Majority
Appeal from a judgment involving policies of “specific” insurance and “excess” insurance.
October 25, 1946, appellants suffered a loss by fire which destroyed their merchandise to the extent of $34,417.64. On that day they carried three policies of insurance against loss of such property by the following insurers in the following amounts.
Michigan Millers Mutual Fire Insurance Co.. $ 25,000
Northwestern Mutual Fire Association..... 5,000
Fulton Fire Insurance Company.......... 80,000[3]
Total..............................$110,000
Each is referred to herein by the first word of its name.
Following the fire and presentation of claims, a dispute arose among the insurance carriers respecting the extent of liability of each of them under the terms of their respective policies. Being unable to reach an agreement as to the extent of the liability of each, they decided to reimburse their assured for the total loss sustained by the fire according to respondents’ formula and thereafter to adjust disputed matters. Pursuant
Michigan.............................$ 8,298.92
Northwestern......................... 1,659.75
Fulton............................... 24,459.07
Thereupon each took from the assured a “loan receipt agreement.” Before delivering its draft, Fulton required that it approve the loan receipt agreements executed by both respondents. The drafts issued by the insurers were drawn on forms customarily used by them. Within two months after the fire both respondents cancelled their policies. Two months later appellants filed this action on behalf of Fulton. The case was tried on a stipulation of facts and other documents. The court found that (1) Michigan and Northwestern issued their policies of fire insurance upon the merchandise of appellants; (2) respondents’ policies were the only policies of specific insurance in force at the time of the fire; (3) appellants had excess insurance (Fulton’s) to which no liability attached until such specific insurance had been exhausted; (4) the total insurance in effect on the day of the fire was $103,682; (5) Michigan’s proportionate share of the loss is 25,000/103,-682; Northwestern’s is 5,000/103,682; and Fulton’s is 73,682/103,682 or the balance, $24,459.07. The premium paid to Fulton was ascertained by taking the monthly average of the value' of appellant’s merchandise on hand for a year. The court found also that the Fulton policy contains the following provisions:
“5. ‘ Contributing Insurance Clause. ’ Permission is granted for other insurance written upon the same plan, terms, conditions, and provisions as those contained in the form attached to this policy, i.e., insurance written under this provisional reporting form. The insurance under this policy in accordance with its printed conditions or riders, shall contribute only with other insurance as herein above defined, against any peril insured by this policy.
“6.- ‘Specific Insurance.’ Insurance other than described in the ‘Contributing Insurance Clause’ paragraph 5, shall be known as specific insurance for which permission is hereby granted. However, in the computation of the final premium it shall not be permissible to deduct or credit such specific insurance against the values shown in the monthly reports except when
“(a) It has been necessary to procure such insurance to protect values in excess of the limits of liability of this policy, or
“(b) It has been disclosed by written endorsement hereon showing location, expiration and amount.
“7. ‘Excess Clause.’ This policy does not attach to or become insurance against any peril upon property herein described which at the time of any loss is insured by ‘specific insurance’ as defined in paragraph 6, until the liability of such ‘specific insurance’ has been exhausted, and then shall cover only such loss or damage as may exceed the amount due from such ‘specific insurance’ (including the amount otherwise due from invalid insurance had same been valid, and including also the amount due from any uncollectible insurance) after application of any contribution, coinsurance, average, distribution, or other similar clauses contained in policies of such ‘specific insurance’ affecting the amount due thereunder, not, however, exceeding limits as set forth herein.”
Respondents now contend that the ‘ ‘loan” to appellant is a fiction; that since Fulton paid appellants it cannot obtain a decree for a contribution from respondents. The law is otherwise. (Fireman’s Fund Ins. Co. v. Palatine Ins. Co., 150 Cal. 252 , 255 [ 88 P. 907 ]; Luckenbach v. W. J. McCahan Sugar Refining Co., 248 U.S. 139 [ 39 S.Ct. 53 , 63 L.Ed. 170 ].) In the latter case a loss occurred while the merchandise was in possession of a carrier whose bill of lading provided that the carrier shall have the full benefit of any insurance on the cargo. The policy warranted against liability for merchandise in the possession of any carrier who may be liable for loss or damage thereto. The insurer paid the shipper the amount of the loss by use of “loan receipts” whereupon action was brought in the shipper’s name for the insurer’s sole benefit. Mr. Justice Brandéis said that the insurer would not be liable to the shipper if the carrier was liable, but that if the insurer settled the loss before the carrier’s liability had been determined the insurer would lose the benefit of all claims against the carrier to which it would be subrogated in the absence of a provision to the contrary in the bill of lading. If nothing should be recovered from the carrier the shipper could retain the loans as payment under the policies. Such devices are common business practice, declared the court and it is “creditable to the ingenuity of businessmen that an arrangement should have been devised which is consonant both with the needs of commerce and the demands of justice.” The doctrine thus an
Two Kinds op Policies
The contracts sold to appellants by Michigan and Northwestern are standard fire insurance policies which provide fixed and inflexible coverage for which definite premiums are paid. They are known as “specific insurance.” A “specific” policy covers property at a specific location in a specific amount for a specified premium. In event of a loss, the insurer is liable to the extent of its policy. If there are two or more policies of specific insurance they prorate the liability to the extent of their joint coverage. But if the assured carries a “floater” or “monthly reporting” policy, the issuer thereof shares the liability on a different basis.
