Majority
In October, 1939, defendant insurance company issued a public liability policy insuring plaintiff’s business operations for one year, from October, 1939, to October, 1940. The policy dealt with the insurance company’s duty to pay all sums for which the insured might become liable as well as with its duty to defend suits brought against the insured. As to the first, the company agreed to discharge all obligations incurred by the insured, as damages, to third persons who sustained bodily injuries as the result of an accident “ caused by reason of the [insured’s] general business operations * * *
which shall have occurred before the completion of the actual course of the operations performed by the insured at the place of occurrence of such accident.” As to the duty to defend, the company agreed to * ‘ defend in the name of and on behalf of the insured any suit against the insured alleging such injury and seeking damages on account thereof, even if such suit is groundless, false or fraudulent ”.
Early in 1940, plaintiff entered into a contract to perform plumbing repair work at certain premises in Brooklyn; he completed most of the work in March of that year. Many months later, in December, 1940, a tenant brought suit against plaintiff, claiming that “on or about ” April 13, 1940, she had been caused “ to trip and fall over a dangerous accumulation of debris and plaster,” left on the stairway of the premises by plaintiff and his employees. The injuries were said to be serious, and damages of $25,000 were sought. It was explicitly asserted — on information and belief — that on the day of the accident, April 13, 1940, “ and prior thereto, the defendant [plaintiff herein], his agents, servants and employees were engaged in the performance of the aforementioned work ” at the premises in question and that such work “ was not completed ” until after April 13th.
The negligence action went to trial, and terminated in favor of the present plaintiff. At that trial, plaintiff avers in his affidavit, “ one of the issues which was litigated was the fact as to when my employees and myself had completed the work in connection with the stairway upon which [the tenant] claimed that she fell.” Conflicting evidence was adduced, the tenant testifying that work had continued until April 12th, the present plaintiff, that the work had been completed “ a considerable time before that ”.
Shortly afterward, plaintiff brought this action for $3,000, the sum, he alleged, he “ was obliged to expend * * * for counsel fees, professional services and for disbursements in connection with the aforementioned [personal injury] action ”. Defendant’s answer was, in effect, a general denial.
By motion and cross motion, both parties asked for summary judgment under rule 113 of the Rules of Civil Practice.
In two orders, 'the court at Special Term denied plaintiff’s motion and granted defendant’s cross motion, dismissing the complaint and entering judgment for defendant. The Appellate Division, two justices dissenting, affirmed both orders.
, Ascribing to the terms of the policy, as we must, a natural and reasonable meaning (see, e. g., Burr v. Commercial Travelers
The complaint in the negligence action contained the precise allegations necessary under the policy, to compel the insurer to defend; it asserted that the accident occurred on protected premises during the time when specifically covered operations of the insured were still in progress] The tenant had sought to hold the insured liable to her upon the theory that he was still at work on the job when she was injured — precisely the sort of liability covered by the policy. Whether or no the insurance company would have been under a duty to pay had the tenant prevailed in the negligence suit need not now concern us (see Bloom-Rosenblum-Kline Co. v. Union Indemnity Co., 121 Ohio St. 220 , 222), for it is crystal clear that — irrespective of this duty — the company had obligated itself to defend if a suit were brought against its insured “alleging such injury and seeking damages on account thereof.” Similarly irrelevant is the question whether it was essential to the tenant’s case to have alleged that the injury occurred while the insured — the contractor — was still engaged in performing the work on the premises. (Cf. Campbell v. Sutliff, 193 Wis. 370 , and Korzon v. McCabe, 114 Conn. 725 , with Coleman v. Guidone & Son, Inc., 192 App. Div. 120 , and Ford v. Sturgis, 14 F. 2d 253 .) For, regardless of whether the assertion that the contractor was still engaged upon his job when the accident occurred was an operative allegation between pleader and insured in a negligence suit, it was explicitly rendered operative between insurer and insured by the policy of insurance.
In short, the policy protects the insured not only against injuries for which there is unquestioned liability, but also against law suits on their face within the compass of the risk against which insurance was taken, no matter how groundless, false or baseless those suits may be. It follows, therefore, that defendant’s refusal to defend the negligence suit was a breach of its covenant for which plaintiff may recover the expenses incurred by him in defending that action. (Grand Union Stores, Inc., v. General Accident, Fire & Life Assur. Corp., 251 App. Div. 810 , affg. 163 Misc. 451 ; Physical Culture Hotel v. Travelers Ins. Co., 270 App. Div. 1070 .)
' The courts below should have granted plaintiff’s motion for ¡summary judgment and denied defendant’s motion for that
Lottghran, Ch. J., Lewis, Conway, Desmond, Thacheb and Dye, JJ., concur.
Judgment accordingly.
Cases cited
- Summer & Co. v. Phœnix Indemnity Co. 177 Misc. 887 p. 150, p. 154
- Grand Union Co. v. General Accident, Fire & Life Assurance Corp. 279 N. Y. 638 p. 150, p. 154
- Floralbell Amusement Corp. v. Standard Surety & Casualty Co. 170 Misc. 1003 p. 150, p. 154
- Longwell Lumber & Building Co. v. Maryland Casualty Co. 144 Misc. 595 p. 150, p. 151
- Gerka v. Fidelity & Casualty Co. 251 N. Y. 51 p. 150
- Grand Union Stores, Inc. v. General Accident, Fire & Life Assurance Corp. 163 Misc. 451 p. 150, p. 154
- Preston v. Ætna Insurance 193 N. Y. 142 p. 150
- Auerbach v. Maryland Casualty Co. 236 N. Y. 247 p. 150
- Berger Bros. Electric Motors, Inc. v. New Amsterdam Casualty Co. 293 N. Y. 523 p. 151
- Burr v. Commercial Travelers Mutual Accident Ass'n of America 295 N. Y. 294 at 301 p. 153
- McGrail v. Equitable Life Assurance Society of the United States 292 N. Y. 419 at 424, at 426 p. 153, p. 154
- Lewis v. Ocean Accident & Guarantee Corp. 224 N. Y. 18 at 21 p. 153