- Loom Co. v. Higgins 105 U. S. 580 p. 613
- Grattan v. Metropolitan Life Insurance 92 N. Y. 274 p. 613
- Woodruff v. Hurson 32 Barb. 557 at 563 p. 613
- Graham v. Graham 111 N. Y. 502 p. 613
- Luby v. Hudson River Railroad 17 N. Y. 131 p. 613
- Von Wien v. Scottish Union & National Insurance 118 N. Y. 94 p. 613
- Stone v. Franklin Fire Insurance Co. of Boston 105 N. Y. 543 at 550 p. 613, p. 615, p. 619
- Vassar v. Camp 11 N. Y. 441 p. 614
- Mactier's Administrators v. Frith 6 Wend. 103 p. 614, p. 618
- Trevor v. Wood 36 N. Y. 307 p. 614, p. 618
- New York Bowery Fire Insurance v. New York Fire Insurance 17 Wend. 359 p. 614
- Griffey v. New York Central Insurance 100 N. Y. 417 p. 615
- Standard Oil Co. v. Triumph Insurance 64 N. Y. 85 p. 620