If a merchant insures his merchandise in one store and pays a definite premium therefor, it is specific insurance and in event of loss he can collect the amount thereof to the extent of his loss but not exceeding the amount of his policy. But if the amount of his stock fluctuates from day to day or if he intends to move his stock from one location to another, or if he maintains several establishments, he contracts with the insurer to pay a premium on his monthly average inventory, and in event of loss he recovers the value of merchandise destroyed. Such an arrangement is effected by including in his policy a provisional amount clause such as is found in Fulton’s policy, to wit:
“The amount of insurance provided for hereunder is provisional and is the amount on which the deposit premium is based, it being the intent of this insurance to insure hereunder the actual cash value of the property described herein, subject to the limits of liability and provisions for other insurance hereinafter provided. ’ ’
Thus the insurance sold by the “provisional reporting” form
Basis of Respondents’ Contention
Inasmuch as respondents’ policies are of the “specific” type written on the Standard Form containing an apportionment of loss clause,[3] as required by section 2071, Insurance Code, they conceive that they are liable for no greater proportion of the loss suffered by appellants than the amount insured bore to the entire insurance covering the property. In this they contend in vain. Fulton’s policy was written subsequent to those of respondents and it provides definitely for Fulton’s liability to attach only to the loss in excess of $30,000 of insurance provided by respondents. It follows that the court below erred in ignoring the “excess” clause of the Fulton policy and in applying the apportionment clauses of respondents’ policies. It has been long established that an insurance policy is merely a contract between insurer and insured; that they may contract as they please so long as they do not violate regulatory statutes; and that an “excess” policy does not attach until the full value protected by specific insurance has been exhausted. (Fairchild v. Liverpool & London Fire & Life Ins. Co., 51 N.Y. 65 ; Klotz Tailoring Co. v. Eastern Fire Ins. Co., 116 App.Div. 723 [ 102 N.Y.S. 82 ] ; Wilson & Co. v. Hartford Fire Ins. Co., 300 Mo. 1 [ 254 S.W. 266 ] ; United Underwriters Ins. Co. v. Powell, 94 Ga. 359 [ 21 S.E. 565 ]; Hale v. Central Manufacturers Mutual Ins. Co.
The Missouri court was equally as emphatic in maintaining the doctrine thus announced. In Wilson & Co. v. Hartford Fire Ins. Co., supra, the plaintiff and other packers had procured a policy of specific insurance from defendant through the Kansas City Livestock Exchange which was comprised of all meat packers who kept their beef steers in the yards. For convenience the exchange was named as the assured. The only limitations on the Hartford insurance were that it would not exceed $150 on any one steer or $35 on any one hog. Wilson Company being insured as a member obtained an excess policy with Globe & Rutgers in the amount of $100,000 which provided that its insurance “shall be considered as surplus insurance where any specific insurance exists on any of the property hereby insured, and this insurance shall not apply or con
The excess clause of a floating policy cannot be defeated by a distinct clause of a policy of specific insurance oh the same property where the pro-rata clause of the latter provides that all insurance on the property whether specific or floating is to be considered in the apportionment. In such a situation, the court held the floating policies did not insure the same property and the insurance under the floating policy did not cover any property then protected by specific insurance. (United Underwriters Ins. Co. v. Powell, supra.)
Notwithstanding the clarity and force of the cited decisions and the soundness of their logic, respondents insist that under the apportionment clauses in their policies they should be required to pay no more than that proportion of the loss which the amounts of their policies bear to the entire insurance. That amount they assert to be $133,682[3] , the aggregate of the face amounts of the three policies. They argue that they should be held respectively for 25,000/133,682 and 5,000/133,682 of the total loss of $34,417.64 and Fulton for 103,682/133,682, the balance of the loss. They cite Air Transport Mfg. Co. v. Employers Liability Assur. Corp., 91 Cal.App.2d 129 [ 204 P.2d 647 ]—a decision of this court. It does not apply to the issues here involved. Pacific Indemnity first issued a public liability policy to Air Transport with a limit of $25,000 for injury to one person. The policy carried an apportionment clause similar to those in the policies of respondents at bar. Later Employers issued to American U-Drive
* This figure is derived from the fact that on the day of the loss the total inventory amounted to #103,682. Respondents contend that the value of the Fulton policy is equal to this sum.
