Majority
Headnote
1. Insurance (§ 451[2] ) — Accident Insurance — Construction oe Policy — “Sunstroke”—“Accident”—“Accidental Means.”[1] On February 1, 1910, defendant issued and delivered to plaintiff its policy of accident insurance. By the payment of annual premiums subsequently accruing, the policy was in full force on July 11, 1911. Upon that date, which was an exceedingly hot day, after being exposed to the sun’s rays in the necessary conduct of his business, for an unusual number of hours, plaintiff suffered a physical experience which the jury have found, upon sufficient evidence, was a “sunstroke.” The policy in question insured the person named therein “against bodily injury * * through accidental means (excluding suicide, sane or insane, or any attempt thereat, sane or insane), and resulting directly, independently and exclusively of all other causes” in total disability, partial disability, or death. Among the “general provisions” of the policy is one to the effect that the term “bodily injury” is defined in the insuring clause, and as so defined shall be understood wherever used in the policy. Turning to the insuring clause, we find, among others:
“Article 6. Any one of the following, namely,—sunstroke, freezing, hydrophobia, asphyxiation-—suffered through accidental means (excluding suicide, sane or insane, or any attempt thereat, sane or insane), shall be deemed a bodily injury within the meaning of this policy.”
Appellant contends that the sunstroke experienced by plaintiff was not suffered “through accidental means,” that an injury occurring as the direct result of intentional acts is not thus produced, and that as
“an event which takes place without one’s foresight or expectation, and which proceeds from an unknown cause, or an unusual effect of a known cause not within the expectation of the person injured.” Richards on Insurance Law, 3d Ed., § 385.
“Accidental means are those which produce effects which are not their natural and probable consequences.” Cooley’s Briefs on the Law of Insurance, 3156.
“Means” as here used is synonymous with “cause,” and, appearing in a policy of insurance in connection with the adjective “accidental,” is used—
“in its ordinary, popular sense, as meaning ‘happening by chance; • unexpectedly taking place; not according to the usual course of things; or not as expected.’ * * * If a result is such as follows from ordinary means, voluntarily employed, in a not unusual or unexpected way, it cannot be called a result effected by accidental means; but * * * if, as in the act which precedes the injury, something unforeseen, unexpected, unusual, occurs which produces the injury, then the injury has resulted through accidental means.” U. S. Mut. Accident Ass’n v. Barry, 131 U. S. 100 , 121, 9 Sup. Ct. 755 , 762 ( 33 L. Ed. 60 ).
Technically, sunstroke is rather a disease than an accident. As was said by Cockburn, Chief Justice, sunstroke is “an inflammatory disease of the brain, brought on by exposure to the too intense heat of the sun’s rays.” Sinclair v. The Maritime Passengers’ Assurance Co., supra. Sunstroke is a term “applied to the effects produced upon the central nervous system, and through it upon other organs of the body, by exposure to the sun or to overheated air.” Encyclopedia Britannica, title Sunstroke. • The evidence in this case also warrants the
In the policy now under consideration, however, in its defining clause, sunstroke is included within the definition of “bodily injury,” and because this is an accident as distinguished from a life policy, it might be urged with considerable force that every sunstroke is within the meaning of the policy an accidental bodily injury. While it may be conceded that sunstroke, freezing, and hydrophobia are diseases rather than accidents, the popular idea is not so, and as a concession to this view, to save all question as to liability therefor, these, together with asphyxiation, are specifically named as conditions as to which the policy holds good. Herdic v. Maryland Casualty Co. (C. C.) 146 Fed. 396 , affirmed 149 Fed. 198 , 79 C. C. A. 156 .
“Accident insurance companies do business mostly with the common people, and the term ‘accident’ as used in these policies should be construed most strongly against the companies, and be defined according to the ordinary and usual understanding of its signification.” Young v. Railway Mail Ass’n, 126 Mo. App. 325 , 103 S. W. 557 .
[2] The exact language of the clause in question is above quoted. The language taken in its entirety is inapt." If both of the qualifying clauses relate not only to asphyxiation, which they immediately follow, but to sunstroke, freezing, and hydrophobia as well, it is not easy to contemplate hydrophobia as being a method adopted by a would-be suicide. One might, it is true, expose himself to a dog bite, but that is not the language of the policy, and if he' did so, it by no means follows that hydrophobia would result therefrom. The punctuation would limit the qualifying clause, “suffered through accidental means” to asphyxiation only, and so limited we can conceive of a person suffering asphyxiation intentionally or accidentally. We can think also of a person exposing himself to great heat or to extreme cold, but that he deliberately intended thereby in the one case to bring about the disease known as sunstroke, and in the other case the physical condition known as freezing, it is not easy to conclude. If there must be
We think, therefore, that upon the evidence in this case the learned trial court would have been justified in leaving to the jury as the only question of fact in the case the question whether plaintiff did suffer a sunstroke. The fact that it was also left to the jury to say whether he suffered a sunstroke “within the meaning of this article 6 of the policy,” which had just been read in their hearing, in view of their verdict, presents no ground of error. In this view of the case the exceptions taken to the charge require no consideration.
The judgment and order should be affirmed, with costs. All concur.
Cases cited
- Appel v. Ætna Life Ins. 86 App. Div. 83 at 83 p. 1018
- United States Mutual Accident Ass'n v. Barry 131 U. S. 100 at 121, 9 p. 1018
- Schumacher v. Great Eastern Casualty & Indemnity Co. 197 N. Y. 58 at 90 p. 1020
- Paul v. Travelers' Insurance 112 N. Y. 472 p. 1020