Majority
The appeal requires us to determine the rights of a trustee and the trust remaindermen as against an insurer, under a life insurance policy assigned to the trustee by the insured. More particularly, the issue concerns the effect of the insurer’s purported but concededly void rescission of the policy, without notice to the assignee, and the omission of the insurer, in apparent reliance upon its ineffective rescission, to give notice to the assignee of premiums subsequently becoming due. The issue was decided in this accounting proceeding brought by the trustee in the Surrogate’s Court and the decree entered in favor of the trustee was reversed upon appeal. We have concluded that the order of the Appellate Division should be reversed and the decree of the Surrogate’s Court reinstated. The facts were stipulated and will here be outlined.
The testatrix died on October 2, 1957. By her will she created a trust, to consist of her residuary estate, the net income from which was to be payable to her son, Bruce Wilcox Preston, and the corpus to be transferred to him should he survive for 10 years after testatrix’s death. Should he die within that period, the corpus was to be distributed to other designated remainder-
On May 16, 1961 respondent Equitable issued to Preston a policy of insurance upon his life in the amount of $20,000. On July 26, 1961 an instrument executed by Preston and assigning the policy to Preston and Schrauth, as executors and trustees under the will, was transmitted to Equitable. By letter of August 9, 1961, Equitable acknowledged receipt of the assignment as effective “to vest title in and to the policy in said assignees as executors and trustees ”, and it is conceded that such was indeed the effect. The policy was returned to Schrauth and it remained in his sole possession.
At some time prior to the assignment, Schrauth had discovered that Preston had embezzled trust funds to an amount in excess of $16,000[1] ; and it is clear that the purpose of the assignment was to secure the repayment of the defalcation should Preston fail to survive the remaining term of the trust, which then had some six years and two months to run. The possibility of Preston’s survival and the consequent offset of his debt dissipated upon his death on December 20,1966.
"Upon issuance of the policy now questioned, Preston paid the first quarter-annual premium. The second premium, due August 1, 1961, was paid by his check, which Schrauth transmitted to Equitable with the policy assignment. This was the last premium paid.
On August 18, 1961, Equitable served upon Preston alone a notice of rescission, asserting that his policy application contained material misrepresentations and that the first premium was not paid during his good health. Equitable tendered back the premiums paid but Preston declined the tender. Subsequently, however, Preston acquiesced in the rescission and on December 28, 1961 was refunded the two premiums paid. Although knowing that it had, on August 9, 1961, returned the policy to the assignee Schrauth, Equitable excused Preston’s failure to surrender it on the strength of an affidavit in which Preston falsely stated that the policy had been lost or stolen from his automobile. Schrauth continued to hold the policy
1 As a result of his embezzlements, Preston was removed as executor and trustee, pursuant to a decision of the Surrogate’s Court rendered May 7, 1962.
It is conceded that the purported rescission was ineffective and void and, further, that at no time did Equitable give Schrauth any notice of premiums due (Insurance Law, § 151).
Appellant trustee’s claim under the policy was tried in the course of this accounting proceeding and was resisted by Equitable on the basis of the asserted rescission. Finding the attempted rescission void, the 'Surrogate held for the trustee. Upon reargument had at its instance, Equitable advanced, for the first time, the contention that the policy had lapsed for nonpayment of premiums. Upon the reargument, the court adhered to its original decision, in substance; but, upon appeal, the Appellate Division reversed, holding that, whether or not there had been an effective rescission, the policy had lapsed for failure to pay premiums. The weight of authority, however, is to the contrary.
Correctly noting that since forfeiture for nonpayment of premiums is not favored in law and will not be enforced, absent a clear intention to claim that right, a leading text writer finds that “ acts and conduct which are insufficient to constitute a technical estoppel against such a forfeiture, may be sufficient to effect a waiver ’ ’ and that ‘ ‘ the right to forfeit a policy is waived where the insurer’s act or omission caused the insured justly to believe and to act on the belief that the contract was continued in force.” (15 Appleman, Insurance Law and Practice,- § 8403, p. 220.) Thus, the author notes that “ an accident insurer denying liability for death benefits on the ground of cancellation could not, after the commencement of an action on the policy, interpose the defense that the policy terminated for nonpayment of premiums ” (15 Appleman, op. cit., § 8411, p. 238, citing Moore v. Washington Nat. Ins. Co., 135 Neb. 29 ). Similarly, in Anagnost v. Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. ( 205 S. C. 465 ) it was held that the. cancellation of a policy, even if wrongful, is tantamount to a refusal to accept a premium even if tendered and thus there is a waiver of any claim of policy lapse. From these statements of general principles we turn to the decisions below.
