Majority
Headnote
1. Fire Insurance—Oral Contract of Local Agents to Continue Risk and Renew it on Credit. Where a member of a firm of local fire insurance agents, authorized to countersign, issue and renew policies, agrees orally to continue an existing contract of insurance and issue a renewal or policy therefor, the insurer is bound although credit was given for the renewal premium.As the judgment for plaintiff was unanimously affirmed by the Appellate Division, the facts are conclusively settled in her favor.
The Hanover Fire Insurance Company in 1893 was represented at Jamestown, FT. Y., by its agents, Horton Brothers, who issued a policy to the plaintiff, dated December 20tli, 1893, insuring certain personal property for the term of one year. The property was destroyed by. fire on the 29th day of December, 1894.
The plaintiff’s contention is that the policy was duly renewed prior to its expiration, December 20th, 1894; the defendant insists the policy expired on the last-named date.
The jury have necessarily found that a verbal contract, renewing the policy for another year, was made between the plaintiff’s husband, acting as her agent, and one of the firm of Horton Brothers about ten days before expiration ; that plaintiff was to pay premium in not more than thirty days and call and get policy.
The learned counsel for the defendant raises his first question of laAV, based on this finding of fact, to the effect that the agents of the company had no authority to make a verbal contract to continue a risk beyond the expiration date.
The defendant read in evidence the certificate of appointment making Horton Brothers its agents at Jamestown, and among other powers therein conferred was “ to countersign, issue and renew policies of insurance.”
The oral contract is the ordinary and usual agreement which an insurance agent makes on the eve of a policy expiring that
-This court considered the question in Ellis v. Albany City Fire Insurance Co. ( 50 N. Y. 402 ) and held the parol contract valid. In a later case (Angell v. Hartford Fire Ins. Co., 59 N. Y. 171 ) the authority cited was followed, and it was further held that the payment of premium, at the time of the oral agreement, is not necessary to make the contract binding on the company; if a credit be given by the agent it. is equally obligatory. (Trustees, etc., v. Brooklyn Fire Ins. Co., 19 N. Y. 305 ; Audubon v. Excelsior Ins. Co., 27 N. Y. 216 .)
In Ruggles v. American Central Ins. Co. ( 114 N. Y. 415 ), this court, in the Second Division, upheld the oral agreement from the date of the conversation. (See, also, the recent case of Hicks v. British American Ins. Co., 162 N. Y. 284 .)
The .matter of parol agreement by a local insurance agent was quite recently before this court in a case involving the oral promise of the agent made with the transferee of the property and policy to go where- the latter was kept by a third person and make the required indorsement. The agent failed to keep his promise, a fire occurred, and it was held that the transferee could recover from the company the amount of the insurance as damages for the breach of such oral agreement. (Manchester v. Guardian Assurance Co., 151 N. Y. 88 .) The line of cases cited was there approved.
In the case at bar it follows that the oral agreement of defendant’s agents to renew plaintiff’s insurance was a contract they were legally competent to make, and the recovery thereon must be sustained.
The defendant further insists, however, that there was legal error in allowing, over its objection and exception, certain questions to be propounded to the agents, Horton Brothers, on cross-examination, whereby it was sought .to lay the.foundation for their collateral impeachment.
Plain tiff placed Wickes on the stand, Avho stated that he knew Horton and had a talk with him about the fire. This question was put to him: “ Q. And did you ask him if they, the insurance company, were settling "with Squier’s people for their loss, or that in substance, and did he reply that he had written the adjuster and he thought that when he got there the loss would be settled and paid, or that in substance ? A. He did.”
Walter B. Horton, the other member of the firm of Horton Brothers, when under cross-examination, was asked this question : “ Q. In that conversation did you say or did Mr. Bich say to you in the presence of Mr. Wells, ‘ It is a hard blow for Mr. Squier or Mrs. Squier,’ and ask you if he had got to lose this amount, and did you reply, in substance, that you thought not, that you thought you could get it for him ? A. What you said I didn’t say at all. The substance is different. I didn’t say that in substance.”
Wells was placed upon the stand, and, on being duly questioned, testified that Walter B. Horton stated to him substantially that which is embodied in the above question.
