Majority
The suit is on a life insurance policy. The insurer’s defense is based on what the insurer calls the violation of a condition precedent which violation, according to defendant, produced a situation where," although a policy was issued, no insurance thereunder ever took effect. On December 13, 1939, Louis C. Katz applied to defendant for a $5,000 policy of insurance on his life. In the application form which was furnished to him by defendant and which he signed, there appeared this language: “It is mutually agreed as follows: 1. That the insurance hereby applied for shall * * * go into force * * * only if the applicant has not consulted or been treated by any physician or practitioner since his medical examination * * It is conceded that the applicant Katz did, without defendant’s knowledge, consult his own physician after he had undergone a medical examination conducted by a physician nominated by the insurer. The company’s medical examination was had on December 15, 1939, and the company issued the policy to Mr. Katz on January 17, 1940. His visits to his own physician (really two physicians acting together) were on January 15 and 16, 1940. His own physician, called as a witness by defendant, gave evidence that the tests made on those dates and other information then obtained, disclosed that the applicant Katz was suffering from a duodenal ulcer. The witness stated that the symptoms of such an ulcer will, “ generally speaking,” be completely relieved after four to six weeks of a dietetic regime, combined with complete or partial rest. Defendant’s assistant medical director, who had never seen applicant Katz but who had approved the issuance of the policy on the basis of information made available to the company, was another witness. He was asked whether a duodenal ulcer was serious; plaintiff objected to the question but the Trial Justice announced that he would take judicial notice that it was a serious condition; the witness then answered the question in the affirmative, saying that “ it may be considered so.” This physician was prevented, on plaintiff’s objection, from stating what action defendant would have taken, had it known of the ulcer. There was no other testimony as to the insured’s state of health except that of his wife who told of her husband’s active life and apparent vigor and freedom from illness about the time of the issuance of the policy.
Appellant urges the applicability to her case of sections 142 and 150 of the Insurance Law, as revised in 1939. (L. 1939, ch.-, 882.) As to section 142, we see in the dealings between the
Nor do we see that section 150 of the statute serves appellant’s cause in any way. That section uses the term “ warranty ” to cover an insurance contract provision which has the effect of requiring, as a condition precedent of the taking effect of the insurance contract, the existence of a fact which tends to diminish, or the nonexistence of a fact which tends to increase, the risk of the occurrence of any loss within the policy’s coverage. Section 150 then lays down the rule that no breach of such a “ warranty ” shall avoid the insurance contract “ unless such breach materially increased the risk of loss, damage or injury within the coverage of the contract * * Appellant says that under section 150 there must now be shown a “ de facto increase in the risk.” But the only showing here is that the applicant’s visits to his physicians disclosed the existence of an intestinal ulcer, and that an intestinal ulcer is a serious condition. Apparently in section 150 the Legislature was seeing to it that a policy of insurance will not be avoided by proof of an immaterial “ breach of warranty.” Arguments and decisions as to the legal effect of nondisclosure of trivial ailments, or consultations with physicians relative to such ailments, do not furnish the answer to this case. We will leave to future litigations the question of the effect, under the application form here used, of a nondisclosed visit by the applicant after he has filed his application, to a physician, for treatment of an illness which is obviously trivial or which may be so considered. In the present case we have the covenant in the application, the undisclosed consultations, and the unquestioned fact that the condition found was not trivial. Defendant, not
Dissent
The judgment should be affirmed, with costs.
(dissenting). On December 13,1939, Louis C. Katz made a written application to defendant for a policy of insurance which contained a provision that “ The insurance hereby applied for shall not go into force unless * * * and then only if the applicant has not consulted or been treated by any physician or practitioner since his medical examination.” His medical examination, made by defendant’s physician, a report of which was made a part of the application, occurred on December 15,1939. The medical board of defendant approved the application on December 19, 1939. On the strength of the application, the report of the medical examiner and the approval of the application by the medical board, Katz was found to be an insurable risk, the application was approved by defendant’s underwriters on January 16, 1940, and the policy was issued and delivered to Katz on January 17, 1940, at which time the required premium was paid in full.
Katz, feeling indisposed, consulted physicians on January 15 and 16, 1940, and they advised him he had a duodenal ulcer. Undisputed evidence was presented from which the conclusion was permissible that such an ulcer would ordinarily disappear in short order, that he indicated no ill or disabling effects from that condition at any time and that the indisposition concerning which he consulted the physicians together with the discovered condition was trivial and not material to the insurability of the applicant. Katz died on June 8, 1940, and it is conceded that the cause of his death was coronary sclerosis, a disease entirely unrelated to and not affected or produced by the duodenal ulcer or any indisposition for which he had consulted the physicians or which they discovered on his examination.
