Majority
Headnote
Insurance (marine) — contract — warranty — ships and shipping — contract of marine insurance not vitiated by breach of warranty where thereafter subsequent purchaser of vessel is substituted as party insured — vessel unseaworthy which sails without required complement of men — unseaworthiness ceases upon arrival at pier — breach of warranty does not avoid time contract of marine insurance where loss occurs after defect has been corrected —• voyage policy of insurance on cargo — implied warranty that vessel is seaworthy — insurer discharged by breach.The plaintiff in each of these actions is the assignee of the insured under a contract of marine insurance. One action is brought upon a binder covering a hull; the other action is brought upon a certificate covering a cargo. The facts as to each contract must be separately stated.
At the date of this binder, the Traffic was already beached in New London harbor with several feet of water in her hull. She had been arrested on March 9 by a United States revenue cutter and compelled to proceed to New London because of her unseaworthy condition. There she settled and sank. On being hauled to drydock she was partially repaired. Thereupon she received a temporary permit, allowing her to go to New York, where the repairs were to be completed. She was inspected by the underwriters on April 10, and then reported to be sound.
In the meantime the Neptune Trading Company had withdrawn from its bargain and rejected title to the boat. On April 9, 1925, O’Boyle made a new sale to Gurney, the plaintiff’s assignor. This sale was reported to the defendant, which struck from the binder the name of the Neptune Trading Company, and substituted Gurney’s, adding after his name the figures “ 4/9/25,” to indicate the date of change. A completed policy in the
We pass now to the application for insurance on the cargo. This application was made on April 24, 1925, in the name of Anthony O’Boyle, account of whom it might concern. The defendant thereupon issued its certificate of insurance covering a cargo of hardware on board the Traffic, subject to the clauses of the New York Lighterage form, “ at and from New York to Boston.”
The Traffic left New York for Boston on April 29, 1925. Her certificate of inspection, issued by the United States local inspectors under section 4463 of the United States Revised Statutes fixed the complement of the crew in case the vessel was operated not more than thirteen hours out of the twenty-four, and another complement when she was operated longer. In the one case she .was to have one master and pilot, two able seamen, one chief engineer, one fireman, and one person in steward’s and other departments when needed, a total of six men. In the other case, she was to have one master and pilot, one pilot, two able seamen, one chief engineer, one first assistant engineer, two firemen, and one person when needed in steward’s and other departments, a total of nine. The Traffic set out on her voyage with only four men on board, a master, an engineer, a fireman, and a deckhand. She moored for the night at City Island, under orders to pick up a pilot in the morning and two other members of the crew, who were expected to come aboard. During the night the boat took fire, and with its cargo was destroyed.
The defense of breach of warranty set up in each of the two actions makes it necessary to quote some of the provisions of the policies.
The policy on the hull, following the so-called inland form, includes a warranty that the vessel is “ free of capture, seizure, arrest, restraint, pre-emption or detain
It also includes a warranty as to the condition of the vessel: “ Warranted by the insured that the said vessel shall at all times during the continuance of this policy be tight and well found in anchors, cable, rigging, tackle and apparel, as is usual and customary; also in all other things and means necessary and proper for safe navigation according to the usage and custom; that she shall at all times have a competent watchman oii board; and that whenever said vessel shall be at anchor in the nighttime she shall show one or more lights in a conspicuous place so as to warn and give notice to approaching vessels.”
By another provision: “ The watchman’s warranty in this policy is in full force and effect, except that when this vessel is tied up or moored it shall be in charge of a competent watchman, but a breach of this warranty shall void this insurance only as to claims occurring during such breach or arising subsequently as a result of such breach.”
By still another provision: “ Any deviation beyond the limits named in this policy shall void this policy, but upon the return of said vessel within the limits named herein, this policy shall reattach and continue in full force and effect, but never beyond the date hereinbefore set for the termination of this policy, and provided only, no disaster has occurred during said deviation.”
The cargo policy, following the New York lighterage form, omits the special provisions quoted from the policy on the hull, but contains the following warranty as to the condition of the vessel: “ Warranted by the insured that the said lighter or vessel shall at all times during the continuance of this policy be tight, and well found in anchors, cable, rigging, tackle and apparel, as is usual and customary; also properly manned and equipped in
(1) The defendant insists that the arrest of the boat and her unseaworthy condition at the delivery of the binder vitiates the contract for the insurance on the hull though the boat had been released and repaired when Gurney, plaintiff’s assignor, was substituted in the binder as the party insured.
