Majority
Headnote
Insurance—Construction of Accident Insurance Policy— Punctuation — Resolution of Doubt in Favor of Insured. Where an accident insurance policy provides that “Any member of this Association, who, during his membership, sustains by accident the loss of an arm or leg, or is injured by an accident, which injury shall result in the loss of an arm or leg, shall be entitled to, and shall receive as an indemnity for such loss, a sum equal to one-half the amount collected from an assessment as for one death, which sum shall not exceed twenty-five hundred dollars (§2,500); any member of this Association, who, during his membership, sustains by accident the loss of both arms, or both legs, or one arm and one leg, or is injured by an accident, which injury shall result in the loss of both arms or legs, or one arm and one leg, shall be entitled to, and shall receive as an indemnity for loss, a sum equal to the amount collected from an assessment as for one death, which sum shall not exceed five thousand dollars, provided such loss occur within three calendar months after the accident which causes it; and provided further, that the word ‘loss’as used in this section, is hereby construed to mean actual amputation,” the limitation in the second clause as to the time within which a loss must occur to entitle the assured to recover therefor would seem, from arrangement of the clauses and the punctuation, to have no application to the loss provided for in the first clause; but if any doubt or uncertainty exists as to such a construction it must be resolved in favor of the assured, since the insurer prepared the policy and is responsible for its language and the manner in which it was used; and, therefore, in an action upon the policy, the fact that the loss of a leg occurred more than three months after the injury will not bar a recovery.Confessedly the determination of this controversy is dependent upon the construction of a single section or paragraph of the defendant’s constitution which is made a part of its policy or contract of insurance. The section to be considered reads as follows: Any member of this Association, who, during his membership, sustains by accident the loss of an arm or leg, or is injured by an accident, which injury shall result in the loss of an arm or leg, shall be entitled to, and shall receive as an indemnity for such loss, a sum equal to one-half the amount collected from an assessment as for one death, which sum shall not exceed twenty-five hundred
On the seventeenth of June, 1898, while the policy or certificate of insurance in suit was in full force and effect, the insured, the plaintiffs’ testator, sustained a compound fracture of both bones of his left leg, the broken bones protruding through the flesh. He was subsequently taken to a hospital and, upon the twenty-third day of the following September, his leg was amputated which resulted in his death on the sixteenth of the following month. It will be observed that the injury occurred on the seventeenth day of June and the amputation took place upon the twenty-third of September, more than three months after the injury. The sole question presented is whether the words “ provided such loss occur within three calendar months,” contained in the second clause of the section quoted, apply to a loss provided for in the first. When the section under consideration is analyzed and its grammatical construction considered it becomes evident that, grammatically, the provision contained in the second clause related only to the injuries which were therein described. The first clause plainly provides for the payment of an amount which shall not exceed twenty-five hundred dollars for the loss of a single arm or leg. It, however, contains no provision limiting the time within which the loss must occur to entitle the assured to recover the indemnity therein provided for. It seems to be complete in itself and in no way to relate to the provision in the second clause that the loss must occur within three months. The second clause provides for a differ
If, however, there is any doubt or uncertainty as to the meaning of this policy, it must be resolved in favor of the plaintiffs upon the well-recognized ground that it was the defendant who prepared it, and if any doubt exists as to the meaning of the terms employed the defendant is responsible for it, as the language was wholly its own. “ The reason of the rule that the language of an instrument is to be construed against the person who proposes it rather than against the person who is invited to accept it, is that men are supposed to take care of themselves, and that Jie who chooses the words by which a right is given ought to be. held to the strict interpretation of them rather than he who only accepts them.” (Gillet v. Bank of America, 160 N. Y. 549 , 555; Mynard v. Syr., B. & N. Y. R. R. Co., 71 N. Y. 180 ; Nicholas v. N. Y. C. & H. R. R. R. Co., 89 N. Y. 370 ; Herrman v. Merchants’ Ins. Co., 81 N. Y. 184 ; Hoffman v. Ætna F. Ins. Co., 32 N. Y. 405 .)
Where in an instrument like this, by one clause the rights of a party are clearly defined and plainly established, those rights should not be modified or defeated by a subsequent clause, unless it shows clearly that such was its plain and decisive purpose and effect. These considerations lead to the conclusion that the court below erred in holding that the fact
The judgment should be reversed and a new trial ordered, with costs to abide the event.
Parker, Ch. J., Bartlett, Haight, Vann and Werner, JJ., concur; Cullen, J.,dissents.
Judgment reversed, etc.
Cases cited
- Rann v. Home Insurance 59 N. Y. 387 p. 435
- Kratzenstein v. Western Assurance Co. of Toronto 116 N. Y. 54 p. 435
- Paul v. Travelers' Insurance 112 N. Y. 472 p. 435
- Griffey v. New York Central Insurance 100 N. Y. 417 p. 435
- Hoffman v. Ætna Fire Insurance 32 N. Y. 405 p. 435, p. 438
- Herrman v. Merchants' Insurance 81 N. Y. 184 p. 435, p. 438
- Marvin v. Stone 2 Cow. 781 p. 435
- Demings v. Supreme Lodge, Knights of Pythias, of the World 131 N. Y. 522 p. 435
- Fink v. D., L. & W. Mutual Aid Society of Scranton 57 App. Div. 507 p. 435
- In re the Equitable Reserve Fund Life Ass'n 131 N. Y. 354 p. 435
- Tyrrell v. Mayor of New York 159 N. Y. 239 at 243 p. 435, p. 438
- McCormack v. Mayor of New York 14 Misc. Rep. 272 p. 435
- Reynolds v. Commerce Fire Insurance 47 N. Y. 597 p. 435
- Darrow v. Family Fund Society 116 N. Y. 537 p. 435
- Gillet v. Bank of America 160 N. Y. 549 at 555 p. 438
- Mynard v. Syracuse, Binghamton & New York Railroad 71 N. Y. 180 p. 438
- Nicholas v. New York Central & Hudson River Railroad 89 N. Y. 370 p. 438