Majority
OPINION OF THE COURT
In this insurance dispute, we conclude that the insured breached a policy provision obligating it to obtain the consent of its liability carriers before settling claims in excess of $5 million. We therefore reverse the order of the Appellate Division denying the insurers’ motion for summary judgment.
Defendant Bear Stearns Companies, Inc., a financial services firm, was issued a primary professional liability insurance policy by plaintiff Vigilant Insurance Company that provided coverage for losses resulting from claims made against the insured for its wrongful acts. The Vigilant policy afforded $10 million in coverage after Bear Stearns exhausted its $10 million self-insured retention. Plaintiffs Federal Insurance Company and Gulf Insurance Company further provided Bear Stearns an additional $40 million in coverage under follow-form excess liability policies.[1] Pursuant to the terms of these insurance contracts, Bear Stearns agreed not to settle any claim in excess of $5 million without first obtaining the consent of its insurers. In addition, the policies excluded coverage for claims arising from investment banking work undertaken by Bear Stearns.
In early 2002, the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), National Association of Securities Dealers (NASD) and New York Stock Exchange (NYSE), along with state attorneys general, initiated a joint investigation into the practices of research analysts working at financial services firms and the potential conflicts that could arise from the relationship between research functions and investment banking objectives. The investigation focused on allegations that research analysts employed at 10 major financial institutions, including Bear Stearns, were improperly influenced by investment banking concerns. Toward the end of 2002, the regulators met separately
* The Travelers Indemnity Company is the successor-in-interest by merger to Gulf Insurance Company. Bear Stearns was also covered by additional excess policies not relevant to this appeal.
On December 20, 2002, Bear Stearns signed a settlement-in-principle document, acknowledging that each regulator would commence an action or administrative proceeding against it and that Bear Stearns would subsequently “consent to the action and the relief sought without admitting or denying the allegations.” Bear Stearns further agreed to pay $50 million in retrospective relief, plus $25 million to fund independent research and $5 million for investor education. The document indicated that the terms of the settlement were subject to approval by the SEC and other regulators. Also taking place on December 20, 2002, the regulators issued a press release announcing they had achieved an industry-wide settlement with the 10 financial institutions that would result in payments of more than $1.4 billion in penalties, restitution and education funds.
A few months later, Bear Stearns executed a consent agreement in which it acceded to the entry of a final judgment in the SEC’s federal lawsuit against Bear Stearns in the United States District Court for the Southern District of New York. Under the terms of the “Consent of Defendant Bear, Stearns & Co. Inc.,” dated April 21, 2003, Bear Stearns consented to be permanently enjoined from violating a number of NASD and NYSE rules and agreed to pay a total amount of $80 million allocated as follows: $25 million as a penalty, $25 million in disgorgement, $25 million for independent research and $5 million for investor education. Of the $50 million in retrospective relief, $25 million was designated to resolve the SEC action and related proceedings instituted by the NASD and NYSE, while the remaining $25 million covered the settlement of proceedings with various state regulators. Bear Stearns explicitly agreed not to seek insurance coverage for the $25 million penalty. The agreement also allowed the SEC to present a final judgment to the federal court “for signature and entry without further notice” to Bear Stearns.
Three days after executing the settlement agreement, Bear Stearns sent letters to its insurers requesting their consent to the settlement. The insurers disclaimed coverage and commenced this declaratory judgment action seeking a declaration that the $45 million sought by Bear Stearns (after depletion of the $10 million self-insured retention) was not covered by the policies.
Supreme Court found that triable issues of fact existed as to whether Bear Stearns breached the policy clause prohibiting it from settling without the insurers’ consent and whether the investment banking exclusion applied. Siding with the insurers on the disgorgement issue, the court held that the $25 million disgorgement payment did not constitute damages under the terms of the policies and that Bear Stearns was not entitled to look behind the settlement to ascertain whether the entire $25 million truly represented ill-gotten gains. The court also rejected the insurers’ position that the $25 million payment for independent research and $5 million payment for investor education were not losses under the policies. Bear Stearns and the insurers appealed.
The Appellate Division modified, by granting Bear Stearns summary judgment on the investment banking exclusion and independent research/investor education issues and denying the insurers summary judgment on the disgorgement issue, and otherwise affirmed. The court concurred with Supreme Court in finding an issue of fact as to whether Bear Stearns breached the provision obligating it to obtain the consent of the insurers, but determined that the investment banking exclusion was not applicable. Despite the agreement by Bear Stearns to pay $25 million as disgorgement, the court found “an issue of fact as to
The Appellate Division granted the insurers leave to appeal and certified the following question to this Court: “Was the order of the Supreme Court, as modified by this Court, properly made?” We conclude that it was not.
