Majority — Matthews J.
Syllabus
ERROR TO THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE UNITED STATES FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK. •delivered the opinion of the court. After stating the facts in the language reported above, he continued:
The first question to be examined is whether the Circuit Court erred in withdrawing from the jury the right to consider the facts proven as to the drawing of the oil in the oil-room after dark in the vicinity of a lighted lamp, which was the admitted cause of the fire, as constituting a defence to the action under the pleadings.
The tenth paragraph in the answer, setting up a separate and distinct defence, recited two conditions in the policy; the first, that the assured should not keep any burning fluid without written permission in the policy; the second, that kerosene,
It is true that the answer does not specifically set out as part of the defence that kerosene was kept on the premises to be used for lights, but that, in breach of the condition which permitted such use, it was drawn after dark and with a lighted lamp near; but the right to' keep it and use it in the manner specified in the condition is an exception from the general prohibition, which forbids the mere keeping of it without written permission; so that, strictly speaking, an averment that the article was kept and used on the premises, in violation of the condition, includes the use of it, otherwise than for lights, and the drawing of it otherwise than by daylight. Un-. der the allegations of the answer, although not so definite and certain as might have been required, upon motion made in due time, it seems to us it was competent for the defendant to prove and rely upon any keeping and use of burning fluid prohibited by the conditions set out.
Whatever obscurity there was in pleading the defence, considered apart from the facts subsequently disclosed in evidence, nevertheless, all the testimony necessary to its establishment was offered and admitted without objection. It was offered and admitted as tending to prove that there had been .a breach of the conditions of the policy; and the whole matter of the defence was covered by the testimony, on examination and
The New York Code of Civil Procedure, which furnishes the .rule of practice in such cases, is explicit on the point. In § 539 it is provided that “ a variance between an allegation in a pleading and the proof is not material, unless it has actually misled the adverse party to his prejudice in maintaining his action or defence upon the merits. If a party insists that he has been misled, the fact and the particulars in which he has been misled must be proved to the satisfaction of the court. Thereupon the court may, in its discretion, order the pleading to be amended upon such terms as it deems just.” And § 540 declares that, “ when the variance is not material, as prescribed in the last section, the court may direct the fact to be found
There are other errors, however, in the charge to the jury, equally fatal to the judgment, which, as the case must be remanded for a new trial, it becomes important to point out.
The Circuit Court charged the jury, in substance, that it was not a breach of the conditions of the policy if they should find a half barrel of benzine was stored by direction of Walker in the oil-room, unless they should also find that he acted by the express or implied authority of the assured; that is, unless in doing so he was acting in the management of the property as the agent of his wife, and within the limits of the authority conferred upon him for the purpose of managing the property according to the terms and purposes of her tenancy; and accordingly the jury was told that if he had brought the prohibited article on the premises, not for the legitimate use of the hotel, but for an outside purpose, it constituted no defence. The outside purpose referred to was suggested by some testimony, that the benzine was brought for the purpose of being used in lighting an adjacent grove for a pic-nic. Whether this use was for the entertainment of the guests of the hotel, or to attract custom, does not appear from the evidence; but, in any view, we think the construction of the policy, on which the charge to the jury was based, was erroneous.
One of the conditions of the policy is, that if ■ the assured shall keep or use any of the prohibited articles without written permission, it shall be void ; another is, that the articles named “are mot to be stored, used, kept, or allowed on the above premises, temporarily or permanently, for sale or otherwise, unless with written permission indorsed on the policy,” &c.
A violation of these prohibitions by any one permitted by the assured to occupy the premises, is a violation' by the assured himself. The company stipulates that it will not assume the risk arising from the presence of the articles prohibited, and if they are brought upon the premises in violation of the policy by one in whose possession and control the latter have been placed by the insured, he assumes the risk which the company has refused to accept. In our opinion the defendant-
This construction of such a condition is well supported by authority. Kelly v. Worcester Mutual Fire Insurance Co., 97 Mass. 284 , 287. In this case it was held that “ a policy of insurance obtained upon a building by the owner, and containing a proviso that it shall be void if the buildings shall be occupied or used for unlawful purposes, is avoided by a tenant’s use of the building for an unlawful purpose, even if without the owner’s knowledge.” In distinguishing the case from those cited by counsel adversely, the court said: “ In some of the cases cited for the plaintiff the prohibited use was not so constant, or. habitual, or of such a nature as to fall within the terms of the prevision, and in the others the knowledge or assent of the assured was expressly required in order to avoid the policy.”
