Majority
Appellants John Hancock Mutual Life Insurance Company, a corporation, and Andrew J. Ferranini, its agent, have appealed from a judgment which decreed reformation of a transaction involving three policies of life insurance issued to and on the life of the husband of respondent Winifred Orcutt, and awarding her the death benefits payable under the provisions of said policies as applied under the terms of the reformed transaction.[1]
Appellants’ principal contention is that respondent Winifred Orcutt, as principal beneficiary, and her coplaintiffs, the three children of her marriage who were named as contingent beneficiaries in each of the three policies of life insurance, lack capacity to sue for reformation of the transaction. They also claim that the action is barred because the right, if any, to reformation was not asserted with reasonable diligence. Timely objections were made and have been pursued as to certain aspects of the findings of fact which bear on the foregoing issues.
The findings of fact, both unimpeached and attacked as noted, disclose the following particulars:
Respondent Winifred Orcutt and Harold E. Orcutt on September 7, 1944 were, and for some time prior thereto had been, legally married and continued in that status until the latter’s death March 1, 1959. The remaining named plaintiffs
1 The amounts payable were stipulated to and since all persons concerned are parties to this action, the settlement agreement which is contained in each of the policies may be disregarded.
On September 7, 1944, appellant company issued three policies of life insurance insuring the life of Harold B. Orcutt, in each of which respondent Winifred Orcutt was named as beneficiary and the remaining respondents were named as contingent beneficiaries. These policies were referred to in the record as numbers 49, 50 and 51, respectively, and are similarly designated herein. Policy 49 was in the face amount of $6,000, with an annual premium of $306.48; policy 50 was in the face amount of $3,500, with an annual premium of $178.78: and policy 51 was in the face amount of $2,300, with a single premium which was paid in full prior to the issuance of the policy.
Between August 8 and September 17, 1957, it was agreed that all but $500 of paid up insurance under policy number 51 would be surrendered, and that appellants would pay all of the cash surrender value of that policy except that necessary to leave $500 of paid up insurance in effect; and it was further agreed that appellants would loan the maximum amounts available as loans on policies number 49 and 50, leaving those policies in full force and effect, but subject to said loans. The findings recite that these agreements were made between “defendants” (company and agent) on the one hand, and “Harold B. Orcutt and plaintiff Winifred Orcutt” on the other. Appellants point out that the evidence discloses that Mrs. Orcutt was not a party to the contracts of insurance except as revocable beneficiary, that she did not sign the documents executed in connection with the attempted consummation of the agreement, and that under the terms of the policy she did not have the right to direct the insurer to pay out the loan or surrender value of any of the policies. It is asserted, therefore, that there is no evidence to sustain the finding that respondent wife was a party to the transaction. If, however, her right to seek reformation depends not on her status as a party to the loan-surrender transaction itself, but on her status as a beneficiary with rights vested by reason of the death of the insured, the finding is immaterial and the question of its veracity need not be further pursued.[2]
2 Respondents direct attention to evidence which shows that the policies were acquired with community funds, and urge that respondent wife thereby acquired a present, equal and vested interest in them. (See Estate of Mendenhall (1960) 182 Cal.App.2d 441 , 445 [ 6 Cal.Rptr. 45 ].) They concede, however, that during his lifetime the husband had the management and control of the community personal property (idem).
The documents which had been presented to and signed by Orcutt in fact provided for the complete surrender of policies number 49 and 50, in exchange for the full cash surrender value of those policies, and for a loan of $1,802.27 under policy number 51, leaving that policy in full force and effect for its face value of $2,300 subject to the loan. The court found that Orcutt and his wife would not have ordered, did not order, and did not agree to such a transaction; and that they would not have signed and delivered the documents and policies, or accepted and cashed the checks, had they known that such was the nature of the transaction. Appellants herein again object to mention of Mrs. Orcutt as a party to the transaction. These objections are subject to the same comments as made above.
In September 1958, the Oreutts received a notice of an interest payment due on a loan against policy number 51. Upon
3 The testimony of respondent reflects that the agreement upon which she relies was reduced to writing and read and signed by the insured. She is corroborated in part by the testimony of the ex-agent of the company, who originally sold the policies, in regard to the insured’s inquiries concerning the values under the policies mainly the loan values, and by similar inquiries reflected in correspondence between the insured and the company. The weight to be given this evidence as contrasted with the documents and other evidence produced by appellants cannot be reviewed herein.