The insurers raise a number of objections to the Appellate Division order, but we find it necessary to address only one of them. The insurers contend that the Bear Stearns settlement is not recoverable because Bear Stearns breached the policy provision obligating it to obtain their consent prior to settling the regulator lawsuits. Specifically, the insurers claim that Bear Stearns resolved and finalized the settlement of the case when it executed the settlement-in-principle in December 2002 or, at the latest, when it signed the consent agreement in April 2003 without advising the insurers. Bear Stearns counters that the courts below properly found a triable issue of fact as to whether its execution of these two documents constituted a breach of the policy provision.
The primary insurance policy, whose terms and conditions are incorporated into the follow-form excess policies, provides in relevant part:
“The Insured agrees not to settle any Claim, incur any Defense Costs or otherwise assume any contractual obligation or admit any liability with respect to any Claim in excess of a settlement authority threshold of $5,000,000 without the Insurer’s consent, which shall not be unreasonably withheld . . . The insurer shall not be liable for any settlement, Defense Costs, assumed obligation or admission to which it has not consented.”
As with the construction of contracts generally, “unambiguous provisions of an insurance contract must be given their plain and ordinary meaning, and the interpretation of such provisions is a question of law for the court” (White v Continental Cas. Co., 9 NY3d 264 , 267 [2007] [citation omitted]).
We conclude that Bear Stearns breached this provision when it executed the April 2003 consent agreement before notifying
We are unpersuaded by the contention that a triable issue of fact exists because the federal court did not approve the settlement until it entered a final judgment in October 2003. Parties are free to enter into a valid settlement agreement that is made subject to court approval. Notably absent from the agreement, however, was any provision similarly subjecting it to the insurers’ approval. Having signed the consent agreement, Bear Stearns was not free to walk away from it before entry of a final judgment (see TLC Beatrice Intl. Holdings, Inc. v CIGNA Ins. Co., 2000 WL 282967 , *7, 2000 US Dist LEXIS 2917 , *20-21 [SD NY 2000] [“Although the Court, whose approval was sought by the parties, could accept or reject the Settlement, subject to that approval the parties themselves were bound by the Settlement’s terms” (citation omitted)], affd sub nom. Lewis v Cigna Ins. Co., 234 F3d 1262 [2d Cir 2000] [table; text at 2000 WL 1654530 , 2000 US App LEXIS 27848 (2000)]). In executing the April 2003 agreement, Bear Stearns settled a claim within the meaning of the insurance policy provision.
As a sophisticated business entity, Bear Stearns expressly agreed that the insurers would “not be liable” for any settlement in excess of $5 million entered into without their consent. Aware of this contingency in the policies, Bear Stearns nevertheless elected to finalize all outstanding settlement issues and executed a consent agreement before informing its carriers of the terms of the settlement. Bear Stearns therefore may not recover the settlement proceeds from the insurers.
Accordingly, the order of the Appellate Division should be reversed, with costs, plaintiffs’ motion for summary judg
Judges Ciparick, Read, Smith, Pigott and Jones concur; Chief Judge Kaye taking no part.
Order reversed, etc.