There is no doubt that the boat was under arrest on March 10, 1925, when the binder was delivered. There is none, we think, that at that time she was in an unseaworthy condition, though warranted to be tight and sound. We assume that for breach of these warranties the insurance would never have attached if the binder had not been changed. The binder, however, was changed by the substitution on April 9 of a new party to the contract. We think the warranties of Gurney, the new insured, must be read as of that time. He did not take the risk of past breaches of warranty by former owners of the vessel. He was answerable only for his own. The situation was the same in legal effect as if the company had issued a new binder or had noted upon the old one a waiver of any previous breach of warranty, known or unknown. There is no difference in that regard between policies of marine insurance and policies of insurance against fire. The common practice is, when property is sold, to substitute the name of the' buyer without issuing another policy. Very likely, the insurance company loses something in premiums by this abbreviated form, since the "first policy, if surrendered, would have been canceled at short rates. It gains, however, in convenience, and
(2) The defendant insists that the vessel was unseaworthy at the inception of the voyage in that it sailed without the complement of men exacted by the statute, and that the result was a breach of warranty which forfeits the insurance on the hull and on the cargo.
We think the vessel sailed in an unseaworthy condition
The insurance on the hull was a “ time ” policy, from March 10 or April 9, 1925, to March 10, 1926. The insurance on the cargo was a “ voyage ” policy “ at and from New York to Boston.” The two classes of insurance are governed by different rules. The effect of a deficient crew will be considered as to each.
(a) The English rule has long been that there is no implied warranty of seaworthiness under a time contract of insurance (Arnould, Ins. § 697; cf. Marine Ins. Act, 1906, § 39, subsec. 5). Many cases in the United States support a different holding, though the conflict of authority is such that the question may still be open (Joyce, Ins. vol. 4, § 2153; Richards, Ins. § 184; cf. N. Y. & P. R. S. S. Co. v. Ætna Ins. Co., 204 Fed. Rep. 255 , 258). There is no need to close it now, for in the policy at hand the warranty is express. A warranty of seaworthiness, unless otherwise extended, is satisfied, however, when seaworthiness exists at the inception of the risk (3 Kent Comm. 287; Arnould, Marine Ins. §§ 691, 692). If the insured suffers the vessel to become unseaworthy thereafter, this does not vitiate the policy unless the later condition was due to his neglect or other fault, nor even then unless a causal relation exists between the defect and the loss (Union Ins. Co. v. Smith, 124 U. S. 405 , 427; Am. Ins. Co. v. Ogden, 15 Wend. 532 ; Same v. Same, 20 Wend. 287 ; Paddock v. Franklin Ins. Co., 11 Pick. 227 ; Peters v. Phoenix Ins. Co., 3 Serg. & Rawle, 25 ; 3 Kent Comm. 288; 4 Joyce, Ins. §§ 2174, 2175). His duty in so far as it relates to the future is not in a strict sense a warranty at all, unless he chooses to make it so (Capen v. Washington Ins. Co., 12 Cush. 517 , 540; Dabney v. New Eng. M. Ins. Co., 14 Allen, 300 , 305; Am. Ins. Co. v. Ogden, 20 Wend. 287 , 304; 3 Kent Comm. [12th ed. by O. W. Holmes] p. 288, note; 4 Joyce,
We have said that the warranty of seaworthiness is confined to the inception of the risk unless otherwise extended. The problem is complicated by the fact that an extension was accomplished here. The insured did not limit himself to a warranty of seaworthiness at the beginning of the term. He chose to add a warranty that seaworthiness would continue as long as the policy was in force. In respect of future happenings, he substituted an obligation absolute in terms for the obligation of diligent endeavor laid upon him by the law. We do not need to hold that reasonable construction might not affix some restrictions to the duty thus assumed with all its seeming generality. The question is not here, for example, whether such a covenant would be broken if seamen died at sea so as to reduce the crew below its complement (Paddock v. Ins. Co., 11 Pick. 227 , 233). Certain it is, however, that under a time policy so phrased, the duty must be absolute at the inception of each voyage, or whenever the vessel is at port about to sail anew (Cogswell v. Chubb, 1 App. Div. 93 , 96; affd. on op. below, 157 N. Y. 709 ). The owner chose to warrant, and we must take him at his word.
