Majority
Headnote
Insurance — language of policy most strongly construed against insurer — builders’ risk insurance covers materials delivered on" the ground with intention to incorporate them into building — when evidence of intention and custom properly excluded — fact that language of policy follows language of application does not relieve insurer of burden of having obscure phrases construed against it- — policy covering loss by fire to materials in shipyard not insurance against marine peril.The question is whether the insurance policy sued on covered the loss sustained. Plaintiff has a shipyard in Brooklyn where it repairs vessels and builds barges. It carried a small stock of lumber for use in its repair business which was covered by a policy of general stock insurance. Being about to begin the construction of several scows, it obtained a policy from the defendant and six other companies jointly insuring it “ for account of whom it may concern ” in the sum of $50,000 “To cover the legal liability of the assured, from any cause whatsoever, for loss and/or damage and/or expense, if any, to vessels and/or craft and/or their cargoes and/or their freight, arising from or in connection with the operation of their plant, situated in Brooklyn, New York Harbor, including . dry docks and/or marine railways used and operated in connection therewith.”
The policy also provides: “ This insurance is also extended to cover, subject to the terms of the Builders’ Risk Clauses,— as attached, the interest of the assured
The first paragraph of the builders’ risk clauses provides: “ This insurance is also to cover all risks, including fire while under construction and /or fitting out, including materials in buildings, workshops, yards and docks of the assured * * *.”
Plaintiff before obtaining the policy had contracted to build the scows. The contracts provided that it should furnish the necessary timber. As the work progressed, payments were to be made by the owners in installments. After the first payment was made, plaintiff was to to protect the owner under a specific policy on each vessel. Plaintiff had procured the stock required for each vessel and piled it separately in its yard where the work was to be done, but had gone no further than to shape up some material to be used in the construction of the scows when a fire destroyed a quantity of the lumber. The total amount destroyed was 674,914 feet of a total of 1,266,914 feet. Of this quantity about 19,000 feet was fabricated timber.
The courts below have held that within the meaning of the policy the work had been begun on each vessel and that the insurer was hable for the loss.
The language of the policy is not as clear and unequivocal as it might be, but it relates to loss to vessels “ completed or in the process of completion ” including materials assigned to vessels under construction. If it is fairly susceptible of two interpretations, one of which being that contended for by the insured, it should, be most strongly construed against the insurer. (Herman v. Merchants Ins. Co., 81 N. Y. 184 , 188, 190; Janneck v. Met. Life Ins. Co., 162 N. Y. 574 , 576, 577; Michael v. Prussian Nat. Ins. Co., 171 N. Y. 25 , 35; Paskusz v. Phila. Cas. Co., 213 N. Y. 22 , 26; Thompson v. Phenix Ins. Co., 136 U. S. 287 .)
It was held in People ex rel. N. Y. C. & H. R. R. R. Co. v. Purdy ( 216 N. Y. 704 , reversing on dissenting opinion of Scott, J., 167 App. Div. 637 , 642) that the digging of an excavation within which to erect a structure is not an act in the construction of a building. That case, however, involved the exemption from taxation of “ a building in the course of construction.” Plainly it was the intent of the legislature to encourage building by exempting from taxation a building actually and literally in the course of construction, and this purpose would not be met by the mere excavation of a cellar.
We are not, however, construing a statute conferring a
Evidence of intention and custom offered by the defendant to show and explain the meaning of the policy as contended for by it was properly excluded. (Rickerson v. Hartford Fire Ins. Co., 149 N. Y. 307 .) The court should construe the policy according to the intention appearing by the words. One should not be left to learn whether he is insured or not, until the verdict of a jury is rendered on disputed parol evidence. (Henman v. Merchants Ins. Co., supra.)
The fact that the language of the policy follows the language of the application of the insured, does not alter the situation. When the insurer adopted the language of the application in covering the risk, it became the author of the ambiguity and the ultimate cause of doubt. It must bear the burden of having obscure phrases construed in favor of the insured. London Assurance Corpn. v. Thompson ( 170 N. Y. 94 ) is not an authority to the contrary. It dealt with a contract of re-insurance. The
So far as the policy covers loss by fire to materials in the yard, it is not an insurance against marine perils. It is, to that extent, an ordinary fire risk having no relation to navigation. (City of Detroit v. Grummond, 121 Fed. Rep. 963 , 971.)
The judgment appealed from should be affirmed, with costs.
Hogan, Cardozo, McLaughlin and Crane, JJ., concur; Hiscock, Ch. J., and Andrews, J., dissent.
Judgment affirmed'.
Cases cited
- People ex rel. New York Central & Hudson River Railroad v. Purdy 216 N. Y. 704 p. 24, p. 28
- Petrie v. Trustees of Hamilton College 158 N. Y. 458 p. 25
- Middleworth v. Ordway 191 N. Y. 404 p. 25
- Atkinson v. Truesdell 127 N. Y. 230 p. 25
- Hearne v. Marine Insurance 87 U. S. 488 p. 26
- Gray v. Germania Fire Insurance 155 N. Y. 180 p. 26
- De Remer v. Brown 165 N. Y. 410 p. 26
- Janneck v. Metropolitan Life Insurance 162 N. Y. 574 at 576, 577 p. 26, p. 27
- Kratzenstein v. Western Assurance Co. of Toronto 116 N. Y. 54 p. 26
- Michael v. Prussian National Insurance 171 N. Y. 25 at 35 p. 26, p. 27
- Herrman v. Merchants' Insurance 81 N. Y. 184 at 188, 190 p. 26, p. 27
- Thompson v. Phenix Insurance 136 U. S. 287 p. 26, p. 27
- Paskusz v. Philadelphia Casualty Co. 213 N. Y. 22 at 26 p. 27
- Aldrich v. New York Life Insurance 235 N. Y. 214 at 224 p. 28
- Rickerson v. Hartford Fire Insurance 149 N. Y. 307 p. 29
- London Assurance Corp. v. Thompson 170 N. Y. 94 p. 29