Attention is now directed to the question of respondents’ capacity to sue, and the alleged delay in bringing the action.
The Respondents Have Capacity to Sue.
The insured reserved the right to change the beneficiaries in respect of each of the policies involved. The interest of a beneficiary under such circumstances has been likened to that of a legatee under a will, a mere expectancy of a gift at the time of the insured’s death. (Thorp v. Randazzo (1953) 41 Cal.2d 770 , 773 [ 264 P.2d 38 ] ; Grimm v. Grimm (1945) 26 Cal.2d 173 , 175-176 [ 157 P.2d 841 ]; Cook v. Cook (1941) 17 Cal.2d 639 , 644 [ 111 P.2d 322 ] ; Hoeft v. Supreme Lodge K. of H. (1896) 113 Cal. 91 -96 [ 45 P. 185 , 33 L.R.A. 174 ]; Prudential Ins. Co. v. Broadhurst (1958) 157 Cal.App.2d 375 , 378 [ 321 P.2d 75 ] ; Lo Prestí v. Manning (1932) 125 Cal. App. 442 , 446 [ 13 P.2d 1002 ] ; New York Life Ins. Co. v. Dunn (1920) 46 Cal.App. 203 , 205 [ 188 P. 1028 ].) In denying the right of former beneficiaries to contest the right of a properly substituted beneficiary to the proceeds of the policy, which became payable on the death of the insured on the grounds that the latter procured the change by fraud, it has been said: "One cannot be defrauded of that in which he has no vested right. A vested right is property which the law protects, while a mere expectancy is not property, and therefore is not protected.” (Hoeft v. Supreme Lodge K. of H., supra, 113 Cal. at p. 96, followed in Lo Prestí v. Manning, supra, and New York Life Ins. Co. v. Dunn, supra, which reject attempts to assert similar claims of fraud and undue influence; and cf. comment on Hoeft and Dunn, Langmaid, Contracts For Benefit of Third Persons (1939) 27 Cal.L.Rev.
On the other hand it is recognized that the expectancy may be assigned or released, and that such assignment or release becomes enforceable when the expectancy has developed into a right. (Thorp v. Randazzo, supra, finding renunciation; cf. Grimm v. Grimm, supra; and Prudential Ins. Co. v. Broadhurst, supra, finding no such renunciation.) The death of the insured transmutes the expectancy into a right. In Cook v. Cook, supra, it was urged that the insured’s will had effected a change of beneficiary. The opinion states: “A will does not become operative until death; prior to death it is revocable at the whim of the testator, and the objects of the testator’s bounty have no vested rights. In that respect it is very similar to the rights of a beneficiary under a life insurance policy in which the insured reserves the right to change the beneficiary such as we have in the instant case. However, upon death the beneficiary’s right becomes vested, and that being the case, no expression in the insured’s will purporting to assign his life insurance policy or change the beneficiary can be effective. At death he no longer has a policy to assign. It has passed to his heirs, if no beneficiary was designated; if a beneficiary is named it passes to such beneficiary. He cannot then change the beneficiary because the right of the named beneficiary has vested.” (17 Cal.2d at p. 646; see also Estate of Welfer (1952) 110 Cal.App.2d 262 , 265 [ 242 P.2d 655 ]; Turner v. Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. (1943) 56 Cal. App.2d 862 , 865 [ 133 P.2d 859 ]; Estate of Miller (1937) 23 Cal.App.2d 16 , 18 [ 71 P.2d 1117 ].)
In contrast to the decisions which have denied the former beneficiary the right to assert the fraud or undue influence of the substituted beneficiary, in Waters v. Conselho Supremo etc. Be California (1918) 38 Cal.App. 360 [ 176 P. 368 ], the court upheld a judgment for the former beneficiary in an action in which she sought cancellation of a certificate naming a new beneficiary on the ground, which of several asserted was approved by the appellate court, that the insured was mentally incompetent at the time he purported to effect the change.
