Majority
Headnote
Interpretation of a permit issued by a life insurance company, under a policy issued to plaintiff upon the life of her husband, upon his application in her name, and as her agent, for that purpose, and the admissibility of parol evidence to explain or vary its language.This action is brought upon a life policy, and the questions presented by the appeal may be said to relate almost exclusively to the interpretation of the permit issued under the policy, and the admissibility of parol evidence to vary its language.
The policy was issued to the plaintiff directly, and by its terms, in consideration of the sum of fifty dollars and sixty cents, duly paid by the plaintiff, and of the semiannual payment of a like amount, to be made by her during the continuance of the policy, the company insured the life of Jacob M. Pohalski, plaintiff’s husband, for the sole use of the plaintiff, in the amount of five thousand dollars, for the term of his natural life. It was issued and accepted upon the express condition enumerated therein,, that if the said Jacob M. Pohalski should pass beyond
“Permission is hereby given to J. M. Pohalski . . . “to proceed to Cuba, and return before April 1, 1871. “ He to take his own risk of death from epidemics.”
Mr. Pohalski proceeded to Cuba, and died in the city of Havana in the month of February, 1871. As to the cause of his death, the referee, upon sufficient testimony, found as follows:
“ That the disease of which the said Jacob M. Pohalski so died was yellow fever.
“ That though yellow fever, in Havana and the island of Cuba, is an endemic, or an endemical or indigenous disease, ahd though there occasionally occur in Havana, in the winter months, from time to time, a few sporadic cases of that disease, yet it rarely prevails or exists in Havana in the winter months as an epidemic, or in the form or condition or to the extent of an epidemic, and did not prevail or exist in Havana, in the form or condition or to the extent of an epidemic, or as an epidemic, at any time in the month of December, 1870, or in the month of January, or in the month of February, 1871, and was not an epidemic in Havana, and did not prevail' or exist in Havana, in the form or condition or to the extent of an epidemic, when the said Jacob M. Pohalski took the said disease in Havana as aforesaid, when he died in Havana of that disease as aforesaid.
“ That the said Jacob M. Pohalski did not die of an epidemic, or of a disease prevailing or existing at Havana epidemically, or in the form or condition or to the extent of an epidemic, either when he was seized with the disease with which he died or when he died.”
That the death of said Jacob M. Pohalski occurred under circumstances bringing it within the risk assumed by the defendant in issuing the said policy.
The defendant, upon the trial, claimed the right to show that when Mr. Pohalski applied for the permit to visit the island of Cuba, the issuance of it was objected to by the president of the defendant, on the ground of the risk the defendant would run by reason of the prevalence of yellow fever in the island of Cuba at all seasons of the year, and that the permit was finally issued to said Pohalski, upon the express condition and agreement that he would take his own risk of death from yellow fever; that the parties, in their conversation with respect to the permit, used the word “epidemics” as including yellow fever and cholera as diseases, without any reference to their existing in an epidemic form or to an epidemic extent at any particular time, and that the word was so used in the permit. The evidence, however, of the conversation between Mr. Pohalski and Mr. Winston, showing their use, and their intent in the use of the word epidemics, was excluded, and to its exclusion the defendant duly excepted.
The defendant also offered to show, by Dr. Elisha Harris, a well-known physician and authority on sanitary subjects, that yellow fever is properly classified in medical science, and known as belonging to diseases called epidemics ; that yellow fever, whenever it exists in the city of New York, where the permit was given, is always an epidemic, and that yellow fever exists at all times in Havana, and is the peculiarly fatal disease of that climate, and is especially dangerous to' strangers and to persons from the Northern States visiting Havana.
All these offers were objected to by the plaintiff.
The evidence was excluded and defendant excepted.
i entertain no doubt as to the correctness of this tuI
So firmly established is this rule, that it has frequently been applied and enforced without the citation of authorities in support of it (Thorp v. Ross, 4 Keyes, 546 ; O’Beirne v. Lloyd, 1 Sweeny, 19 ; Milton v. Hudson River Steamboat Co., 4 Lansing, 76 ; Delamater v. Bush, 63 Barb. 168 ).
As the books abound in cases of the application of this rule, a few appropriate examples will be amply sufficient here.
Lamott v. The Hudson River Fire Ins. Co. (referred to in a note to 17 N. Y. 199 ) was an action upon a fire policy which prohibited the use of camphene on the premises insured, except upon permission, in writing, to be endorsed upon the policy, with a charge for an extra premium therefor. The amount of premium endorsed upon the policy exceeded the regular premium upon such risks as appeared to be covered by the policy by sufficient to cover the price for the use of camphene. It was held, nevertheless, that, as the endorsement did not state that the amount of premium noted was for the
Howell v. The Knickerbocker Life Ins. Co. ( 19 Abb. 217 ) was an action brought by the widow of George H. Howell to recover on a policy effected by her upon the life of her deceased husband, for one year, with the privilege of annual renewal for life, if, on the 15th day of July in each year, the premium was paid. On July 15th, 1864, the annual premium was not paid. On the same day Mr. Howell was seized with apoplexy, and on the following day he died. Some days thereafter the premium was tendered to the company, and refused by the latter. The court held that the stipulated payment was a condition precedent to the continuance of the policy, and that parol evidence of a usage or agreement on the part of the company at the time the insurance was effected, to receive payment of premiums after the day named, could not be received.
