Majority
Headnote
Subrogation — insurance — summary judgment — action by insurance company to recover amount paid for loss of automobile on ground that insured had subsequently recovered for same loss from railroad company — summary judgment improper where affidavits show claim against railroad was also for personal injuries and damage to other property — right of insurer to recover against railroad not destroyed by release of insured' given for less than full damages with knowledge by railroad that insurer had paid part — insurer must show wrong committed and damages sustained.Upon motion of the plaintiff, summary judgment has been entered in favor of the plaintiff against the defendant Maurice N. Greger, for the recovery of the sum of two thousand dollars which the plaintiff had previously paid to the defendant under a policy of insurance issued by it. Under the terms of the policy, the insurance company agreed to indemnify the defendant Greger against loss by reason of the destruction of an automobile owned by him. On or about April 1st, 1923, the automobile was destroyed in a collision with a train
There is no contention that the insurance policy was not valid or that Greger, the assured, could not have compelled the insurance company to pay him the sum of two thousand dollars which he has received. The right which the insurance company asserts for the return of the moneys so paid is predicated upon the subsequent payment to Greger by the railroad company of a sum of money in satisfaction of a claim for damages caused by the colhsion through which the automobile was destroyed.
When the insurance company paid to the assured the loss for which it had agreed to indemnify him, it, of course, became subrogated to any claim for the same damages which the assured might have against a wrongdoer who has caused the damage. (Ocean Accident & Guarantee Corp. v. Hooker Electrochemical Co., 240 N. Y. 37 .) The receipt, which Greger gave to the insurance company at the time he received the stipulated indemnity from it, expressly recognizes the company’s right of subrogation and contains a formal assignment of all claims against third parties to the extent of the amount of the payment.
In August of the same year Greger began an action against the. New York, Susquehanna and Western Railroad Company for damages caused by the collision in which his automobile was destroyed. The complaint in that action states that as a result of the collision “ the automobile of the plaintiff was destroyed and plaintiff, who was riding therein, was thrown out and his collar bone broken, his arm dislocated at the shoulder and elbow and plaintiff received other severe lacerations about the face, left hand and elbow and other parts of his body.
When the insurance company learned that Greger had begun and thereafter settled an action against the railroad company for damages suffered in the same accident in which the insured automobile was destroyed, it began this action against Greger and the railroad company. In its complaint it alleges that the automobile was destroyed by the negligence of the railroad company and that the railroad company settled the action brought against it by Greger “ after being informed of the fact that Maurice N. Greger was insured against any damages to his auto
If the affidavits filed in support of the plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment showed without dispute that the plaintiff had received from the railroad company full payment of the same damages for which he had been indemnified previously by the insurance company, then doubtless recovery against Greger for the amount paid to him might be sustained, upon the theory that the law will create an implication of a promise to repay an amount paid as indemnity for damages, suffered, when the party who caused such damages has also made good the damages to the injured party. (Darrell v. Tibbitts, 5 Q. B, D. 560.) Indeed if such circumstances exist in the present case, the plaintiff insurance company would not be compelled to resort to the device of a promise implied in law; for Greger’s claim against the railroad company for damages caused by the destruction of his automobile has been transferred to the insurance company to the extent of $2,000, and any payment thereafter made by the railroad company upon the claim which belongs to the insurance company would be held by the insured for the benefit of the insurance company. (Weber v. Morris & Essex Railroad Co., 35 New Jersey Law, 409; Hartford Accident & Indemnity Co. v. Chartrand, 239 N. Y. 36 .) The affidavits in this case do not, however, show that the railroad company has paid to the insured the damages for which he has already received indemnity from the insurance company. Even after the
It is urged that it may be sustained on the ground that by the release to the railroad company the defendant Greger has destroyed the right of action which the insurance company had against the railroad company. The release has certainly not destroyed the right to recover against the railroad company which the insurance company obtained by subrogation when it paid Greger for the loss sustained by the destruction of the automobile, if the railroad company paid less than the full damages caused by its negligence and obtained the release
Even if it should appear that in fact the release was taken by the railroad company without knowledge that the insurance company was subrogated to part of Greger's claim against the railroad company and was intended to cover all the damages suffered by Greger, it would still appear that the insurance company should recover only for the loss it has sustained by that release. If Greger has acted wrongfully and in derogation of the rights of the insurance company he should pay the damages which he has caused. After payment of the insurance money, the insurer became the equitable owner of any right of action of the assured to recover the same damages against the person primarily liable. The courts of some other jurisdictions have held that a release given by the assured to an alleged wrongdoer before payment by an insurance company of the damages caused by the alleged wrongdoer constitutes a defense to an action upon the policy, regardless of whether or not recovery might have been had against the wrongdoer if no release had been given. (Sims v. Mutual Fire Insurance Co., 101 Wis. 586 .) We are not called upon to decide whether in the same circumstances we would reach a like conclusion. Here
Cardozo, Ch. J., Pound, Crane, Andrews, Kellogg and O’Brien, JJ., concur.
Judgment accordingly.
Cases cited
- Ocean Accident & Guarantee Corp. v. Hooker Electrochemical Co. 240 N. Y. 37 p. 163, p. 164
- Murdock & Garratt v. Chenango Co. Mutual Insurance 2 N. Y. 210 p. 163
- Hartford Accident & Indemnity Co. v. Chartrand 239 N. Y. 36 p. 163, p. 166
- Costello v. New York Central & Hudson River Railroad 238 N. Y. 240 p. 167
- Connecticut Fire Insurance v. Erie Railway Co. 73 N. Y. 399 p. 168
- Vooth v. McEachen 181 N. Y. 28 p. 169
- McAleenan v. Massachusetts Bonding & Insurance 232 N. Y. 199 p. 169