Respondents attempt to dilute the force of paragraph 7 of the Pulton policy. They cannot do so for the reason that its provisions give it a character that determines the issues of the controversy. They admit that paragraph 7 provides that the insurance of Pulton does not attach until the liability of “specific insurance” has been exhausted; that it expressly covers a loss which exceeds the amount due from specific insur
The implication and intendment of the judgment of the court below if held valid would foreshadow grave perils for full insurance coverage in California. If it were correct, it would render difficult and grossly expensive full protection against
Respondents have attempted to distinguish a number of authorities cited in support of the proposition that surplus insurance attaches only after the full coverage of specific policies has been exhausted. They contend that the language of the excess clause referred to in the cited decisions is utterly different from that in the Fulton policy. But a momentary perusal of the cases demonstrates that they are peculiarly apropos. Their excess clauses are substantially identical with that in the Fulton policy. In United Underwriters Insurance Co. v. Powell ( 94 Ga. 359 [ 21 S.E. 565 ]) the provision in a policy other than the specific insurance was “this policy shall not apply to or cover any cotton which may at the time of loss be covered, in whole or in part by . . . any more specific insurance.” In response to the specific insurer for a contribution the court ruled that under the quoted clause it was not entitled thereto. The excess clauses in the Fairchild and Klotz eases, supra, provided that the excess policies should not cover property covered by specific insurance. In Hale v. Central Manufacturers Mutual Ins. Co. (Mo.App.) 93 S.W.2d 271 , and Cutting v. Atlas Mut. Ins. Co., 199 Mass. 380 [ 85 N.E. 174 ], the excess insurance policy provided that it should not apply until all specific insurance is exhausted. Respondents erroneously conclude that they applied the formula used in Federal Int. Credit Bank v. Globe & Rutgers Fire Ins. Co., 7 F.Supp. 56 , in computing their proportions of the liability to appellants. The monthly reporting policy in the Federal
Respondents likewise misinterpret Wilson & Co. v. Hartford Fire Ins. Co., supra. Despite their efforts to distinguish the decision by contending that “there was no excess of value at risk, and therefore the Globe Eutgers was not liable for any proportion of the loss,” it is clear that the Hartford policies had no amount of insurance stated but that they named a limit to be paid on any one hog or steer. The court did not suggest that the amount of insurance in relation to the value of the entire property was to be considered. The excess policy contained a paragraph to the effect that it is surplus insurance “where any specific insurance exists on any of the property hereby insured, and this insurance shall not apply or contribute until the amount collected from all specific insurance shall have been exhausted. ’ ’ The court held that the defendant was obliged to pay the extent of its full liability. Since the loss was only $68,000, it was fully protected by the specific policy and consequently the excess insurers escaped liability.
From a review of the authorities, considering the clear and explicit meaning of Fulton’s excess clause, the effect of the judgment of the trial court is exactly what it should be if the author of that clause had concluded with a provision for Fulton to apportion any loss with the specific insurers: the antithesis of the intention of the excess clause as written.
The judgment is reversed with instructions to enter judgment as prayed. Appeal from order denying appellants’ motion for a new trial is dismissed.
McComb, J., and Wilson, J., concurred.
A petition for a rehearing was denied August 16, 1950, and respondents’ petition for a hearing by the Supreme Court was denied September 25, 1950.
Footnotes
- * $80,000 was taken as the basic amount for computing the' annual premium on the policy whose liability fluctuated with the changing inventory. However, the policy fixed §115,000 as the maximum liability.
- * “TMs company shall not, be liable under this policy for a greater proportion of any loss on the described property, or for loss by, and expenses of, removal from the premises endangered by fire, than the amount hereby insured bears to the entire insurance covering such property whether valid or not] or by solvent dr insolvent insurers.”
Cases cited
- Fireman's Fund Ins. Co. v. Palatine Ins. Co. 150 Cal. 252 at 255 p. 746
- Luckenbach v. W. J. McCahan Sugar Refining Co. 248 U.S. 139 p. 746
- Fairchild v. Liverpool & London Fire & Life Insurance 51 N.Y. 65 p. 748
- Klotz Tailoring Co. v. Eastern Fire Ins. 116 App.Div. 723 p. 748
- Air Transport Manufacturing Co. v. Employers' Liability Assurance Corp. 91 Cal.App.2d 129 p. 750
- Farmers' Feed Co. of New Jersey v. Scottish Union & National Insurance 173 N.Y. 241 p. 752