Majority
This appeal relates to a $22,000 life insurance policy taken out in the Connecticut General Life Insurance Company to insure the life of a limited partner, Charles H. Jones. He has died and the money is claimed by his general partners and by the executors of his estate. Who is entitled to it depends entirely upon the partnership agreement. Charles H. Jones was a limited partner having contributed $50,000 to the partnership. He was to get this back at some time and the insurance taken out was to secure the repayment. This is the purpose for the insurance which was carried by the partnership. Chas. II. Jones & Co., composed of Philip L. Morrison, William J. Banigan, as general partners, and Charles H. Jones, as limited partner, dealt in stocks, bonds, notes, drafts, loans and other securities in the city of New York. On January 2, 1928, the partnership articles were executed, wherein it is stated that Charles H. Jones as limited partner contributes $50,000 capital. The agreement is for one year, or to terminate sooner in case of the death of any of the partners. On dissolution the limited partner is to be repaid out of the net assets of the partnership his contribution of $50,000, with interest. To insure or secure this repayment, policies of life insurance were taken out upon the lives of all the partners, the premiums being carried as a partnership expense.
As the $22,000 life policy in the Connecticut General Life Insurance Company is the only one in dispute, our
“ 11. Life insurance on the lives of Philip L. Morrison, William J. Banigan and Charles H. Jones is now outstanding and is to be continued as follows:
“ P. L. Morrison
“ $22,000. — John Hancock Mutual Life
Ins. Co................Policy 818550
“ $28,000.— Aetna Life Ins. Co....... “ P572485
“ W. J. Banigan
“ $50,000.— Aetna Life Ins. Co....... “ P572445
“ Chas. H. Jones
“ $22,000.— Conn. Gen’l Life Ins. Co.. “ 182170
“ $28,000.— Aetna Life Ins. Co....... “ N566100
“ Premiums thereon shall be treated as an item of expense of the firm.
“ Such policies have been obtained for the purpose of securing repayment of the Limited Partner’s contribution and have been assigned to such Limited Partner or his executors.
“ Upon the decease of any one of the partners the proceeds of the policy or policies upon the fife of such deceased partner shall be applied in repayment of any unpaid balance of the Limited Partner’s contribution, and any such proceeds not required for this purpose shall be the property of the firm. The Limited Partner agrees that at any time upon the repayment of his contribution in full, he, or in case he is dead, his legal representative, will assign and deliver to the firm all of the above policies then outstanding. It is agreed that if the contribution of the Limited Partner is repaid in full at any time during his fife, the Limited Partner shall have the privilege of paying to the firm the cash surrender value, if any (as of the date of such repayment) of the policies on his fife, and thereupon all policies on the fife of the Limited Partner shall become his sole property,— and the firm shall have no further interest therein.”
Later the Connecticut General life Insurance policy, with the consent of all parties, was changed from a “ term policy ” to a “ straight fife policy,” which cost more money. The partnership evidently did not desire to pay the additional premium, although they were willing to continue paying the original sum. The premium on the term policy had been $885.06. This was
To cover this point the parties executed an additional agreement on the 3d day of August, 1928. It made no changes in the original agreement of January 2, 1928, except to take care of this additional payment of premium and the disposition of the straight fife policy after dissolution, not solely in case of Jones’ death. This supplementary agreement in these particulars reads as follows:
“ Premiums on the policies of Messrs. Morrison and Banigan and the premium on the $28,000 Aetna Life Ins. Co. Policy N566100 of Mr. Jones shall be treated as items of expense of the firm. Premiums on the $22,000 Conn. Genfl. Life Ins. Co. Policy 182170 of Mr. Jones, which policy was formerly a £ term policy ’ but was converted into a £ straight fife ’ policy upon the payment by Mr. Jones of required additional premiums, shall be paid by the firm in the amount of $885.06 per annum and treated as a firm expense; Mr. Jones shall pay the balance of the premium on said policy in excess of $885.06.
“ All of the above described policies have been obtained for the purpose of securing repayment of the Limited Partner’s contribution. and have been assigned to such Limited Partner or his executors.
“ Upon the decease of any one of the partners the proceeds of the policy or policies on the life of such deceased partner shall be applied in repayment of any unpaid balance of the Limited Partner’s contribution, and any such proceeds not required for this purpose shall be the property of the firm. The Limited Partner agrees that at any time upon the repayment of his con
Here • again we have the clear statement that upon the decease of Charles H. Jones (one of the partners) the proceeds of the policies on Ms life shall be applied in repayment of any unpaid balance of the limited partner’s contribution. The Connecticut General Life Insurance Company policy is thus included in tMs disposition for there is no exception to tMs part of the agreement.
What, however, are we to do with the last sentence in tMs paragraph? We must remember that the lives of all the partners were insured for the benefit of Jones. Therefore, when he was paid Ms contribution Ms interest in all the policies terminated. Not so, however, with the Connecticut General Life Insurance Company policy. He had become interested in the continuance of tMs policy for Ms fife so that he was paying part of the premium as well as the firm. Therefore, if he were alive when a settlement with Mm was made, he would want tMs life policy continued, not surrendered. The firm having settled with him would no longer continue to pay on this policy. As to all the other term policies they were to be surrendered to the firm. TMs seems the only rational and consistent explanation of tMs last sentence. The firm was carrying the $22,000 policy by paying the premium of $885.06 annually as a firm expense. If Jones died, the proceeds were to be applied in repayment of Ms contribution. If the firm were dissolved during Ms lifetime, of course there would be the proceeds of no policy on Ms life from wMch Ms contribution could be repaid.. Yet the general partners would owe him $50,000, and it was agreed that if tMs $50,000 were paid he could have the straight life policy, need not surrender it with the others; it would be Ms. Dissolution might
Note that the $22,000 policy “ shall be the sole property of the limited partner,” not the estate of the partner or his executors.
We, therefore, hold that the defendants are entitled to the proceeds of this policy and not the executors.
The judgment below should, therefore, be reversed, without costs, and judgment directed in favor of the defendants in accordance with this opinion.
Pound, Ch. J., Lehman, O’Brien and Crouch, JJ., concur; Kellogg and Hubbs, JJ., not voting.
Judgment accordingly.
Cases cited
- Earle v. McVeigh 91 U. S. 503 p. 448
- Village of Rome v. Knox 14 How. Pr. 268 p. 448
- Genet v. President, Managers & Co. of Delaware & Hudson Canal Co. 163 N. Y. 173 p. 448
- Patterson v. Meyerhofer 204 N. Y. 96 p. 448
- William C. Atwater & Co. v. Panama Railroad 246 N. Y. 519 p. 448
- Ira S. Bushey & Sons v. American Insurance 237 N. Y. 24 p. 449
- People ex rel. Wells & Newton Co. v. Craig 232 N. Y. 125 p. 449
- The "Clara." 102 U. S. 200 p. 449
- 348 Madison Avenue Corp. v. Marshall 241 N. Y. 520 p. 449
- Townsend v. Little 109 U. S. 504 p. 449