Majority
The Alexandre Works, Inc., a domestic corporation, was engaged in business on Stewart ave., Garden City, Long Island, New York, as dealer in and manufacturer of fur novelties. Its plant consisted of a number of brick buildings containing machinery and personal property of considerable value. The insurance amounted to $369,000. On January 9, 1922, it went into bankruptcy, and Percival Wilds on that day was appointed receiver, going into possession on January 14, 1922. The
The nine policies insured the Alexandre Works, Inc.:
“ Loss, if any, payable to The Hempstead Plains Company, The Greenwich Bank, and the New Netherland Bank of New York as their respective interests may appear.”
The Hempstead Plains Company was a mortgagee under two mortgages covering the property of the Alexandre Works, Inc., and five of the policies contained a mortgagee clause. The Greenwich Bank and the New Netherland Bank of New York did not have a mortgage. “ They owned some of the merchandise it was given on trust receipts.” The claims of the banks and of the mortgagee, the Hempstead Plains Company, are the ones which are involved in this lawsuit, although the trustee in bankruptcy is a party representing the Alexandre Works, Inc.
In reviewing the defenses made by the insurance company, I shall deal with the questions in the following order: first, the rights of the mortgagee; second, the transfer of possession to the receiver; and third, the notice of loss given to the companies.
The Hempstead Plains Company, as to five of these policies, was a mortgagee, protected by a mortgage
“ Loss or damage, if any, under this policy, shall be payable to Hempstead Plains Co. as first mortgagee (or trustee), as interest may appear, and this insurance, as to the interest of the mortgagee (or trustee) only therein, shall not be invalidated by any act or neglect of the mortgagor or owner of the within described property, nor by qny foreclosure or other proceedings or notice of sale relating to the property, nor by any change in the title or ownership of the property, nor by the occupation of the premises for purposes more hazardous than are permitted by this policy; Provided, that in case the mortgagor or owner shall neglect to pay any premium due under this policy, the mortgagee (or trustee) shall, on demand, pay the same.”
This is all that need be quoted for the purposes of this opinion.
Under this clause, therefore, as to these five policies, the appointment of the receiver and the transfer of possession to him or the failure of the insured to give
In this connection, however, another question has arisen. All the policies contained the subrogation clause. It reads:
“ On payment to such mortgagee of any sum for loss or damage hereunder, if this Company shall claim that as to the mortgagor or owner, no liability existed, it shall, to the extent of such payment be subrogated to the mortgagee’s right of recovery and claim upon the collateral to the mortgage debt, but without impairing the mortgagee’s right to sue or it may pay the mortgage debt and require an assignment thereof and of the mortgage.”
The only benefit of this clause to the companies is in case they are liable to the mortgagee, but not liable to the insured; that they have a defense against the insured which for some reason, possibly the mortgagee clause, is not good as against the mortgagee. In this case, as I shall show later, the companies have no defense, as against the insured, for the reason that there was no transfer of possession within the meaning of the policy, and that the notice of loss was given in time.
As to these five policies, therefore, the insurance companies were hable to the Hempstead Plains Company under the mortgagee clause. Judgment should have been directed in its favor.
The Greenwich Bank and the New Netherland Bank of New York were not mortgagees, and did not come within the benefit of this mortgagee clause, as to these five policies. They held trust receipts, the nature of which is not stated in the record. They had some right of property in the merchandise. Apparently the Alexandre Works, Inc., held the merchandise, the title remaining in the banks. As between the banks and the
Was there a transfer of possession by the appointment of the receiver within the meaning of the policies? The policies provided: “This entire policy shall be void, * * * (d) if any change, other than by the death of an insured, take place in the interest, title or possession
Some of these cases have held that the possession was not that of the receiver but the possession of the court, and that this was not a change of possession within the meaning of the policy.
That a receiver going into possession in bankruptcy proceedings may very materially increase the risk is not difficult to foresee. All work generally stops; the insured is apt to lose interest in his property and its upkeep; the vigilance which watches over a prosperous going concern is keener than that which is to preserve it merely for creditors. Many things may be suggested in favor of a ruling that the possession of a receiver is such a transfer of rights over property as to void a policy of insurance and in and of itself does increase the risk. If this were a new question presented for the first time, we might be more patient in listening to this plea of the insurance companies. The rule, to the contrary, however, has been deeply written into the law, and the companies continue to use the same phrase in their policies with this interpretation which has been given to it by the courts. It is too late now to construe these words
The trial court held that notice of loss was not given in time. As all the facts were conceded, and there, were no different inferences to be drawn from them, his ruling was clearly one of law, as his opinion indicates. The Appellate Division reversed and sent the case back for a new trial, holding that the twelve days which elapsed between the fire and the notice of loss were not fatal as matter of law. The case comes here upon a stipulation for judgment absolute given by the insurance companies, so that if notice was given within reasonable time, as matter of law, the appellants must lose.
The fire causing the total loss occurred February 17, 1922. Notice of loss was given on March 1st to the insurance companies which had issued these nine policies. But this is not the whole story. The policies in standard form contained this clause:
“ Requirements in case of loss.— The insured shall give immediate notice in writing, to this Company, of any loss or damage, protect the property from further damage, forthwith separate the damaged and undamaged personal property, put it in the best possible order, furnish a complete inventory,” etc.