The defendant’s counsel objected to the question asked Charles 1. Horton, on the ground that it was incompetent, immaterial and “ any declaration made by this witness that an adjuster would come or pay a loss if the company was not liable for a loss would not bind the company.”
The same objection, in substance, was interposed to the question asked Walter B. Horton,
The rule is well settled that a witness may be asked on his cross-examination, with a view to his credibility, whether he has not made statements touching a material issue in the cause at variance with his testimony in chief, and if he denies having made such statements, the. party against whom he is called may show, by other witnesses, that he did make them. (Patchin v. Astor Mutual Ins. Co., 13 N. Y. 268 ; Schell v. Plumb, 55 N. Y. 592 ; People v. Schuyler, 106 N. Y. 298 ; 1 Greenleaf’s Ev. [16th ed.] §§ 461f, 462 et seq.)
Applying this rule to the facts in the case at bar, it is clear that the questions asked Horton Brothers under cross-examination bore strongly upon” their credibility by'showing declarations- made by them after the fire at variance with their evidence at the trial and their general position as agents of the defendant,
We have this situation: The plaintiff insisting the policy of insurance was seasonably renewed, and the defendant asserting, through its agents, that the risk on the property terminated by lapse of time nine days before the fire.
In other words, at the time the property .was destroyed, the defendant company rested under no legal obligation to pay the loss, and the plaintiff might have, with equal propriety, sued any other insurance company in the state of New York.
This being so, there was but one position that Horton Brothers, the agents of the company, could consistently assume and maintain, to wit, the positive denial of liability. It was, however, established by disinterested witnesses at the
Walter B. Horton, under like circumstances, stated that he did not think plaintiff would lose the amount, and that he thought he could get it for her.
These statements were inconsistent with the position of no liability on the part of the defendant, and if the jury believed the disinterested witnesses who swore to them, they were justified, in the exercise of their honest judgment, in rejecting the entire evidence of Horton Brothers.
The judgment appealed from should be affirmed, with costs.
Parker, Ch. J., Martin, Vann, Cullen and Werner, JJ., concur; Gray, J., not voting.
Judgment affirmed.
Cases cited
- Shank v. Glens Falls Insurance 4 App. Div. 516 p. 553
- Quinlan v. Providence Washington Insurance 133 N. Y. 356 p. 553
- O'Reilly v. Corp. of the London Assurance 101 N. Y. 575 p. 553
- Vicksburg & Meridian Railroad v. O'Brien 119 U. S. 99 p. 553
- McNeill v. Metropolitan Street Railway Co. 20 Misc. Rep. 426 p. 553
- Sargent v. National Fire Insurance 86 N. Y. 626 p. 553
- Trustees of the First Baptist Church v. Brooklyn Fire Insurance 19 N. Y. 305 p. 553, p. 554, p. 555
- Ellis v. Albany City Fire Insurance 50 N. Y. 402 p. 553, p. 555
- Van Loan v. Farmers' Mutual Fire Insurance Ass'n of Catskill 90 N. Y. 280 p. 553
- Post & Dowding v. Ætna Insurance 43 Barb. 351 p. 553
- Kelly v. Commonwealth Insurance of Pennsylvania 10 Bosw. 82 p. 553
- Schoick v. Niagara Fire Insurance 68 N. Y. 434 p. 553
- Angell v. Hartford Fire Insurance 59 N. Y. 171 p. 554, p. 555
- Reynolds v. Westchester Fire Insurance 8 App. Div. 193 p. 554
- Audubon v. Excelsior Insurance 27 N. Y. 216 p. 554, p. 555
- Trustees of First Baptist Church v. Brooklyn Fire Insurance 18 Barb. 69 p. 554
- Goit v. National Protection Insurance 25 Barb. 189 p. 554
- Ruggles v. American Central Insurance Co. of St. Louis 114 N. Y. 415 p. 555
- Hicks v. British America Assurance Co. 162 N. Y. 284 p. 555
- Manchester v. Guardian Assurance Co. 151 N. Y. 88 p. 555
- Patchin v. Astor Mutual Insurance 13 N. Y. 268 p. 557
- Schell v. Plumb 55 N. Y. 592 p. 557
- People v. Schuyler 106 N. Y. 298 p. 557