In the case of the Mayor, etc., of the City of Hew York against The Brooklyn Fire Insurance Company ( 41 Barb. 231 ), it was determined that the evidence offered by the defendant of the verbal statements of the agent of the plaintiffs, who effected the insurance, in respect to the future use and occupation of the building was properly excluded, because such evidence would tend to vary the operation and effect of the language contained in the policy, and because a warranty as to such future use and occupation must be contained in the policy, or be reduced to writing in proper form, before it can be admitted to affect its. construction or obligation.
In Thompson v. Hall ( 45 Barb., 214 ), the defendant, Hall, had signed the note in suit as surety for the defendant Thompson, with the knowledge and at the re
How, it is undoubtedly true that the permit in question was issued without a new consideration. The company was not bound to give it. But, having given it, it is bound by it, because it springs out of and is based upon the consideration and terms of the policy. Consequently, whether the said permit be regarded as a modification of the original contract of insurance, or as a waiver of certain of the conditions of the policy, the rule which holds parol contemporaneous evidence inadmissible to change its legal effect, is equally applicable. This has been substantially determined in Buckley v. Bentley ( 48 Barb. 283 ). In that case the endorser of a note had. subsequently written over his signature the words “ notice of protest waived by me.” On the trial evidence was admitted to show that the verbal arrangement between the parties, which resulted in the entry of those words on the note by the defendant, was, that demand of payment, as well as of notice, was waived. On appeal this was held error, for which the judgment was reversed and a new trial ordered. The court held, that although the arrangement then made was not a contract, because there was no consideration, and had to operate, if at all, by way of estoppel in pais, still the question was, what was the arrangement % and as the parties undertook to put it in writing, they were to be deemed to have given thereby full expression to their meaning, and hence parol evidence of their language, contradicting, varying, or adding to that which was contained in the written instrument, was inadmissible. “That there was no consideration for the agreement,”
It is also true, that the rule referred to is directed only against the admission of any other evidence of the language employed by the parties in making the agreement than that which is furnished by the writing itself, and that the writing may be read by the light of surrounding circumstances. But this is permitted only for the purpose of finding out the true sense of the written words as the parties used them. It is for this reason that, whenever the necessity arises, the rule does not exclude the testimony of experts to aid the court in reading the instrument.
Unless, therefore, the terms of a written instrument have generally, in respect to the subject-matter, as, by the known usage of trade or the like, acquired a peculiar sense, distinct from the popular sense of the same words, or unless the context points out that, in the particular instance, and in order to effectuate the immediate intention of the parties, they should be understood in a peculiar sense, they are to be understood in their plain, ordinary, and popular sense (Greenl. on Ev., § 278). It is not allowable to interpret what has no need of interpretation (Bro om's Leg. Max.), and parol evidence should never be allowed to create an ambiguity where none exists (Auburn City Bank v. Leonard, 40 Barb. 119 .)
The word “ epidemics,” in the permit, is not shown to have been used in the peculiarly medical sense attributed to it by the learned counsel for the company ; nor was it used in a sense peculiar to the business of life insurance. On the contrary, it is plainly to be seen that it was used and understood in its plain, ordinary, and popular sense as a familiar word in our language. Ho
The company evidently did not intend to stipulate solely against diseases which usually assume an epidemic character. It meant to stipulate, and did stipulate, for exemption from liability in case of death, from any disease, however simple and harmless, under ordinary circumstances, at home, that might, by any possibility, prevail in Cuba to an extent which could be called epidemic.
The requirement of the permit, that Pohalski should return from Cuba before the first day of April following its date, at which time the sickly season usually commences there, is not without significance upon this point. This interpretation, which, upon the whole, is the one most favorable to the company, excludes, however, the idea that plaintiff assumed the risk of her husband’s death from yellow fever when not prevailing to an epidemic extent.
The evidence offered by defendant, to vary or explain the ordinary and popular meaning of the language of the permit, was, therefore, properly excluded; and when it is finally considered that the attempt to give such evidence was, in fact, an attempt to vary such meaning, by the alleged assent of one now deceased, who was not shown to have had any authority whatever from the plaintiff to make terms or stipulations for her, plaintiff’s case becomes still stronger in reason, though perhaps not in law.
The judgment should be affirmed, with costs.
Curtis and Van Vorst, JJ., concurred.
Note.—Unanimously affirmed by Court of Appeals, April 7, 1874, 'without a written opinion, the Court resting its decision upon the foregoing opinion of Judge Fbbedmait.—Repobtebs.
Cases cited
- Buckley v. Bentley 48 Barb. 283 p. 235, p. 251
- Trustees of the First Baptist Church v. Brooklyn Fire Insurance 28 N. Y. 153 p. 235, p. 253
- Delamater v. Bush 63 Barb. 168 p. 249
- Mayor v. Brooklyn Fire Insurance 41 Barb. 231 p. 250
- Auburn City Bank v. Leonard 40 Barb. 119 p. 252