Majority
Plaintiff Tillie Wellisch is the widow, and the other two plaintiffs are the surviving children, of Morris Wellisch. The suit is brought to recover benefits promised to them in a life insurance policy on the life of Morris Wellisch, issued by defendant insurance company, of which company the insured was an employee during his life. The answer asserts that the insured died by suicide and points to a policy provision which says, “ if the insured shall die within two years from the date of issue of this policy by self-destruction while sane or insane, the amount payable herein shall be limited to the premiums paid hereon.” The insured died within two years from the issuance of that policy and the company has tendered to plaintiffs an amount equal to the premiums paid on the policy during the life of the insured. At the end of the trial defendant moved for a directed verdict in its favor on the ground that it had produced “ sufficient evidence to overcome a presumption against suicide ”. The motion was denied and the jury found for plaintiffs. The Appellate Division affirmed the judgment,
On the afternoon of May 11, 1942, the insured was found in a comatose condition sitting in his automobile which had left the highway and crashed into a tree. The road was dry and the weather clear. He was taken to a hospital and died a few days later. Medical experts ascribed his death to barbitrate poisoning, drawing that conclusion from the discovery in his body after his death of a drug known as seconal, and from other indications. Seconal is one of the group of drugs known as barbitrates. When taken in small doses it has an anaesthetic or sedative effect. In larger doses it brings on unconsciousness which sometimes terminates in death. It is prescribed and administered by physicians. The actual quantity of seconal found in the body of insured was less than a grain but the proof shows that the drug is largely absorbed or assimilated by the body or excreted therefrom. Detection of the small amount of seconal in the organs, after the death of insured, was said to be an indication that a large quantity had been taken. There was, however, no definite proof in the record as to just how large that quantity was. One of the experts said that the maximum dose which could be taken without fatal effect’ was from 10 to 50 grains. The insured suffered from headaches and, according to some of the witnesses, had been in the habit of taking seconal capsules to relieve his suffering. These he customarily borrowed from an aunt of his wife who lived with the insured and his family. The aunt herself, took seconal capsules for some purpose and had a doctor’s prescription for them. Earlier on the day on which the insured was found in his car, he had gotten six or eight capsules from the aunt and had told her that he would have her prescription filled at a nearby pharmacy. The pharmacist testified that the prescription was refilled at the request of the insured and that the insured took away with him
Defendant insists that this evidence as to the seconal capsules, plus the other proof which we are about to describe, conclusively proved suicide. The insured, who was a solicitor of life insurance business and a collector of premiums for defendant, came home about noon, as was his custom, on May 11,1942. He complained of a headache, was in a nervous and irritable mood and did not finish his noonday meal. Later he became annoyed by some activities of his children and slapped one of the children with the result that the child fell, broke a glass which he was carrying, and was cut. Some commotion followed and the aunt of the insured’s wife thought it appropriate to call the police, which she did. The wife testified that when the police arrived they were told' by the insured that it had been a mistake to call them and that the whole difficulty had been ironed out. One of the police officers testified that Mrs. Wellisch told the police that she and her husband had been having trouble, that she' wanted her husband arrested and that she was going to get judgment in an action for separation which, according to the police, she stated she then had pending. The police officers admonished the couple not tó call the police again but to take their troubles to court, whereupon, according to the officer, the insured said: “ Well, you won’t come back, she won’t be bothered with me any more ”. This remark is pointed to by defendant as a statement of Wellisch’s intent to kill himself. Before that incident insured had announced to his family that he was going on a fishing trip that day but they, according to Mrs. Wellisch, had dissuaded him from it, because of his headache. After the police had left, again according to Mrs. Wellisch, she and her aunt told the husband that since he was so upset it would be well if he would go out for awhile. Mrs. Wellisch testified that her husband then got together his fishing equipment, fishing clothes, lunch and a jug of water and that she helped her husband put those things into his car. He drove away, ostensibly
The Trial Justice charged the jury that plaintiffs were “ entitled to recover on due proof of the death of the deceased, unless you find from the evidence that defendant has established to your satisfaction by a fair preponderance of the evidence that Morris Wellisoh committed suicide or self destruction.” He called to the jury’s attention that there is a presumption against suicide but told them that the presumption might be overcome “ not only by verbal testimony but by reasonable deductions from the facts as you find them to be established.” Before they might find a verdict in favor of defendant, said the Justice, they ‘ ‘ must be satisfied that deceased came to his death by self destruction or suicide, and that regardless whether he was sane or insane.” Finally he told them that, since this was an action on a life insurance policy and not on an accident insurance policy (see Ostrander v. Travelers Ins. Co., 265 N. Y. 467 ), there was no burden on plaintiffs to show that the death came about through accidental, rather than suicidal, means.
