Majority
Plaintiff, an inexperienced woman, unable to speak English, bought a farm from the defendant, giving back a purchase-money mortgage for $12,000, payable to defendant’s wife. In the mortgage was the usual clause (Real Prop. Law; Cons. Laws, ch. 50, § 254, subd. 4) that the mortgagor would keep the buildings insured against loss by fire for the benefit of the mortgagee. One of the policies expired two years thereafter, and the defendant gave notice to the plaintiff to renew it. She told him that she was unable to insure because she was without the needed money, to which he answered that in that event he would insure the buildings himself. This he promptly did. He took out a policy for $2,000 in the name of the plaintiff as the assured, with a standard mortgage clause appended to protect his wife, the mortgagee. The premium was $60. The defendant sent the plaintiff a bill for that amount. She reimbursed him for the outlay with the next installment of the interest.
The policy, which was kept in the defendant’s custody, was voidable in its inception as between the insurer and the plaintiff. It was voidable because it contained a clause to the effect that the insurer would not be liable if there was any other policy covering the property insured. Such a policy there was, as the defendant well knew. With that knowledge he omitted to disclose the truth to the insurer, and to obtain the waiver or consent that woúld have made the new insurance valid. A year or more thereafter the dwelling was destroyed by fire. The insurer refused to recognize the policy as valid in so far as there was an apparent coverage of the interest of the owner. It made a settlement with the defendant, who was then the holder of the mortgage by succession
The plaintiff brings this action to recover damages from the defendant for his negligence in taking out a policy unavailing to protect her. Negligence there was, or so the triers of the facts might find, and negligence that was actionable if diligence was a duty. The defendant disputes the agency and so denies the duty. In his view he was acting, not as agent for the owner, but solely in his own behalf or in that of his wife, the mortgagee, to give protection to the mortgage lien. The trial judge left the quality of the relation to be determined by the jury as an inference of fact in the light of all the circumstances. A judgment for the plaintiff was reversed by the Appellate Division (two justices dissenting), the majority of the court holding “ that the record presents no evidence on which a finding can be based that defendant was acting as plaintiff’s agent in procuring the insurance ” ( 231 App. Div. 788 ). Upon an appeal by the owner, the case is here.
We think the- record permits the inference that the defendant in procuring the insurance was acting as the plaintiff’s agent, apd was chargeable with a duty of reasonable diligence. The words of his promise may be insufficient to prove an agency if they are extracted from their setting. They wear another aspect in the light of the events that followed. The defendant did not take out a policy confined to his own interest, or to the interest of his wife, who was then the holder of the mortgage (Carpenter v. Providence Washington Ins. Co., 16 Pet. [U. S.] 495; Leyden v. Lawrence, 79 N. J. Eq. 113 ; Vance on Insurance [2d ed], p. 653). The policy that he procured was issued in the name of the plaintiff as the owner, loss payable to the mortgagee to the extent of the mortgage lien. He thus assumed to act as agent for the owner in the procurement of the policy, and the owner ratified his act by reimbursing him for the payment of the premium
A question remains as to the measure of the damage. If the policy had been valid as between the insurer and the owner, the sum of $2,000, due from the insurer, would have been applied by the mortgagee in reduction of the mortgage, or paid over to the mortgagor for the restoration of the building (Real Prop. Law, § 254, subd. 4). The policy, however, was invalid as between the insurer and the owner, though valid by force of the mortgage clause as between insurer and mortgagee (Goldstein v. National Liberty Ins. Co., 256 N. Y. 26 ; Hastings v. Westchester Fire Ins. Co., 73 N. Y. 141 ). In consequence of this, the insurer, upon settling with the mortgagee, became subrogated under a clause of the policy to an interest in the mortgage, and received an assignment of an undivided interest in proportion to the payment (Foster v. Van Reed, 70 N. Y. 19 ). This does not mean, however, that the defendant was at liberty to keep the proceeds of the settlement as his own, and refuse to give the owner the benefit of the sum collected. The law would not permit him to do anything
A point is made that the plaintiff was to blame for the forfeiture of the policy, in that she failed to furnish the insurer with timely proofs of loss. There was thus negligence, it is said, on her part, which neutralized the defendant’s negligence in respect of the form of the insurance. As to this a sufficient answer is that within
The judgment of the Appellate Division should be reversed and that of the Trial Term affirmed with costs in the Appellate Division and in this court.
Crane, Lehman, Kellogg and O’Brien, JJ., concur; Pound and Hubbs, JJ., not sitting.
Judgment accordingly.
Cases cited
- Hathaway v. Orient Insurance 134 N. Y. 409 p. 2
- Excelsior Fire Insurance v. Royal Insurance 55 N. Y. 343 p. 2
- Shortsleeve v. Stebbins 77 App. Div. 588 p. 2
- Peabody v. Satterlee 166 N. Y. 174 p. 3
- Quinlan v. Providence Washington Insurance 133 N. Y. 356 p. 3
- McDowell v. St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance 207 N. Y. 482 p. 3
- Siegel v. Spear & Co. 234 N. Y. 479 p. 5
- Isham v. Post 141 N. Y. 100 at 105, 106 p. 5
- Marks v. Nambil Realty Co. 245 N. Y. 256 p. 5
- Goldstein v. National Liberty Insurance Co. of America 256 N. Y. 26 p. 5
- Hastings v. Westchester Fire Insurance 73 N. Y. 141 p. 5
- Foster v. Van Reed 70 N. Y. 19 p. 5