Majority
On April 10, 1953 Lawrence Weigandt applied to the Bronx Savings Bank for a policy of life insurance. In the application he stated that he had never had or been told that he had tuberculosis or any disease of the glands or bones. The same day a medical examiner for the bank examined Mr. Weigandt. He noted no deformity and found the applicant to be in apparent good health.
On April 16, 1953 the application was approved by the bank’s medical consultant. The next day the policy with the application annexed thereto was delivered to the insured and the first premium was paid.
On July 20,1953 the applicant jumped or fell from the roof of the building in which he resided and sustained injuries which caused his death. A subsequent autopsy disclosed that the applicant, Mr. Weigandt, had active tuberculosis of the spine on the date of his death.
Thereafter the bank, relying on printed legends in the application, instituted this action to rescind the policy on the ground that, at the time he made the application, the applicant falsely represented that he was in good health; and on the ground that the policy did not take effect because when it was delivered to the applicant and the first premium was paid he was not in good health. The defendant, the named beneficiary and widow of the applicant, generally denied the allegations of the complaint and counterclaimed for the face value of the policy.
In addition to the above facts it was established on the trial that the applicant was suffering from tuberculosis of the spine at the time he made the application, and that if this was known
Special Term dismissed the complaint and awarded judgment to the defendant on her counterclaim. On appeal the Appellate Division unanimously affirmed and granted the plaintiff permission to appeal to this court.
With respect to the first cause of action the plaintiff relies on the following legend which appears on the bottom of one of the pages of the application form: “ Except as stated above I am now in good health. The statements herein are true, fully and correctly recorded, and made for the purpose of inducing the Bank to issue insurance on my life.”
It contends that this representation as to good health made by the insured was material and contrary to the fact; therefore it warrants rescission of the contract of insurance induced thereby even though innocently made. Its position is that, except as regulated by statute, a contract of insurance is like any other contract and governed by the same principles. Rescission is granted in other contracts whether or not the misrepresentation about which there is a mutual mistake of fact was knowingly made. Consequently, rescission should have been granted.
We cannot agree with appellant’s position. A representation as to good health in an application for insurance, such as the one quoted above, is not an affirmation of fact and does not provide a basis for rescission in the absence of proof of actual fraud. Speaking of such representations in Sommer v. Guardian Life Ins. Co. ( 281 N. Y. 508 ), we said:
“ The applicant does not guarantee the literal truth of the statement, nor do the parties condition their contract upon the existence of good health. The representation is not part of the contract; it is a ‘ statement inducing the formation of the contract as distinguished from an affirmation of fact or a promise incorporated in and material to the contract. ’ (3 Williston on The Law of Contracts [Rev. ed.], § 673; Vance on The Law of Insurance, pp. 389, 390; 4 Couch, Cyclopedia of Insurance Law, §§ 824, 885.) Such statements must be construed in the light of their purpose to furnish to the company information which will enable it to decide whether it shall make a contract of insurance in which the information furnished will not be incorporated as an affirmation of fact.
As the plaintiff failed to prove that the applicant knew or had reason to know that his health was substantially impaired at the time he made the application, the first cause of action was properly dismissed.
Turning to the second cause of action, the appellant relies on the following printed legend on the bottom of the first page of the application:
‘ ‘ I agree that: 1. If the first premium has been paid when this application is delivered to the Bank and a conditional advance premium receipt has been issued by the Bank, the policy shall take effect as of the date of completion of the medical examination or the date of receipt of this application by the Bank if no medical examination is required, provided the Bank shall be satisfied that under its rules and standards the person to be insured was a risk acceptable to it on said date * * * and provided further that the person to be insured was in good health on said date.
“2. If the first premium has not been so paid, the policy shall not take effect until the first premium is paid and the policy delivered while the person to be insured is in good health.”
In affirming the dismissal of the second cause of action, the Appellate Division held that the above-quoted language was sufficiently ambiguous for Special Term to find that it was intended to mean that, in the absence of fraud, the policy would become effective upon payment of the first premium and delivery of the policy in the absence of an adverse intervening change of health where the applicant is given a medical examination and found to be in good health and the policy is delivered and the
Under the guides of construction enunciated by this court, as well as the caveats we have issued, there is sufficient ambiguity in the above-quoted clauses to uphold the conclusion reached by the Appellate Division. There is no doubt that an insurance company is entitled to have its contract enforced by the courts as written (Drilling v. New York Life Ins. Co., 234 N. Y. 234 ; Royster Guano Co. v. Globe & Rutgers Fire Ins. Co., 252 N. Y. 75 ; Johnson v. Travelers Ins. Co., 269 N. Y. 401 ). We have declared that in the absence of legislative restrictions an insurance company has the right to insert a condition precedent as plaintiff claims exists in the policy before us (Sommer v. Guardian Life Ins. Co. of America, 281 N. Y. 508 , 513, supra). In fact we have upheld the validity of such a condition (Drilling v. New York Ins. Co., 234 N. Y. 234 , supra). “ But insurance contracts, above all others, should be clear and explicit in their terms. They should not be couched in language as to the construction of which lawyers and courts may honestly differ. In a word, they should be so plain and unambiguous that men of average intelligence who invest in these contracts may know and understand their meaning and import ” (Janneck v. Metropolitan Life Ins. Co., 162 N. Y. 574 , 577-578). “ The question is simply whether the average man in applying for insurance and reading the language of this policy at the time it was written would ascribe the meaning to that language which the insurance company here urges ” (Hartol Prods. Corp. v. Prudential Ins. Co., 290 N. Y. 44 , 50). It is not enough if the applicant might have so construed it, provided it could reasonably be construed otherwise. To sustain the construction urged, the insurer has the burden of establishing that “ the words and expressions used not only are susceptible of that construction but that it is the only construction that can fairly be placed thereon.”
