Majority
Headnote
1. New Trial—Questions not Presented on First Trial.Upon this motion the defendant raises but one question, although that is raised in several different ways. The | point made by it is that certain statements made by the insured, which will be more particularly referred to hereafter, were warranties, and that, as some of them were not true, there should have been a verdict for the defendant, instead of for the plaintiff. It is very doubtful whether the question sought to be presented was raised upon the trial. At the close of the testimony the defendant moved for the direction of a verdict upon the ground that Dr. Henckell had attended the deceased during the month of February, 1892, as a physician; that on the 4th of March, 1892, the deceased made false answers to certain questions, which were stated; that those statements, being false by him, were material to the company and to their information at the time, and, being falsely represented to the company, the contract did not bind the company thereafter. Also upon the ground that: “Subsequent to the issuing of the policy and entering into this contract with' the company, the deceased was attended by a physician throughout the year. Since the making of the contract he had been attended by Dr. Henckell through the summer. That the application for the reinstatement amounts to a representation that the conditions are the same as when first issued.” Also that no cause of action is made out upon the proofs. It will be noticed that this does not raise the question that the statements referred to were warranties, but asks the court to hold that there shall be a nonsuit for the reason that the statements were false and were material, and for that reason did not bind the company. It was not suggested by the counsel in that motion that the statements made were or could be called warranties. As a matter of fact that particular part of the policy which is now relied upon as making them warranties was not referred to, and the attention of the court was not called to it. It is said by the counsel upon this motion that it was not necessary to call the attention of the court to that part of the policy which raises the material question in this case, because it is claimed to constitute a warranty. This claim, if seriously made, cannot for an instant be sustained. It is the duty of the counsel, not only to present to the court all the points upon which they rely, but to
But if the defendant were in á position to raise the question, I am quite clear that he is entirely wrong in his construction of this contract, and that the statements which are sought to be incorporated into this policy were not incorporated into it by the contract between the parties, and therefore they are not warranties, but only representations. The form of the contract is quite remarkable. The policy, upon its face, does not incorporate the application into it, nor does it say that the application is a part of the policy. It contains, however, the following clause: That the Commercial Alliance Life Insurance Company, in consideration of, etc., does hereby promise to pay a certain sum to Caroline L. Boehm, or such other person as the insured may from time to'time designate, with the written consent of the company, “upon the provisions, conditions, and agreements on the back hereof, which are made a part of this contract.” Turning now to the ' provisions, conditions, and agreements referred to, we find under the head of “Incontestability” this provision: “Any other breach of warranty or untrue or incomplete statement made in the application for this policy, will render this contract null and void,” etc. Under the head of “Payment of Premiums” we find this provision: “The contract of insurance is contained only in this policy and the application therefor (which is part héreof), taken together.” It will be noticed in these provisions that the thing which is a part of the policy is the application, and that any breach of warranty or incomplete or untrue statement which will render
There is no doubt about the rule that no statement made to-an insurance company as the basis of a contract of insurance can be regarded as a warranty unless the paper in which it is made is by necessary inference made a part of the contract. Insurance Co. v. Cotheal, 7 Wend. 72 ; Owens v. Insurance Co., 56 N. Y. 565 . It was held in that case that, unless the paper in which the statements were made was referred to and adopted as a part of the contract, such statements did not become warranties, but were simply representations. It is also thoroughly settled that all the provisions-of a policy of insurance which are sought to be relied upon to produce a forfeiture are to be construed strictly against the company-This rule is so thoroughly settled that no citation of authority is necessary to establish it. It is founded upon a wise policy, because the insurance companies make their own contracts. They insert in them just what provisions and conditions they see fit, and for that reason it is assumed that they have made their contracts as strongly in their own favor as it is possible for them to do. As is said by Judge Beckham: In these cases a strict construction must be insisted upon, and the contract resulting in-a forfeiture cannot be extended beyond the strict and literal meaning of the words used. In cases where the meaning is not entirely plain, and where it is capable of two constructions, one involving a forfeiture and the other being fair and reasonable and supporting the obligation of the policy against the insurer, that construction is preferred by the courts which does not involve the forfeiture,, not only because it is not so harsh, but also because, if the language