In New York it has been the settled law since the case of Duncan v. Sun Fire Insurance Co., 6 Wend. 488 . In Mead v. Northwestern Ins. Co., 7 N. Y. (3 Seld.), 530, 533, it was said, in such a case: “ It is equally unimportant that the respondent, was ignorant that such business was carried on. The question whether a warranty has been broken can never depend upon the knowledge or ignorance or intent of the party making it, touching the acts or the fact constituting the breach.” Matson v. Farm Buildings Ins. Co., 73 N. Y. 310 .
The Circuit Court also erred in the charge to the jury, that, under the circumstances disclosed by the evidence, it ’ Avas no breach of the conditions of the policy to have in the oil-room a quantity of gasoline, although not intended for use in the gas apparatus, the use of Avhich had in fact been discontinued, if the oil-room was a place Avere such fluid anight have been properly stored, when intended for use in the apparatus.
The only direct evidence in the case, as to the usual and suitable place for the keeping of .gasoline when used in such an apparatus, was, that it should be deposited _at once in the apparatus itself, one part of which is a generator where atmospheric air is carbonized by being forced through the gasoline. But waiving any question on that point, it is clear that the privilege indorsed on the policy, in the following terms: “ To use gasoline gas, gasometer, blower, and generator being underground about-sixty feet from main building in Arault. No heat employed in process; ” did not sanction the keeping, using or storing of gasoline, or its equivalent, burning fluid or oil, except for actual use in that gas apparatus. There is no express permission to keep gasoline given in the words of the privilege. Such permission is implied only when and because the use of gasoline is necessary to the enjoyment of the privilege. Otherwise and for all other purposes and uses, it is expressly prohibited. The implication cannot be extended beyond the necessity for a fair and reasonable exercise of the privilege granted.
But the evidence on the trial was uncontradicted, that, at the time of the fire and for nearly a year previously, the use of the gas apparatus had been discontinued. The plaintiff below him
It is, of course, not! to be denied that this did not supersede the privilege to use the gasoline apparatus, and that this privilege had not been otherwise exhausted or withdrawn. The insured had the right at any time to resume its exercise, and, in doing so, would have been justified in obtaining, keeping, storing, and using, in the accustomed manner, the necessary quantity of gasoline for supplying it. This is implied in the grant of the privilege. But if the privilege itself is not actually exercised, no such implication arises, and the prohibition against gasoline, according to the terms of the condition, must have full effect. It was error, therefore, in the court to instruct the jury that the naked privilege to use a gas apparatus, not actually exercised, nor intended to be exercised, but in fact abandoned, justified the insured in keeping and storing gasoline, in any quantity, in any place, or for any time.
The judgm.ent of the Circioit Court is reversed, and the came is remanded, with directions to gra/nt a new trial.
Cases cited
- Waters v. Merchants' Louisville Insurance 11 Pet. 213 p. 122
- Columbia Insurance v. Lawrence 10 Pet. 507 p. 122
- Patapsco Insurance v. Coulter 3 Pet. 222 p. 122
- Franklin Fire Insurance v. Vaughan 92 U. S. 516 at 520 p. 123, p. 124
- Beaver v. Taylor 93 U. S. 46 p. 123
- Indianapolis & St. Louis Railroad v. Horst 93 U. S. 291 p. 124
- Transportation Line v. Hope 95 U. S. 297 p. 124
- Worthington v. Mason 101 U. S. 149 p. 124
- National Bank v. Insurance Co. 95 U. S. 673 p. 124
- Home Insurance v. Baltimore Warehouse Co. 93 U. S. 527 p. 125, p. 130