Majority
The defendant issued its policy of health and accident insurance to one Joseph Dulberg on November 25,1921, for a term of twelve months, renewable each year until the insured should reach the age of sixty years for successive terms of twelve months each upon payment by the insured of a premium of $147.80 in advance on each anniversary date of the policy or within thirty-one days thereafter. The insured died on June 9, 1935, at the age of forty-eight years, as the result of an accident suffered on June 4, 1935, between which dates he was totally disabled and hospitalized. Dora Dulberg, wife of the insured, was named as beneficiary in the policy in the event of accidental death. This suit is to recover the amount for which the insured was covered by the policy for death caused by accident plus disability allowance less the amount of two unpaid premiums which became due, respectively, on November 25, 1933, and November 25, 1934. Defendant asserts non-liability and resists payment on the ground that the policy was not in force at the time of the occurrence of the accident and had lapsed and was canceled for non-payment of the premium which came due on November 25,1933. Plaintiff recovered in the trial court. The Appellate Division reversed upon the law only and dismissed the complaint. Thus the findings of fact made by the trial court were not disturbed by the Appellate Division, and are conclusive upon this court if there was gny evidence, con
The insured had paid every premium promptly when due until November, 1933, and the policy was concédedly in force until midnight of December 26th of that year. To effect a renewal of the policy the insured prepared a check, on December 21, 1933, for $147.80, the amount of the premium due, on the Manufacturers Trust Company, 481 Eighth avenue, New York city, payable to the order of the defendant. The check was signed by Anna Dulberg and Dora Dulberg, respectively the daughter and wife of the insured. At the request of the insured, an envelope was addressed to the defendant at its offices, 393 Eighth avenue, New York city. The premium notice and the check were inclosed in the envelope. Properly sealed and stamped, it was deposited in a mail box at Avenue A and East Fifth street, Brooklyn, New York, near the home of the insured, at eight o’clock Thursday evening, December 21, 1933. Having been mailed in the same city where it was to be delivered, there is a presumption that it was delivered to defendant on the following day. (News Syndicate Co. v. Gatti P. S. Corp., 256 N. Y. 211 .)
The defendant collected its mail ten times each day at the post office in New York city, the first collection being at eight o’clock each morning. Its office was located on one side of the Pennsylvania Railroad Station while the post office was located directly back of the station. As checks were received in its mails they were numbered serially, commencing with No. 1. On December 22, 1933, defendant received 1,235 checks in the mails. According to the usual routine in defendant’s office, all checks received up to four p. m. on any day were deposited on the day received with the Chase National Bank, Pennsylvania Branch. The check in question was received by defendant and numbered “ 69,” indicating that it was received in the first mail of whatever day it was received.
The check was not deposited by defendant at its bank until Tuesday, December 26th, and was not cleared and presented to the Manufacturers Trust Company for payment until December 27th. It was returned by the trust company to the Chase National Bank on December 27th unpaid with a slip attached marked “ uncollected funds,” and by the latter bank to defendant on December 28th. Defendant thereupon returned the check by mail to the assured with a notice that the policy had lapsed for non-payment of premium. The dishonored check and notice reached the assured on December 29th. On that day he tendered to defendant a certified check for the amount of the premium drawn on the Manufacturers Trust Company and signed by Dora and Anna Dulberg. Defendant refused to accept the certified check, and on January 5, 1934, wrote the insured that it refused to reinstate the policy and that it must remain lapsed.
It was conceded that funds were available for payment of the check in the account of Dora and Anna Dulberg in the Manufacturers Trust Company at all times between December 21st and two p. M. on December 26th, 1933. There was also uncontradicted testimony from which the jury were authorized to find that, had the check been deposited by defendant in the Chase National Bank, Pennsylvania Branch, for collection on December 22d it would have been presented in usual course for payment at the Manufacturers Trust Company in the early morning clearances on December 23d. Had it been put
Under all the circumstances in this case we think that the insurance company was required to exercise reasonable diligence in presenting the check for collection. Especially is this so where it knew that the time element was of such importance. It issued and mailed to Dulberg a receipt for the payment of the premium dated prior to the expiration of the time within which the premium might be paid. It is true that the receipt provided that payment would not be deemed complete unless cash was received. Nevertheless, the defendant knew at the time the check was received, and so indicated upon its records, the last date on which the premium could be paid to avoid the lapse. It is true that the premium for which the check was delivered to the defendant was not an obligation of the assured to defendant, and its collection could not be enforced. (Goodwin v. Mass. Mutual Life Ins. Co., 73 N. Y. 480 .)