The first thing to be noticed in this case is that the application is not made a part of the policy by anything contained in the policy itself, strictly speaking. It only can be said to be incorporated in the policy as part of it by holding that because the provisions, conditions, and agreements on the back of it are made a part of the policy, the things which in those conditions, provisions, and agreements are made a part of the policy are equally incorporated in it as if it had been done by express words on the face of the policy itself. In other words, if the insured wished to learn what constituted his policy, he cannot do so by reading the policy, but he must go to the conditions and provisions on the back of it, and from them he must go to another paper which is referred to in those conditions. When a company has made its policy in that 'way, it is not too hard a construction of such a policy to apply the rule which Judge Peckham applied in the case above cited, and confine it to the strict and natural meaning of the words used. After running down the several references, we find that the thing which is made a part of this policy is the application; and not only that, but we find that the contract is contained only in the policy and application, and that those two papers contain the whole of it. So we are brought to inquire, what is the application? We find that the company itself has stated what the application is. . It has presented to the insured a paper which it has named the application. It has required him to sign and date it, .and it has made him state in it that the entire contract is contained in the policy and in “this application.” It is quite true that it has .also required him to answer certain questions, but there is nothing in the application which incorporates those answers into it, .and at the bottom of those very questions we find that the company has referred to the application as another paper, and not included as a part of the declarations which they have caused to be made. It is quite clear to my mind that the only paper which can be said to be referred to in this policy is that which the company itself has called the application, which is signed by the insured, and which it has made him agree shall be part of the contract. To hold that, when it has expressly made one paper a part of the contract, it shall be permitted to incorporate into that paper a set of answers and questions not referred to in it, some of which are material, and some of which are not, would be to perpetrate a great fraud upon any person who made an application for insurance. These questions which are sought to be put into the application are required to be written by the medical examiner. There are nearly 40 different answers, some of which are necessarily not within the personal knowledge of the applicant, many of which,
The questions, the false answers of which are relied upon as a defense, are as follows: “Have you ever been seriously ill?” to which the answer is, “Ho.” “Hame and residence of your usual medical attendant,” to which the answer was, “Has none.” “Have you consulted any other physician? If so, when, and for what?” to which the answer was, “Ho.” These statements were made on the 4th day of March, 1892. It appeared by the testimony, and was not disputed, that at four different times before the 4th of March the insured was at the office of Dr. Henckell, who examined him, and prescribed for him. These four dates were on the 4th of February, 13th of February, 24th of February, and the 2d of March.
It appeared in the case that in the month of November, 1892, this policy was permitted to lapse, and that an application was made on the 18th of November, 1892, for a reinstatement. In this application it was stated that Boehm was then in sound physical and mental condition; that he had not been sick; and the parties agreed that that application should form part of the contract of insurance, together with the original application. It may be conceded, for the purposes of this motion, that from the time the policy Avas reinstated the application for reinstatement became a part of it, and that a statement that Boehm had not been sick from the time of the first making of the policy down to the 18th day of November was a warranty. That being so, the question then arose whether there was a breach of that warranty. The testimony showed that after the policy had been granted, and on the 15th and 21st of August, 1892, Boehm was at the office of Dr. Henckell, who then prescribed for him. What was the nature of the indisposition from which he suffered, if any, does not appear. Dr. Henckell made this statement: “I did not at any time, before this 26th of November, 1892, attend him at his house; always at my office, 116 Sophia street. During this time he was ill.” Precisely what time Avas referred to by that ansAver does not appear. It was claimed upon the motion for a nonsuit that the application for a reinstatement amounted to a representation that the conditions were the same as when the policy was first issued. The-precise meaning of this claim is not perceived, and it is quite doubt
Motion denied, with costs.
Cases cited
- Jefferson Insurance v. H. & D. Cotheal. 7 Wend. 72 p. 663, p. 664
- Owens v. Holland Purchase Insurance 56 N. Y. 565 p. 663
- Holly v. Metropolitan Life Insurance 105 N. Y. 437 at 441, 442, 11 p. 664
- Le Roy v. Market Fire Insurance 39 N. Y. 90 p. 665
- Dwight v. Germania Life Insurance 103 N. Y. 341 p. 665
- Haggart v. Morgan 5 N. Y. 422 p. 667