These -requirements are not included within the provisions which are said to make the policy void unless complied with. We may assume that whatever penalty follows from failure to meet these requirements is applicable alike to each and every one of them. Unless immediate notice is given, it is said that the policy is void. Does this also follow.if the property is not protected from further damage, or separated from the undamaged property, or not put in the best possible order? And if not, why not? The penalty which follows from the failure to comply with any of these requirements is stated at the end of the policy: “ No suit or action on this policy, for the recovery of any claim, shall be
The Alexandre Works, Inc., as above stated, had reduced its insurance to $293,500 represented by 39 separate and distinct policies of insurance. The insurance had been covered and the policies obtained by Joseph Bookstaver, an insurance broker doing a general insurance business. The actual work in connection with this insurance was handled by Elias Klein, an employee of Bookstaver’s. Before the fires, Klein-had been instructed by Mr. Geist, one of the officers of the Alexandre Works, Inc., to effect some change in the interest of a mortgagee on one of the policies, and later undertook to transfer all the policies into the name of the receiver. He collected all the policies, going to Garden City for some and to “ different sources ” for the others. Before the fire, he had all the thirty-nine policies. Thirty of them had been transferred into the name of the receiver.
What reason is there for placing a narrow and strict construction upon the words, “ immediate notice of loss? ” When we consider that this is not made one of the conditions which voids the policy, but is linked up to those provisions relating to requirements after the loss, we should give this policy a reasonable interpretation,
The fire occurred; there is no fraud; the loss has been sustained; the policies covered the loss, and this point relates to those things which must be done by the insured in connection with the remedy. He must give immediate notice of the loss, which we have held repeatedly means notice within a reasonable time. Notice given as soon as the receiver or his representative knew of the existence of the policies, which a clerk had concealed, and within twelve days after the fire, is given within a reasonable time.
The rule has been repeatedly stated that a reasonable time, when the facts are undisputed and different inferences cannot reasonably be drawn from the facts, is a question of law. (Wright v. Bank of Metropolis, 110 N. Y. 237 , 249; Travelers Ins. Co. v. Pomerantz, 246 N. Y. 63 ; Bennett v. Lycoming Mut. Ins. Co., supra.) This is one of those general rules, however, which is some times difficult of application, and results in the question being left to a jury when it is near the border line. (Carpenter v. German American Ins. Co., 135 N. Y. 298 , 303.)
There are one or two other points raised by the insurance companies, but we need not discuss them, as in our judgment they have been rightly disposed of.
The order should be affirmed and judgment absolute ordered against the appellant on the stipulation, with costs in all courts.
Cardozo, Ch. J., Pound, Andrews, Lehman, Kellogg and O’Brien, JJ., concur.
Order affirmed, etc.
Cases cited
- Quinlan v. Providence Washington Insurance 133 N. Y. 356 p. 117
- Inman v. Western Fire Insurance 12 Wend. 452 p. 117
- Weed v. Hamburg-Bremen Fire Insurance 133 N. Y. 394 p. 117, p. 119
- Rand v. Iowa Central Railway Co. 186 N. Y. 58 p. 118
- Nicoll v. Sands 131 N. Y. 19 p. 118
- Woolsey v. Funke 121 N. Y. 87 p. 118
- Lett v. Guardian Fire Insurance 125 N. Y. 82 p. 118
- Keeney v. Home Insurance 71 N. Y. 396 p. 118, p. 120, p. 126
- Fuller v. Jameson 98 App. Div. 53 p. 118
- Walradt v. Phœnix Insurance Co. of Hartford 136 N. Y. 375 p. 118, p. 126
- Thompson v. Phenix Insurance 136 U. S. 287 p. 119, p. 120, p. 126
- McDowell v. St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance 207 N. Y. 482 p. 119, p. 120, p. 124
- Heilbrunn v. German Alliance Insurance 202 N. Y. 610 p. 119, p. 120, p. 123
- Bertolami v. United Enginering & Contracting Co. 198 N. Y. 71 p. 119
- Cary v. White 59 N. Y. 336 p. 119
- People ex rel. Warschauer v. Dalton 159 N. Y. 235 p. 119
- Solomon v. Continental Fire Insurance 160 N. Y. 595 p. 119, p. 128
- O'Brien v. Phœnix Insurance 76 N. Y. 459 p. 119
- Carpenter v. German American Insurance 135 N. Y. 298 at 303 p. 119, p. 128, p. 131
- Matthews v. American Central Insurance 154 N. Y. 449 at 457 p. 119, p. 128, p. 131
- Glazer v. Home Insurance 190 N. Y. 6 at 11 p. 120, p. 131
- Paltrovitch v. Phœnix Insurance Co. of Hartford 143 N. Y. 73 at 77 p. 120, p. 131
- Leitch v. Hollister 4 N. Y. 211 p. 120
- Moore v. Hanover Fire Insurance 141 N. Y. 219 p. 120, p. 124
- United States v. Whitridge 231 U. S. 144 p. 125
- Bennett v. Lycoming County Mutual Insurance 67 N. Y. 274 p. 128
- Melcher v. Ocean Accident & Guarantee Corp. 226 N. Y. 51 p. 130
- McNally v. Phœnix Insurance 137 N. Y. 389 p. 131
- Sergent v. Liverpool & London & Globe Insurance 155 N. Y. 349 p. 131
- Wright v. Bank of Metropolis 110 N. Y. 237 at 249 p. 131
- Travelers Insurance v. Pomerantz 246 N. Y. 63 p. 131