The requirement of reasonable diligence in the presentment of the check after its receipt was held by the trial court to be applicable. The trial court submitted to the jury the question, “ Did the defendant, after receipt of the check, act with reasonable diligence under all of the circumstances in placing the check in process for collection? ” and, upon the jury answering the question in the negative, directed a general verdict for the plaintiff. In a case where the facts are all ascertained and not in dispute, the question of what is due diligence in presenting the check for collection is one of law, but where the facts are unsettled and the testimony is conflicting, the question may be a mixed one of law and fact which the jury must decide under proper instructions of the court as to the law. . (Cf. Commercial Nat. Bank v. Zimmerman, 185 N. Y. 210 , 217.) Here the facts were not all ascer
The judgment of the Appellate Division should be reversed and that of the Trial Term affirmed, with costs in this court and in the Appellate Division.
Crane, Ch. J., Lehman, O’Brien, Hubbs, Loughran and Finch, JJ., concur.
Judgment accordingly.
Cases cited
- Lannon v. Lynch 160 N. Y. 483 p. 19
- Smith v. Syracuse Improvement Co. 161 N. Y. 484 p. 19, p. 25
- Murray v. Smith 224 N. Y. 40 at 45 p. 19, p. 25
- Baker v. Ancient Order of Hibernians 224 N. Y. 363 p. 19
- Borckmann v. Terry Construction Co. 216 N. Y. 139 p. 19
- Melcher v. Ocean Accident & Guarantee Corp. 226 N. Y. 51 p. 19
- Ehrenworth v. Stuhmer & Co. 229 N. Y. 210 p. 19
- Hoykendorf v. Bradley Contracting Co. 227 N. Y. 204 p. 19
- Knickerbocker Life Insurance v. Pendleton 112 U. S. 696 p. 19, p. 24
- First National Bank v. Fourth National Bank 77 N. Y. 320 p. 19, p. 24
- Carroll v. Sweet 128 N. Y. 19 p. 19
- Smith v. Miller 43 N. Y. 171 p. 19
- Whitehead v. New York Life Insurance 102 N. Y. 143 at 156 p. 19, p. 24
- Homer v. Guardian Mutual Life Insurance 67 N. Y. 478 at 481 p. 19, p. 24
- Leslie v. Knickerbocker Life Insurance 63 N. Y. 27 p. 19
- Shaw v. Republic Life Insurance 69 N. Y. 286 p. 19
- Meyer v. Knickerbocker Life Insurance 73 N. Y. 516 p. 19
- Goodwin v. Massachusetts Mutual Life Insurance 73 N. Y. 480 p. 19, p. 23
- Rio v. Prudential Insurance Co. of America 269 N. Y. 135 p. 19
- Syracuse, Binghamton & New York Railroad v. Collins 57 N. Y. 641 p. 19
- Schriver v. Village of Johnstown 148 N. Y. 758 p. 19
- Healy v. Gilman 1 Bosw. 235 p. 20
- Commercial Bank v. Hughes 17 Wend. 94 p. 20
- Murray v. Judah 6 Cow. 484 p. 20
- Trusts & Guarantee Co. v. Barnhardt 270 N. Y. 350 p. 20
- News Syndicate Co. v. Gatti Paper Stock Corp. 256 N. Y. 211 p. 20, p. 21
- Burkhalter v. Second National Bank 42 N. Y. 538 p. 24
- Smith v. Miller 52 N. Y. 545 p. 24
- Commercial National Bank v. Zimmerman 185 N. Y. 210 at 217 p. 24
- In re the Revocation of the Probate of the Last Will & Testament of Keefe 164 N. Y. 352 at 354 p. 25