The question remains whether breach of a promissory warranty that a vessel covered by a time policy shall
We think the intention of the parties must be presumed to be that under a warranty of seaworthiness continuing beyond the inception of the risk and during the whole of
(b) We pass now to the consideration of the voyage policy, insuring the cargo on the lighter “ at and from New York to Boston.” Such a policy differs fundamentally from a time policy in the application of the law of warranties. Irrespective of any express warranty, the law implies a covenant in connection with a voyage policy that the vessel is in seaworthy condition at the
Thus, in DeHahn v. Hartley (1786, 1 T. R. 343; affd., 1787, 2 T. R. 186, n) a vessel was insured on a slaving voyage, “ at and from Africa to her port or ports of discharge in the British West Indies,” and a memorandum was inserted in the margin of the policy that the vessel had “ sailed from Liverpool with fourteen six-pounders, swivels, small arms and fifty hands or upwards copper-sheathed.” ; It appeared that the ship had actually sailed from Liverpool with only forty-six men instead of fifty, but that within twelve hours of leaving Liverpool she had taken on board at Beaumaris six additional hands; and evidence was also given that the ship between Liverpool and Beaumaris was quite as safe with forty-six men as she would have been with fifty. The court unanimously held that the policy was void in toto (Arnould, Marine Ins. § 633). Again in Forshaw v. Chabert (1821, 3 Brod. & B. 158) a policy was effected on a voyage “ at and from Cuba to Liverpool.” The captain having lost some of his outward crew by sickness and desertion at Cuba, and finding it impossible there to engage ten men, his proper complement for Liverpool, sailed from Cuba with only eight men engaged for Liverpool, and two for Montego Bay (Jamaica), where he touched and landed the two men, and whence having procured others to supply their place, he proceeded on his voyage to Liverpool. The court held (inter alia) that the ship was not seaworthy when she sailed from Cuba for a voyage to Liverpool, as she ought then to have had on board a full complement of men engaged for the whole voyage (Arnould, Marine Ins. § 723). Again in Queen Marine Ins. Co. v. Commercial Bank of Canada (1870,
There are suggestions in the books that the doctrine of suspension and revival may be applied even to a voyage policy if the vessel was seaworthy “ at ” the port, though unseaworthy when leaving port at the outset of the voyage (4 Joyce Ins. § 2182; Phillips, Ins. § 734). The weight of authority, however, makes the breach of the implied warranty equally definitive at one stage or the other. The primary purpose of a voyage policy is insurance of the risk during a voyage then in view. Whatever insurance attaches at the home port is incidental and preliminary. There can be little doubt that the reasonable expectations of the insurer are frustrated if the vessel starts on her voyage without suitable equipment. Of course, if the voyage consists of successive stages, the equipment at the outset does not have to be adapted to any stage except the first, though there is a duty in such circumstances when the second stage arrives to add or change as may be necessary (Arnould, Marine Ins. §§ 699, 700, 701; 4 Joyce, Ins. § 2171; Greenock S. S. Co. v. Maritime Ins. Co., 1903, 2 K. B. 657). Here the vessel when it started was unseaworthy for the first stage of the adventure as well as for the others. That being so, the insurance ceased to be effective at the moment of her sailing. In such a situation the express warranty of fitness may be put aside as immaterial. So far as it departs from the implied one by imposing a continuing obligation after the voyage has begun, the consequences of the departure do not have to be considered, for there was a breach at the beginning. So far as the two are coincident, the results must be the same.
The action on the cargo policy is subject also to the defense that proofs of loss were not submitted at the time or in the form prescribed.
The defendant makes the point with reference to both the policies that there was no watchman on the boat at the time of the fire. As to this there was a question of fact, which was answered by the verdict of the jury in favor of the plaintiff.
Our conclusion is that in the action on the policy covering the hull, the judgment should be affirmed, with costs to the respondent; in the action on the policy covering the cargo, the judgment of the Appellate Division and that of the Trial Term should be reversed, and the complaint dismissed, with costs to the appellant in all courts.
Pound, Crane, Andrews, Lehman and O’Brien, JJ., concur; Kellogg, J., not sitting.
Judgment accordingly.
Cases cited
- Van Wickle v. Mechanics & Traders' Insurance 97 N. Y. 350 p. 350
- Wright v. Orient Mutual Insurance 6 Bosw. 269 p. 350
- Walsh v. Washington Marine Insurance 32 N. Y. 427 p. 350
- Leitch v. Atlantic Mutual Insurance 66 N. Y. 100 p. 351
- Claim of Gifford v. T. G. Patterson, Inc. 222 N. Y. 4 p. 351
- Couch v. Farmers' Fire Insurance 64 App. Div. 367 p. 351
- Ripley v. Ætna Insurance 30 N. Y. 136 p. 351
- Gaines v. Fidelity & Casualty Co. 188 N. Y. 411 p. 351
- Steen v. Niagara Fire Insurance 89 N. Y. 315 p. 356
- Benninghoff v. Agricultural Insurance 93 N. Y. 495 at 506 p. 356
- Shearman v. Niagara Fire Insurance 46 N. Y. 526 p. 356
- Hooper v. Hudson River Fire Insurance 17 N. Y. 424 at 426 p. 356
- Silva v. Low 1 Johns. Cas. 184 p. 357
- Brick v. Long Island Railroad 245 N. Y. 222 at 226 p. 357
- Union Insurance v. Smith 124 U. S. 405 at 427 p. 358
- American Insurance v. Ogden & M'Comb 15 Wend. 532 p. 358, p. 361
- American Insurance v. Ogden & McComb 20 Wend. 287 at 304 p. 358, p. 361
- Fernandez v. Great Western Insurance 48 N. Y. 571 p. 360
- Snyder v. Atlantic Mutual Insurance 95 N. Y. 196 p. 360
- M'Lanahan v. Universal Insurance 1 Pet. 170 at 184 p. 360
- Imperial Fire Insurance v. Coos County 151 U. S. 452 at 467 p. 360, p. 361