We add a comment on the “ presumption against suicide ” about Avhich much is said in these briefs. That presumption is not one of those that takes the place of evidence so as to create a question of fact even when all the real proof is the other way. (N. Y. Life Ins. Co. v. Gamer, 303 U. S. 161 , 171.) Nor is it the sort of “ presumption ” that serves only to shift the burden of proof and disappears from the case as soon as evidence to the contrary is offered. (See People ex rel. Wallington Apartments v. Miller, 288. N. Y. 31.) It is really a rule or guide for the jury in coming to a conclusion on the evidence. Suicide ‘ ‘ is contrary to the general conduct of mankind ” (Mallory v. The Travelers’ Ins. Co., 47 N. Y. 52 , 54-55) and the presumption against it is one of. the ‘ ‘ judicial recognitions of what is probable ” (Thayer, Preliminary Treatise on Evidence, p. 334; see 9 Wigmore on Evidence [3rd ed.] § 2570). Juries are authorized to take heed of the truth. draAvn from general human experience, that death by suicide is an improbability, that most men cling to life. The “ presumption against suicide ” means that when death by violence is shoAvn and an inference must be draAvn by the jury as to suicide or not, then the jury should in justice and good conscience draAV the inference of accident, not suicide. This presumption is one aspect of the broader rule that where evidence is susceptible of two constructions, the construction Avhich does not imply criminality or moral turpitude is to be
Defendant’s motion to dismiss on the ground that plaintiffs had failed to comply with the policy provision requiring that due proof of death be furnished to the-company “ on the company’s prescribed forms ”, was properly denied.
The judgment should be affirmed, with costs.
Lehman, Ch. J., Loughban, Rippey, Lewis, Conway and. Thacheb, JJ., concur.
Judgment affirmed.
Cases cited
- Gogorza v. Knickerbocker Life Insurance 65 N. Y. 232 p. 179, p. 185
- Fanti v. Travelers Insurance 290 N. Y. 782 p. 179
- White v. Prudential Insurance Co. of America 105 N. Y. S. 87 p. 179
- Seybold v. Supreme Tent of Knights of Maccabees of World 86 App. Div. 195 p. 179
- Giaimo v. Metropolitan Life Insurance 132 Misc. 487 p. 179
- Mcquade v. Prudential Insurance of America 166 Misc. 524 p. 179
- Shipman v. Protected Home Circle 174 N. Y. 398 p. 180
- Fowler v. Mutual Life Insurance 4 Lans. 202 p. 180
- Martorella v. Prudential Insurance Co. of America 268 N. Y. 586 p. 180, p. 185
- McCaffry v. Metropolitan Life Insurance 172 Misc. 252 at 261 p. 180
- McCaffry v. Metropolitan Life Insurance 287 N. Y. 704 p. 180
- Strang v. Prudential Insurance Co. of America 263 N. Y. 71 p. 180
- Buffalo Loan, Trust & Safe Deposit Co. v. Knights Templar & Masonic Mutual Aid Ass'n 126 N. Y. 450 p. 180
- Mansbacher v. Prudential Insurance Co. of America 273 N. Y. 140 p. 180
- New York Life Insurance v. Gamer 303 U. S. 161 at 171 p. 184
- Mallory v. Travelers' Insurance 47 N. Y. 52 at 54-55 p. 184
- Berkey v. Third Avenue Railway Co. 244 N. Y. 84 at 92 p. 185