Majority
Headnote
1. Insurance—Fire—Condition.The judgment in this case was recovered upon a policy of insurance, issued April 23, 1891, at one year upon a store and the goods therein, which were owned by the plaintiff. By the terms of the policy the risk was distributed as follows : Upon the store a sum not exceeding $1,000, the goods a sum not exceeding $1,200, and the furniture and safe a sum not exceeding $100. The entire property was destroyed by fire on the 27th of September, 1891. The complaint alleges and the answer admits that the loss was adjusted and determined between the plaintiff and a general agent of the defendant on the 6th of October following at $1,950, and the recovery was for this sum and interest. The only defense interposed by the answer or urged upon the argument of the appeal in this court was a breach on the part of the plaintiff of one or perhaps two of the conditions contained in the following clause of the policy :
“ This entire policy, unless otherwise provided by agreement indorsed hereon or added hereto, shall be void * * * if the interest of the insured be other than unconditional, sole ownership, * or if the subject of insurance be personal prop
It was shown at the trial that the plaintiff, .about two months before the policy had been issued to him, had executed and delivered to his brother an instrument in the form of a bill of sale upon the stock of goods, furniture and fixtures in the store, which on March 3, 1891, was filed in the town clerk’s office. This instrument, in consideration of $500, purports to transfer the plaintiff’s interest in the property absolutely to his brother. The proof at the trial tended to show that there was in fact no consideration for the transfer. That it was colorable merely and made between the two brothers with reference to some litigations pending or threatened against the plaintiff. The brother never in fact paid anything as a consideration for the transfer, and no debt was due or owing to him by the plaintiff. He never in fact claimed any title to the property or any right to its possession, which always remained in the plaintiff. There was also proof that the existence of this bill of sale, its true consideration, character and purpose were disclosed to the defendant’s agent before the policy was issued or deli vei’ed. The court submitted two questions to the jury : (1) Whether the defendant, notwithstanding the condition of the policy,had knowledge of all the facts respecting the existence, nature and purpose of the bill of sale, instructing them that the knowledge of the agent was the knowledge of the company, and that if they found that the defendant had knowledge of the facts the policy was not avoided. (2) Whether a statement contained in the proofs of loss to the effect that there was no incumbrance on the property at' the time was willfully false and known to be so by the plaintiff when he made the proofs, and was made for the purpose of defrauding the defendant, instructing them that if it was not then it did not amount to false swearing within' the intent and meaning of a condition in the policy. The verdict was in favor of the plaintiff; and hence all the disputed facts material to the questions of law must be deemed to be established in the plaintiff’s favor. It was said by Judge Andrews in Walsh v. Hartford Fire Insurance Co., 73 N. Y. 11 , upon the authority of many cases, that “conditions for the pre-payment,of premium and
In these cases it was held, either that the company had waived the condition, or was estopped by the delivery pf the policy and the receipt of the premium, since, under such circumstances, it could not be supposed that it intended to deliver to the insured a policy which it knew to be void. When the underwriter, before the inception of the contract, is informed by the owner that the property is incumbered, but still delivers the policy with the condition embodied in it, then it seems to me, it is not so much a question of waiver or estoppel as a question whether the condition ever attached or operated'upon the facts thus disclosed. It can, of course, operate in the future upon transfers or incumbrances as the facts arise, and then the question is one of waiver. But when the facts are all known before any contract is made, a condition against a state of things known by all the parties to exist cannot be deemed to be within their intention or purpose. This case cannot be taken out of the rule by any possible distinction unless it be the character and powers of the agent of the defendant, to whom, upon the finding of the jury, the facts were communicated. It is urged that the cases cited do not apply for the reason that the waiver there was by a general agent. That may be true with respect to the four cases last cited. But it does not seem to me to be so much a question of power of authority in an agent to waive a condition in the contract as of knowledge by the company through its agent of the real facts. In the Carpenter Case, supra, the information as to the true state of the title was given to a mere
It was held in the case of Ellis v. Albany Fire Ins. Co., 50 N. Y. 402 , that an agent-with precisely such powers as I have supposed the agent in this case possessed, could bind the company by a parol contract of insurance,- while Un application for a policy was pending, but none delivered till after a loss. I am unable to discover in the record any basis for the contention that the knowledge of the agent as to the existence and purpose of the bill of sale is, not thp knowledge of the defendant. On the contrary, his knowledge of the facts is, I think, imputable to his principal. So ■far as appears, the plaintiff dealt with'him as the representative of
There is another view of the question that deserves some notice. Conditions in contracts of insurance against liability when the property is incumbered or where the title is not absolute in the insured are inserted for the purpose of guarding against the moral hazard involved. When the transfer or incumbrance is merely colorable or nominal and not real or effective the reasons that induced the stipulation do not apply. Was there any real sale or transfer of this property within the meaning of the policy ? Nothing was done except to execute and file a paper. There were no intention in fact to transfer,the title or vest any beneficial interest in the nominal vendee. There was no debt to he enforced, no consideration passed, and the use and possession remained unchanged. The filing of the paper added nothing to its validity. It was not a mortgage nor intended as security for any debt. It was a mere paper transfer without consideration and without delivery of possession, and while it had the form it had none of the legal elements necessary, even between the parties, to constitute a valid contract of sale. In legal effect it was, I think, the same as an unexecuted gift. The worst that can be said of it is that it was intended to defraud creditors, but if that he true still the moral hazard which was the basis of the condition of the policy would still be absent, since the plaintiff’s interest in the property at the time of the insurance was in fact the same as before the paper was executed. There is no legal ground upon which this court can properly disturb the verdict, and the judgment should, therefore, be affirmed.
Finch and Peckham, JJ. concur; Andrews, Oh. J„, and Bartlett, J., concur on last ground mentioned in opinion; Earl, X, dissents on first ground and concurs on last ground; Gray, X, dissents.
Judgment affirmed.
Cases cited
- Schoick v. Niagara Fire Insurance 68 N. Y. 434 p. 779
- Carpenter v. German American Insurance 135 N. Y. 298 p. 779
- Cross v. National Fire Insurance 132 N. Y. 133 p. 779
- Berry v. American Central Insurance Co. of St. Louis 132 N. Y. 49 p. 779
- Insurance Co. v. Wilkinson 13 Wall. 222 p. 780
- Bodine v. Exchange Fire Insurance 51 N. Y. 117 p. 780
- Arff v. Star Fire Insurance 125 N. Y. 57 p. 780
- Ellis v. Albany City Fire Insurance 50 N. Y. 402 p. 780