As an additional basis for its denial of relief, the Appellate Division found Schrauth guilty of neglect, in at least some
Thus, in Stilwell v. Mutual Life Ins. Co. ( 72 N. Y. 385 ), the insured, upon being taxed with misrepresentations in his application, surrendered a policy without notice to the beneficiary-owner, and the court set aside the surrender and cancellation, as made without authority, and denied effect to the insurer’s refund of the premium paid. Even more closely in point is the decision in Whitehead v. New York Life Ins. Co. ( 102 N. Y. 143 ). There, too, a purported rescission was void as made without notice to the beneficiaries-owners; and there, too, the insurer, following the death of the insured, asserted a forfeiture for nonpayment of annual premiums accrued subsequent to the attempted rescission; but “ [n]o notices were sent either to the insured or to the children, and the company by the wrongful possession and cancellation of the policies, and by their agreement of surrender, did an act, the tendency and purpose of which was to prevent future payment by the parties interested ” and, as the court continued, the company could not “depend upon a default to which its own wrongful act contributed, and but for which a lapse might not have occurred ” (p. 156). The court below distinguished Dulberg v. Equitable Life Assur. Soc. ( 277 N. Y. 17 ) as involving an attempted forfeiture for nonpayment of premium, but there the company was found at fault for unduly delaying presentation of the insured’s check issued in payment until after expiration of the grace period and the court reiterated the principle that is controlling here, stating (p. 24): “ It is a familiar principle that ‘ he who pre
In sum, then, Schrauth was entitled to notice of rescission, and, the rescission being void, to notice of premiums due upon the subsisting policy, but he received neither. Equitable would discount this dual breach of obligation by futile conjecture as to what Schrauth could or would have done had he been given the notice to which he was entitled. The simple fact is that he was not afforded the opportunity to do anything.
The order appealed from should be reversed, with costs, and the decree of the Surrogate’s Court reinstated.
Chief Judge Fuld and Judges Burke, Scileppi, Bergan, Breitel and Jasen concur.
Order reversed, etc.
Cases cited
- Stilwell v. Mutual Life Insurance 72 N. Y. 385 p. 364, p. 366, p. 370
- Whitehead v. New York Life Insurance 102 N. Y. 143 at 156 p. 365, p. 366, p. 370, p. 371
- Apter v. Home Life Insurance 266 N. Y. 333 p. 365, p. 366
- Metropolitan Life Insurance v. Conway 252 N. Y. 449 p. 365, p. 366
- Columbian National Life Insurance v. Hirsch 267 N. Y. 605 p. 365
- Strauss v. Union Central Life Insurance 170 N. Y. 349 p. 365, p. 366
- Dulberg v. Equitable Life Assurance Society of the United States 277 N. Y. 17 p. 365, p. 366, p. 370
- Adam v. Manhattan Life Insurance 204 N. Y. 357 p. 365, p. 366
- Bergholm v. Peoria Life Ins. 284 U. S. 489 p. 365
- Klein v. Insurance Co. 104 U. S. 88 p. 365
- New York Life Insurance v. Statham 93 U. S. 24 p. 365
- Ruckenstein v. Metropolitan Life Insurance 263 N. Y. 204 p. 365, p. 371
- Brown v. Travelers Insurance 159 Misc. 694 p. 365
- Kaplan v. Equitable Life Assurance Society 177 Misc. 792 p. 365
- Oneida National Bank & Trust Co. v. Conte 32 Misc 2d 368 p. 365
- Herman v. Associated Hospital Service 20 N Y 2d 784 p. 365
- Williams v. Hayes 20 N. Y. 58 p. 366
- Wright v. Reusens 133 N. Y. 298 p. 366
- Curry v. Mackenzie 239 N. Y. 267 p. 366
- Grauer v. Equitable Life Assurance Society of United States 167 Misc. 30 p. 366
- In re the Accounting of Schrauth 32 A D 2d 110 at 114-115 p. 369
- Homer v. Guardian Mutual Life Insurance 67 N. Y. 478 at 481 p. 371
- Knickerbocker Life Insurance v. Pendleton 112 U. S. 696 p. 371
- Smith v. Miller 43 N. Y. 171 p. 371
- Smith v. Miller 52 N. Y. 545 p. 371