Majority
Headnote
A policy of fire insurance upon a building was issued by defendant, loss if any payable to a mortgagee named. The policy contained a condition avoiding it in case of “ increase of hazard ” by the erection of neighboring buildings, hut in a “ mortgage clause ” it was declared that the interest of the mortgagee would not be invalidated by any act or neglect of the mortgagor. The mortgagee, however, was required to notify the company of-any increase of hazard which shall come to his knowledge. The policy provided for a renewal, but declared that “ in case there shall have been any increase of hazard it must be made known to the companyThe original policy, dated January 14, 1881, insured the firm of C. F. Dielmann & Co. against loss or damage by fire “ on their brick building occupied for planing and wood-working purposes, situate Nos. 547 to 555 West Twenty-first street,” in the city of New York, for one year from January 19, 1881, in the sum of $1,000, “ loss, if any, payable to W. C. Herrick, mortgagee,” and contained a special clause known as the “ mortgage clause.” Among the conditions in the policy was one making it void in case of “ increase of hazard ” by the erection of neighboring buildings. During the life of the original policy (as was assumed on the trial, and as the evidence established) Dielmann & Co. erected on the premises, at a distance of about seven feet from the main-building, a drying-house constructed of wood, one story high, intended for the drying of lumber and in which they placed a large amount of lumber, using therein steam introduced by pipes connecting with a boiler in the main building. Mr. Hamlin, an insurance broker, who acted as agent for Dielmann & Co. and also for Herrick, the mortgagee, in procuring the original policy and in making the alleged renewal agreement, testified that “ a frame building is more hazardous than a brick building; the close proximity of a frame building to a brick building ordinarily increases the hazard of a brick building.” Upon this testimony, which was undisputed, and the uncontroverted facts as to the construction, location and use of the drying-house, the court was fully justified in assuming that there had been an increase of hazard. It is self-evident, and a contrary finding by a jury could not stand. It follows that if the fire had occurred during the running of the original policy, Dielmann & Co. could not have maintained an action. The increase of hazard would have been a conclusive answer to their suit on the policy. But Herrick, the mortgagee, would have stood in a different position. By the express terms of the mortgage clause, his interest in the policy
The fire occurred February 11,1882, after the expiration of the original policy, and the plaintiff, who stands in the right of Herrick, the mortgagee, rests his action upon the claim that the policy was renewed and continued for the period of a year from January 19, 1882, by a valid, oral agreement made at that date between Herrick’s agent, Hamlin, and the defendant. It was not denied on the trial that there was an oral negotiation between Hamlin and the defendant, to continue the policy, but the latter insisted that it did not result in a final and definite agreement, and also that the premium on the renewal was not paid, payment "of which by the clause providing for a renewal is made a condition precedent to any liability for an extended term. It is unnecessary to pass upon these questions, as we have reached the conclusion that the complaint was properly dismissed on the ground that Hamlin did not, when the alleged agreement was made, disclose to the company the fact that the drying-house had been erected on the premises.
■ The renewal clause in the original, policy contains this provision : “ This insurance may be renewed by the payment of premium for extended term, duly receipted for, but in case there shall have been any increase of hazard, it must be made known to the company by the assured at the time of renewal, otherwise this policy shall be void.” The mortgage clause also provides that the mortgagee shall notify the company of any increase of hazard which shall come to his knowledge, and if not permitted by the policy, shall pay therefor according to the established rates. The increase of hazard by the erection of the drying-house was known to the broker when the alleged renewal agreement was made. This was conclusively established by his testimony. Upon the well-settled doctrine of agency his knowledge is imputable to his principal, and Herrick, the mortgagee, was affected with notice of the fact known to his agent, and a failure by the agent to disclose to the underwriter the increase of hazard put the principal in the same
It is, however, strenuously insisted by the learned counsel for the plaintiff, that there was no proof to justify the assumption made by the trial judge in assigning his reasons for dismissing the complaint, that Hamlin did not at the time of the alleged renewal disclose to the company the fact of the increase of risk, and that the burden of proving such non-disclosure was upon the defendant. The presumption of law is in favor of innocence and against fraud, and upon this ground it has been held that in an action upon a policy of insurance the plaintiff is not bound in the first instance to prove the truth of representations upon which the policy was issued and which formed the basis of the contract, but that the burden of proof is upon the underwriter to establish fraud or concealment, although the truth of the representations, or the disclosure of material facts, may have been a condition precedent to the insurer’s liability. - (Fiske v. New England Marine Ins. Co., 15 Pick. 310 ; Leete v. Gresham Life Ins. Society, 15 Jur. 1161; 2 Greenl. Ev., § 398.) Assuming that the present case is within the principle, we are of opinion that the evidence tended to show that the increase of hazard was not disclosed, and that the plaintiff acquiesced in the assumption of this fact made
The conclusion upon the point considered being decisive of the appeal, a discussion of other questions is unnecessary.
The judgment should be affirmed.
All concur.
Judgment affirmed.
Cases cited
- Angell v. Hartford Fire Insurance 59 N. Y. 171 p. 37
- Insurance Co. v. Colt 20 Wall. 560 p. 37, p. 38
- Kelly v. Commonwealth Insurance of Pennsylvania 10 Bosw. 82 p. 37, p. 38
- Trustees of the First Baptist Church v. Brooklyn Fire Insurance 19 N. Y. 305 p. 37
- Lightbody v. North American Insurance 23 Wend. 18 p. 38
- Whitaker v. Farmers' Union Insurance 29 Barb. 312 p. 38
- Bodine v. Exchange Fire Insurance 51 N. Y. 117 p. 38
- Hoffman v. Ætna Fire Insurance 32 N. Y. 405 p. 38
- Wilson v. Genesee Mutual Insurance 16 Barb. 511 p. 38
- Hine v. Woolworth 93 N. Y. 75 p. 38
- Rohrbach v. Germania Fire Insurance 62 N. Y. 47 p. 38
- Hastings v. Westchester Fire Insurance 73 N. Y. 141 p. 38, p. 41
- Jones v. Brooklyn Life Insurance 61 N. Y. 79 p. 38
- Parker v. Arctic Fire Insurance 59 N. Y. 1 p. 39
- Williams v. People's Fire Insurance 57 N. Y. 274 p. 39
- Scott v. Morgan 94 N. Y. 508 p. 39
- Graham v. Fireman's Insurance 87 N. Y. 69 p. 39, p. 42
- Wyman v. Wyman 26 N. Y. 253 p. 39
- Ward v. Warren 82 N. Y. 265 p. 39
- Lasher v. St. Joseph Fire & Marine Insurance 86 N. Y. 423 p. 39
- Reeder v. Sayre 70 N. Y. 180 p. 40