In Abroms v. New York Life Ins. Co. (1942) 53 Cal.App. 2d 764 [ 128 P.2d 391 ] (hearing by Supreme Court denied) the court reversed judgments of dismissal entered after a general and special demurrer had been sustained and leave to amend had been denied in an action in which plaintiff, as
4 Civil Code section 3399 provides: “When, through fraud or a mutual mistake of the parties, or a mistake of one party, which the other at the time knew or suspected, a written contract does not truly express the intention of the parties, it may be revised, on the application of a party aggrieved, so as to express that intention, so far as it can be done without prejudice to rights acquired by third persons, in good faith and for value. ’ ’
The court further held that the allegations of the complaint, which appear to be the model for some of the findings which have been hereinabove summarized in this opinion, sufficiently stated a cause of action for reformation.[5]
Appellants seek to distinguish Abroms on the ground that, as stated therein, the interest of the beneficiary was deemed to have been vested if the insurer had issued the certificate which was sought by the reformation; whereas, here if the insurer had complied with the insured’s directions respondents would still have had only an expectancy. The impact of Abroms on this case is further diluted by that court’s reference to the proposed amendments in which the plaintiff asserted his representative capacity as administrator of the estate of the deceased annuitant, and his interest as survivor of the community.
Respondents point out that the mention of vested interest refers to the time that suit was filed, after the death of the annuitant with whom the insurer contracted, and that up to the time of her death the plainiff had but a contingent interest. The decision does not reveal whether or not the right to change the beneficiary was reserved to the annuitant, but it is noted that the original demurrer reportedly advanced the ground that prior to the death of the annuitant the plaintiff had a mere expectancy and that he lacked sufficient title or interest to maintain an action to reform the contract. (P. 768.)
Abroms may properly be construed as indicating that a beneficiary, regardless of his status prior to the death of the insured, upon the occurrence of that event, is vested with such rights against the insurer as may be necessary to show the true tenor of the agreement under which he claims. So here respondents are parties aggrieved within the meaning of the provisions of section 3399 of the Civil Code which give a right to reformation.
This conclusion is consistent with those authorities which have given the beneficiary the right to select nonforfeiture options after the death of the insured where not otherwise
5 The proof was more convincing to the trial court in this case, however, than to the trial court in Abroms. (See Abroms v. New Torjo Life Ins. Co. (1944) 64 Oal.App.2d 449 [ 149 P.2d 217 ].)
In reference to the right of a purchaser from one who was entitled to reformation of a deed, this court, Tobriner, J., has said: “The right to reformation of an instrument is not restricted to the original parties to the transaction; for example, a purchaser from the original grantee of real property may seek reformation of the original deed because of a mistake resulting in a misdescription of the property. (Hart v. Walton (1908) 9 Cal.App. 502 , 507 [ 99 P. 719 ]; see also: Parker v. Hardisty (1921) 54 Cal.App. 628 , 631 [ 202 P. 479 ].) Section 3399 of the Civil Code provides that a contract may be reformed for various reasons ‘on the application of a party aggrieved. . . .’ (Italics added.) An aggrieved party need not be an original party to the transaction; it clearly includes one who has suffered prejudice or pecuniary loss. (Hart v. Walton, supra, 9 Cal.App. 502 , 507.) ” (Watson v. Collins (1962) 204 Cal.App.2d 27 , 32 [ 21 Cal.Rptr. 832 ].)
Appellants rely upon Smith v. Minnesota Mut. Life Ins. Co. (1948) 86 Cal.App.2d 581 [ 195 P.2d 457 ], for the proposi
It is obvious that the last mentioned ease is not predicated upon any contract or reformation thereof. The court struggled with the question of survivorship of a tort action, came up with quasi-eontractual relationship, and so could permit an action by the representative. (See Livingston, Survival of Tort Actions (1949) 37 Cal.L.Rev. 63 , 70, fn. 40; Comment (1949) 37 Cal.L.Rev. 657 -660; and annotation (1953) 32 A.L.R.2d 487 , 537.)
Smith fails to disclose how damages—to be measured by the indemnity applied for according to Stark (139 Cal.App. at p. 580)—can be recovered by the decedent’s representative, when the contract if consummated would have enriched not the insured’s estate, but the designated object of his bounty. (See Cook v. Cook, supra, 17 Cal.2d 639 , and eases cited above following the quotation from that case.)
Regardless of the difficulties in transmitting an action sounding in tort from the person wronged to his intended beneficiary, there is no proscription which renders the action for reformation nonassignable. The assignment of such a cause of action has often been recognized. (California Pac. Title Co. v. Moore (1964) 229 Cal.App.2d 114 , 117 [ 40 Cal. Rptr. 61 ]; Beach v. United States Fid. & Guar. Co., supra, 205 Cal.App.2d 409 , 410; Watson v. Collins, supra, 204 Cal. App.2d 27 , 34.) There is, therefore, a clear distinction between Smith and Abroms, and the principles of the eases granting reformation suggest and support the conclusion that the respondents as beneficiaries were the proper parties to enforce the cause of action for reformation after the death of the insured.
