Majority
We are to determine whether, in the circumstances disclosed by this record, an award to the claimant-respondent may be made against the Fund for Beopened Cases created by section 25-a of the Workmen’s Compensation Law.
The relief which the claimant seeks has been denied by a decision of the State Industrial Board, which was reversed at the Appellate Division ( 257 App. Div. 37 , 266 App. Div. 931 ; and
The record discloses that in an industrial accident suffered by the claimant on December 12, 1923, he sustained injuries which were classified as constituting temporary total disability and led to a succession of awards against his employer ahd the insurance carrier. More than eight years later, on March 24, 1932, after the claimant had' been paid awards which totaled $3,500,— the maximum compensation allowable for temporary total disability (L. 1922, ch. 615, § 15, subd. 2) —the case was marked “ closed' ” by the Industrial Commissioner. Thereafter, on July 13, 1933, the claimant applied to the Industrial Board to reopen his case- and to reclassify his condition as permanent partial disability. The case was reopened on October 11, 1933, and awards were made thereafter against the employer and insurance carrier based upon findings of permanent partial disability during the period from July 12, 1932 to May 2, 1936, and permanent total disability from May 2,1936 to February 26,1937.
The controversy now before us arises from the fact that when the claimant’s case was reopened in 1933 and when awards were made thereafter his employer had long since withdrawn from business and the insurance carrier was in the process of liquidation because of insolvency. The result df these latter circumstances was that awards which had been made to the claimant after January 9, 1932, were not paid. The last compensation award actually paid to him was on January 9, 1932, for disability during the period from November 11, 1925, to April 20,. 1927. Meanwhile, however, since its reopening on October 11, 1933, the claimant’s case was continued “ open ” and has so remained.
When the claimant found that he would be unable to collect from his employer and from its insolvent insurance carrier the awards made to him since January 9, 1932, he applied to the Industrial Board in 1937 for an order directing that his case, which remained “ open,” should be closed and then reopened — his submission being that such procedure under section 25-a of the Workmen’s Compensation Law would create in his favor an obligation by the Fund for Reopened Cases to pay the awards which had proved to be otherwise uncollectible.
If upon the claimant’s application his case is ordered closed, we find no provision in the Workmen’s Compensation Law which authorizes the Industrial Board to grant the further relief sought by the claimant, viz., an immediate reopening of his case to enable him to take advantage of section 25-a. As we read that statute its provisions, when applied to the facts of record before us, do not avail the claimant. Insofar as material here the statute (prior to amendment by L. 1940, eh. 686) provided: “ § 25-a. Notwithstanding other provisions of this chapter, when an application for compensation is made by an employee or for death benefits in behalf of the dependents of a deceased employee, and the employer has secured the payment of compensation in accordance with section fifty of this chapter, (1) after a lapse of seven years from the date of the injury or death and claim for compensation previously has been disallowed or claim has been otherwise disposed of without an award of compensation, or (2) after a lapse of seven years
By the statute quoted in part above the Legislature has authorized the creation of the Fund for Reopened Cases and has formulated conditions which limit the liability of that fund. In the present case it appears that more than seven years had elapsed between the date of claimant’s injury (December 12, 1923) and the date when he applied to reopen his case (July 13, 1933) —thus qualifying the claimant’s application within that portion of the statutory condition quoted above in italics which required a lapse of at least seven years between those dates. We conclude, however, that proof is lacking of compliance with the remaining statutory condition or limitation upon which liability of the Fund for Reopened Cases may be predicated. The statutory limitation of three years had not elapsed between the date (January 9, 1932) when the last payment of compensation was made to the claimant and the date (July 13, 1933) when he made his present application.
The order which we now review was based upon a construction of the statutory limitation with which we are not in accord. The Appellate Division ruled that — “The [statutory] phrase ‘ three years from the date of the last payment of compensation ’ is not to be taken literally. It should receive a reasonable, liberal and practical construction. As thus construed it means three years from the date when compensation should have been paid.” ( 257 App. Div. 37 , 39.) (Emphasis supplied.)
We agree that the language chosen by the Legislature to define the condition by which it limited liability of the Fund for Reopened.Cases “ should receive a reasonable, liberal and
The order of the Appellate Division should be reversed and that of the State Industrial Board affirmed, without costs.
Lehman, Ch. J., Loughban, Conway, Desmond and Thacheb, JJ., concur; Rippey, J., taking no part.
Ordered accordingly.
Cases cited
- Harrison v. Northern Trust Co. 317 U. S. 476 p. 224
- United States v. Monia 317 U. S. 424 p. 224
- Foster-Fountain Packing Co. v. Haydel 278 U. S. 1 p. 224
- Beals v. Home Insurance 36 N. Y. 522 p. 224
- Root v. Kelley 39 Misc. 530 p. 224
- Dennett v. Goelet 143 Misc. 195 p. 224
- In re the Estate of Harkavy 178 Misc. 507 p. 224
- Claim of Cretella v. New York Dock Co. 289 N. Y. 254 p. 225
- Claim of Tipton v. Lang's Bakery, Inc. 275 N. Y. 572 p. 225
- Flynn v. Prudential Insurance Co. of America 207 N. Y. 315 p. 225
- Bell v. Mayor of New York 105 N. Y. 139 p. 225
- United States v. Anderson 194 U. S. 394 p. 225
- Heath v. Ross 12 Johns. 140 p. 225
- Judd v. Seekins 62 N. Y. 266 p. 225
- Claim of Kiriloff v. A. G. W. Wet Wash Laundry, Inc. 282 N. Y. 466 p. 226
- Claim of Ryan v. American Bridge Co. 268 N. Y. 502 p. 227