The policy in this case admits of such ambiguity. The clause numbered “ 1 ” expresses an intent upon the part of the insurer to cover the risk on the date of the medical examination if the first premium is paid with the application and the applicant is in good health at that time and the insurer approves the application. Thus a person reading it could reasonably interpret the dominant intent of this clause to be that the insurer is willing to accept the risk if the medical examination proves satisfactory and the answers to the questions in the application do not persuade it to take a contrary view. Therefore, where everything required by this clause is accomplished and satisfactory to the insurer but the payment of the first premium and delivery of the policy, a person might reasonably read the clause marked “ 2 ” as intending to mean that he is an acceptable risk if there is no change in his health between the time of the medical examination and the delivery of the policy and payment of the first premium. This is not only inferable from the fact that this clause follows clause “ 1 ” in immediate sequence and it refers to clause “ 1 ” by providing that' “ if the first premium is not so paid ” and ‘ ‘ the policy shall not take effect until ’ ’, as pointed out by the Appellate Division, but also because it provides that these things must be done “ while the person to be insured is in good health ” (emphasis added). This latter expression certainly connotes a period or interval of time which might be reasonably interpreted as intending to relate the condition of the applicant on the date of the delivery of the policy back to his condition on the date of the medical examination when he was found to be in good health. As this ambiguity is attributable to the insurer, it must be resolved against it. (Hartol Prods. Corp. v. Prudential Ins. Co., 290 N. Y. 44 , supra; Griffey v. New York Central Ins. Co., 100 N. Y. 417 ; Darrow v. Family Fund Soc., 116 N. Y. 537 , 544; Matthews v. American Central Ins. Co., 154 N. Y. 449 , 456; Janneck v. Metropolitan Life Ins. Co., 162 N. Y. 574 , supra; Silverstein v. Commercial Cas. Ins. Co., 237 N. Y. 391 .)
Appellant also urges that it is error to construe these clauses in this manner because they set up a condition precedent and are not in the nature of a representation. In effect its argument is that changes in health have nothing to do with the case; the applicant must in fact be in “ good health ” on the crucial date
The judgment should be affirmed, with costs.
Conway, Ch. J., Desmond, Dye, Fuld, Froessel and Van Voorhis, JJ., concur.
Judgment affirmed.
Cases cited
- Bloomquist v. Farson 88 Misc. 615 p. 547
- Bloomquist v. Farson 222 N. Y. 375 p. 547
- Battle v. Calavitta 132 Misc. 48 p. 547
- Kasprzyk v. Metropolitan Life Insurance 79 Misc. 263 p. 547
- Kirschner v. Equitable Life Assurance Society of United States 157 Misc. 635 p. 547
- Geer v. Union Mutual Life Insurance 273 N. Y. 261 p. 547
- Sommer v. Guardian Life Insurance Co. of America 281 N. Y. 508 at 513, at 513-514 p. 547, p. 548, p. 549, p. 551, p. 553
- Equitable Life Assurance Society of United States v. Kaplan 168 Misc. 24 p. 547
- Drilling v. New York Life Insurance 234 N. Y. 234 p. 547, p. 551, p. 553
- F. S. Royster Guano Co. v. Globe & Rutgers Fire Insurance 252 N. Y. 75 p. 547, p. 551
- Johnson v. Travelers Insurance 269 N. Y. 401 p. 547, p. 551
- Volker v. Metropolitan Life Insurance 1 Misc. 374 p. 547
- Proppe v. Metropolitan Life Insurance 13 Misc. 266 p. 547
- Holloway v. Metropolitan Life Insurance 90 Misc. 697 p. 547
- Heffernan v. Metropolitan Life Insurance 157 Misc. 591 p. 547
- Battah v. Prudential Insurance of America 151 Misc. 176 p. 547
- Shefford Cheese Co. v. Lakeshire Cheese Co. 293 U. S. 616 p. 547
- Tolar v. Metropolitan Life Insurance 297 N. Y. 441 p. 547
- Moulor v. American Life Insurance 111 U. S. 335 p. 548
- Chinery v. Metropolitan Life Insurance 112 Misc. 107 p. 548
- Rickerson v. Hartford Fire Insurance 149 N. Y. 307 p. 548
- American Surety Co. v. Diamond 206 Misc. 309 p. 548
- Janneck v. Metropolitan Life Insurance 162 N. Y. 574 at 577-578 p. 551, p. 552
- Hartol Products Corp. v. Prudential Insurance Co. of America 290 N. Y. 44 at 50, at 49 p. 551, p. 552
- Griffey v. New York Central Insurance 100 N. Y. 417 p. 552
- Darrow v. Family Fund Society 116 N. Y. 537 at 544 p. 552
- Matthews v. American Central Insurance 154 N. Y. 449 at 456 p. 552
- Silverstein v. Commercial Casualty Insurance 237 N. Y. 391 p. 552