Reformation Is not Barred by Laches.
Appellants allege that respondents lost their right to reformation through neglect or failure to assert it with reasonable diligence. Neither the statute of limitations nor laches was asserted by appellants in their answer or at the pretrial conference. The trial court was not called upon to pass upon any such defense and the propriety of considering it herein is questionable. (Allen v. Meyers (1936) 5 Cal.2d 311 , 316
The findings as outlined above reflect first suspicions of a mistake in September 1958, some attempts to secure an explanation, intervening illness and death, subsequent elucidation of the facts as recorded, and suit filed eight months thereafter. No prejudice was suffered by appellants by any delay after the death of the insured; and the six months’ delay prior thereto is explained by reasonable efforts, consistent with other problems faced by Mrs. Oreutt. The record reflects that at Mrs. Oreutt’s request in January 1959, before the insured’s death, the ex-agent did advise the cashier of appellants’ Berkeley office that, “There is something here that isn’t just right . . . because Mr. Oreutt had asked me what the loan value of those policies were. ...” It cannot be said that either the findings or the evidence reflect laches or lack of diligence in seeking reformation as a matter of law.
The judgment is affirmed.
Sullivan, P. J., and Molinari, J., concurred.
Cases cited
- Thorp v. Randazzo 41 Cal.2d 770 at 773 p. 220
- Grimm v. Grimm 26 Cal.2d 173 at 175-176 p. 220
- Cook v. Cook 17 Cal.2d 639 at 644 p. 220, p. 226
- Hoeft v. Supreme Lodge Knights of Honor 113 Cal. 91 p. 220
- Prudential Insurance v. Broadhurst 157 Cal.App.2d 375 at 378 p. 220
- Presti v. Manning 125 Cal. App. 442 at 446 p. 220
- New York Life Insurance Co. v. Dunn 46 Cal.App. 203 at 205 p. 220
- Welfer v. Welfer 110 Cal.App.2d 262 at 265 p. 221
- Turner v. Metropolitan Life Insurance 56 Cal. App.2d 862 at 865 p. 221
- Saul v. Miller 23 Cal.App.2d 16 at 18 p. 221
- Waters v. Conselho Supremo Da Uniao Portugueza Do Estado De California 38 Cal.App. 360 p. 221
- Abroms v. New York Life Insurance 53 Cal.App. 2d 764 p. 221
- Nielsen v. Provident Savings Life Assurance Society 139 Cal. 332 at 338 p. 224
- Metcalf v. Metropolitan Life Insurance 1 Cal.App.2d 481 at 485-487 p. 224
- American Surety Co. v. Heise 136 Cal.App.2d 689 at 695-696 p. 224
- Cantlay v. Olds & Stoller Inter-Exchange 119 Cal.App. 605 at 614-617 p. 224
- Gillanders v. Da Silva 212 Cal. 626 at 630-631 p. 224
- Valdez v. Taylor Automobile Co. 129 Cal.App.2d 810 at 812 p. 224
- Mercer Casualty Co. v. Lewis 41 Cal.App.2d 918 at 922-924 p. 224
- National Automobile & Casualty Insurance v. Industrial Accident Commission 34 Cal.2d 20 at 24-25 p. 224
- Eagle Indemnity Co. v. Industrial Accident Commission 92 Cal.App.2d 222 at 224-225 p. 224
- Hart v. Walton 9 Cal.App. 502 at 507 p. 224
- Parker v. Hardisty 54 Cal.App. 628 at 631 p. 224
- Watson v. Collins 204 Cal.App.2d 27 at 32, at 34 p. 224, p. 226
- Smith v. Minnesota Mutual Life Insurance 86 Cal.App.2d 581 p. 224
- Stark v. Pioneer Casualty Co. 139 Cal.App. 577 at 580-581 p. 225
- Lucas v. Metropolitan Life Insurance 14 Cal.App.2d 676 at 680 p. 225
- Linnastruth v. Mut. Benefit Health & Accident Ass'n 22 Cal.2d 216 at 220 p. 225
- California Pacific Title Co. v. Moore 229 Cal.App.2d 114 at 117 p. 226
- Allen v. Meyers 5 Cal.2d 311 at 316 p. 226
- Tracy v. Smith 175 Cal. 161 at 165-166 p. 227