Cases cited
- Frew ex rel. Frew v. Hawkins 540 US 431 p. 171
- Washington v. Washington State Commercial Passenger Fishing Vessel Ass'n 443 US 658 p. 171, p. 172
- Central National Bank v. Stevens 169 US 432 p. 171
- Stoll v. Gottlieb 305 US 165 p. 171
- Deposit Bank v. Frankfort 191 US 499 p. 171
- New York State Commissioner of Correction v. Gulotta 194 AD2d 540 p. 171
- Jamaica Hospital v. Blum 68 AD2d 1 p. 171
- Mount Vernon Fire Insurance v. Creative Housing Ltd. 88 NY2d 347 p. 171, p. 173
- Silva v. Utica First Insurance 303 AD2d 487 p. 171
- Manhattan Pizza Hut, Inc. v. New York State Human Rights Appeal Board 51 NY2d 506 p. 171
- People v. Shapiro 50 NY2d 747 p. 171
- State v. Home Indemnity Co. 66 NY2d 669 p. 171, p. 173
- Newin Corp. v. Hartford Accident & Indemnity Co. 62 NY2d 916 p. 171, p. 173
- Hartford Accident & Indemnity Co. v. Wesolowski 33 NY2d 169 p. 171, p. 173
- In re the Liquidation of Ideal Mutual Insurance 231 AD2d 59 p. 171
- Argo Corp. v. Greater New York Mutual Insurance 4 NY3d 332 p. 172
- Royal Zenith Corp. v. New York Marine Managers, Inc. 192 AD2d 390 p. 172
- AIU Insurance v. Valley Forge Insurance 303 AD2d 325 p. 172
- Valentino v. State 48 AD2d 15 p. 172
- Flores v. Lower East Side Services Center, Inc. 4 NY3d 363 p. 172
- Express Industries & Terminal Corp. v. New York State Department of Transportation 93 NY2d 584 p. 172
- Loblaw, Inc. v. Employers' Liability Assurance Corp. 57 NY2d 872 p. 172
- Breed v. Insurance Co. of North America 46 NY2d 351 p. 172
- Roundabout Theatre Co. v. Continental Casualty Co. 302 AD2d 1 p. 172
- Mazzola v. County of Suffolk 143 AD2d 734 p. 172
- 2619 Realty, LLC v. Fidelity & Guaranty Insurance 303 AD2d 299 p. 172
- Bingham v. New York City Transit Authority 99 NY2d 355 p. 172
- Motor Vehicle Manufacturers Ass'n of the United States, Inc. v. State 75 NY2d 175 p. 172
- Lichtman v. Grossbard 73 NY2d 792 p. 172
- In re Barbara C. 64 NY2d 866 p. 172
- Balbuena v. IDR Realty LLC 6 NY3d 338 p. 172
- Capitol Records, Inc. v. Naxos of America, Inc. 4 NY3d 540 p. 172
- United States Department of Treasury v. Fabe 508 US 491 p. 172
- Securities & Exchange Commission v. National Securities, Inc. 393 US 453 p. 172
- Zuckerman v. City of New York 49 NY2d 557 p. 172
- Winegrad v. New York University Medical Center 64 NY2d 851 p. 172
- Singleton Management, Inc. v. Compere 243 AD2d 213 p. 172
- Halyalkar v. Board of Regents 72 NY2d 261 p. 172
- Becker v. DeBuono 239 AD2d 664 p. 172
- Allstate Insurance v. Zuk 78 NY2d 41 p. 172
- Public Service Mutual Insurance v. Goldfarb 53 NY2d 392 p. 173
- Messersmith v. American Fidelity Co. 232 NY 161 p. 173
- Belt Painting Corp. v. TIG Insurance 100 NY2d 377 p. 173
- 242-44 East 77th Street, LLC v. Greater New York Mutual Insurance 31 AD3d 100 p. 173
- Uribe v. Merchants Bank 91 NY2d 336 p. 173
- Metropolitan Life Insurance v. Noble Lowndes International, Inc. 84 NY2d 430 p. 173
- Ender v. National Fire Insurance 169 AD2d 420 p. 173
- Vermont Teddy Bear Co. v. 538 Madison Realty Co. 1 NY3d 470 p. 173
- Westview Associates v. Guaranty National Insurance 95 NY2d 334 p. 173
- Mazzuoccolo v. Cinelli 245 AD2d 245 p. 173
- ZKZ Associates LP v. CNA Insurance 89 NY2d 990 p. 173
- Woodson v. American Transit Insurance 281 AD2d 282 p. 173
- Yoi-Lee Realty Corp. v. 177th Street Realty Associates 208 AD2d 185 p. 173
- Isadore Rosen & Sons, Inc. v. Security Mutual Insurance 31 NY2d 342 p. 173
- Prudential Lines, Inc. v. Firemen's Insurance 91 AD2d 1 p. 173
- Hover v. National Grange Insurance 20 AD2d 178 p. 173
- Joseph Martin, Jr., Delicatessen, Inc. v. Schumacher 52 NY2d 105 p. 173
- Oscar Schlegel Manufacturing Co. v. Peter Cooper's Glue Factory 231 NY 459 p. 173
- Souveran Fabrics Corp. v. Virginia Fibre Corp. 37 AD2d 925 p. 173
- White v. Continental Casualty Co. 9 NY3d 264 at 267 p. 177