The sole defense relied upon by defendant in this suit by the representatives of Katz to recover on the policy was the failure of Katz to advise it of his consultation with the physicians between the date of the application and the delivery of
By the decision in the Geer case, handed down March 9,1937, this court formulated and laid down the rule upon antecedent authority that any untrue representation, however innocent, either by affirmation of an untruth or suppression of the truth, where the insured had previous notice that specified information was required by the insurance company before it would issue its policy, was, as matter of law, either immaterial or material to the risk according to the facts. Notoriously, to overcome the legal effect of that and previous decisions, the Legislature enacted sections 149 and 150 of chapter 882 of the Laws of 1939. By subdivision 2 of section 149, it is provided that “No misrepresentation shall avoid any contract of insurance or defeat recovery thereunder unless such misrepresentation was material. No misrepresentation shall be deemed material unless knowledge by the insurer of the facts misrepresented would have led to a refusal by the insurer to make such contract.” Section 150, subdivisions 1 and 2, so far as material read: “ 1. The term ‘ warranty ’ as used in this section, means any provision of an insurance contract which has the effect of requiring, as a condition precedent of the taking effect of such contract or as a condition precedent of the insurer’s liability thereunder, the existence of a fact which tends to diminish, or the non-existence of a fact which tends to increase, the risk of the occurrence of any loss, damage, or injury within the coverage of the contract. * * * 2. No
The purpose of the Legislature is not open to debate. The language used is clear and unambiguous.' There is no field open for construction on the question under consideration. Whether a false representation or suppression of a fact for which information is requested by the insurer as a condition antecedent to the completion of a contract of insurance tends to diminish or increase the risk of loss and is material to the risk or whether a breach of warranty, if one such exists, materially increases the risk of loss are no longer questions of law for the court but are now questions of fact which must be determined as such under rules applicable to other cases where questions of fact arise. Unless the misrepresentation or suppression of a fact or breach of warranty, if any such occurs, by the insured is found, as a fact, to be material to the risk, recovery on the contract may no longer be avoided. In no case may it now be held that recovery on a policy of life insurance may. be avoided by a mere false representation or misrepresentation of a fact or by the suppression of a fact called for in an application for an insurance policy, without more, whether it becomes by statutory definition a part of the ultimate contract or a “ warranty ” or not. No court has the right nor will it be presumed to undertake by any process of reasoning to nullify a mandate of the Legislature so clear and unequivocal for the sake of salvaging some previous decision that may be on the books. It cannot be urged that the policy never came into being. Defendant seeks to have the contract which it made upon sufficient consideration declared void for the suppression of a material fact by the insured.
In this case the question of the materiality of the suppression of the fact that insured had visited physicians between the date of the application and the date of the delivery of the policy was sharply litigated. The evidence in the record was open for different inferences and conclusions by reasonable minds. Appellant is not foreclosed by practice in the lower courts from urging her exceptions here. The questions of fact raised on the record upon material and decisive questions should have been determined as such under applicable rules.
Lehman, Ch. J., Lotjghran, Conway and Thacher, JJ., concur with Desmond, J.; Rippey, J., dissents in opinion in which Lewis, J., concurs.
Judgment affirmed.
Cases cited
- Chinery v. Metropolitan Life Insurance 112 Misc. 107 p. 46
- Sternaman v. Metropolitan Life Insurance 170 N. Y. 13 p. 46
- Archer v. Equitable Life Assurance Society of the United States 218 N. Y. 18 p. 46
- Bollard v. New York Life Insurance 98 Misc. 286 p. 46, p. 48
- Lampke v. Metropolitan Life Insurance 279 N. Y. 157 p. 46, p. 47
- Eastern District Piece Dye Works, Inc. v. Travelers Insurance 234 N. Y. 441 p. 46, p. 47
- Minsker v. John Hancock Mutual Life Insurance 254 N. Y. 333 p. 46
- Bible v. John Hancock Mutual Life Insurance 256 N. Y. 458 p. 46
- Davern v. American Mutual Liability Insurance 241 N. Y. 318 p. 46
- Silverstein v. Metropolitan Life Insurance 254 N. Y. 81 p. 47
- Geer v. Union Mutual Life Insurance 273 N. Y. 261 p. 47, p. 50, p. 53
- Smith v. Travelers Insurance 76 Misc. 441 p. 47
- Dilleber v. Home Life Insurance 69 N. Y. 256 p. 47
- Cushman v. United States Life Insurance 70 N. Y. 72 p. 47
- Frigidaire Sales Corp. v. Marks 285 U. S. 544 p. 47
- Travelers Insurance v. Pomerantz 246 N. Y. 63 p. 47
- Mansbacher v. Prudential Insurance Co. of America 273 N. Y. 140 p. 47
- Sommer v. Guardian Life Insurance Co. of America 281 N. Y. 508 p. 47
- Sebring v. Fidelity-Phenix Fire Insurance 255 N. Y. 382 p. 47
- Mallory v. Travelers' Insurance 47 N. Y. 52 p. 47
- New York Life Insurance v. Watkin 256 N. Y. 618 p. 47, p. 50
- Polachek v. New York Life Insurance 147 Misc. 16 at 240 p. 47
- Polachek v. New York Life Insurance 151 Misc. 172 at 243 p. 47, p. 50
- Goldman v. New York Life Insurance 152 Misc. 289 p. 47, p. 50
- Piedmont & Arlington Life-Insurance v. Ewing 92 U. S. 377 p. 48
- Drilling v. New York Life Insurance 234 N. Y. 234 p. 48, p. 50
- Provancha v. Prudential Insurance Co. of America 235 N. Y. 582 p. 48
- Stipcich v. Metropolitan Life Insurance 277 U. S. 311 p. 48, p. 50
- Bollard v. New York Life Insurance 228 N. Y. 521 p. 48
- Metzger v. Ætna Insurance 227 N. Y. 411 p. 48
- Jenkins v. John Hancock Mutual Life Insurance 257 N. Y. 289 p. 48