Majority
Headnote
1. FntE Insurance—Loss—Recovery by Insured—Right of Mortgagee.On the 20th of July, 1899, the Owl’s Head Hotel Company, a New York corporation, procured from the defendant the Guardian Fire & Life Assurance Company, Limited, a foreign corporation, a policy of fire insurance in and by which it insured certain property located in Canada against loss or damage by fire to the extent of $4,000, with the “loss, if any, payable to John G. Foster, Esq., agent for mortgagee, as his.interest may appear.” During the term of the policy the property was destroyed by fire, and a loss sustained in excess of that covered by the insurance. The insurance company refused to pay the loss covered by its policy, and thereupon the plaintiff, a resident of the state of New York, as the assignee of the insured, brought this action to recover thereon; making MacPherson, a resident of Canada, who had acquired the interest of the mortgagee
The judgment appealed from, unless erroneous as to the plaintiff, is not as to the appellant MacPherson. In other words, unless the plaintiff had a policy of insurance which he could enforce against the insurance company', then a mortgagee or his assignor could not enforce a provision inserted therein for his benefit; and, if a verdict were properly directed as to the plaintiff, then it necessarily follows the judgment could not have injured MacPherson. The appeal of the plaintiff, therefore, will be first considered.
The policy contained a provision that it would be void if at the time it was issued the insured had, or thereafter procured, other insurance upon the property covered by the defendant company’s policy, unless otherwise provided by agreement indorsed thereon or added thereto, and it was upon this ground that the verdict was directed. The evidence on the part of the plaintiff bearing upon the overinsurance was to the effect that the respondent’s policy of insurance was procured through Paterson & Son, of Montreal, Canada, by Mr. Watkins, general manager of the Owl’s Head Hotel Company; that, at the time he applied for it, he informed a member of the firm of Paterson & Son what insurance was then upon the property, and that he desired additional insurance to the amount of $10,000, which it procured—$6,000 in the Phoenix Insurance Company of London, and $4,000 in the defendant insurance company. In the policy issued by the respondent, reference was made to the $6,000 insurance in the Phoenix, but not to the other insurance, amounting to $4,500, which was upon the property at the time the application was made and the policy written. The fact that Paterson & Son knew there was $4,500 insurance upon the property at the time Watkins applied for the $10,-000 additional insurance was not denied—at least, no evidence was offered to contradict plaintiff’s evidence on that subject—but it was insisted that such information in no way affected the respondent’s, liability, inasmuch as Paterson & Son were not its agents, and had no power to waive any of the provisions of the policy. Of course, if
“It is well settled in this state that where an insurance company issues a policy with full knowledge of facts which would render it void in its inception, if its provisions were insisted upon, it will be presumed that it by mistake omitted to express the fact in the policy, waived the provision, or held itself estopped from setting it up, as a contrary inference would impute to it a fraudulent intent to deliver and receive pay for an invalid instrument.”
The fact being uncontradicted that Paterson & Son was informed as to the insurance upon the property at the time application was made for the additional $10,000, the crucial question is whether Paterson & Son was the agent of the defendant insurance company. If it was, then the information which it had was the information of the respondent. Robbins v. Springfield Fire Insurance Co., supra; Wood v. American Fire Ins. Co., supra. Bearing upon this question, it appeared from the plaintiff’s proof that the policy issued by the respondent contained the words, “Agency, Montreal, Paterson & Son,” and indorsed upon it were the words, “Paterson & Son, agent, Montreal Agency,” all of which was written in and upon the policy when it was issued by the respondent itself, before it was sent to Paterson & Son tó be delivered to the insured. In addition to this, it appeared that, when application was made for the insurance, what is, termed an “interim receipt” was issued, which contained the words, “Paterson & Son, Agency;” and the manager of the respondent testified that the agent of the company “issues an interim contract or risk,” but “no agent with us issues a policy. All our policies are upon application.” Plaintiff’s witness AVatkins testified that he had known Paterson & Son 12 or 13 years, during which time they had been managers of the respondent. On its part, the defendant company called as a witness a member of the firm of Paterson & Son, who testified that at the time the policy was issued he,had no relation with the company, was not its agent, and had never issued any policies for it. It is to be noticed, however, that this witness nowhere stated that the firm of Paterson & Son was not the agent or representative of the respondent when the policy was issued. The respondent’s manager, Heaton, however, who was subsequently called, did testify that the firm of Paterson & Son, nor any member of it, was not the agent of the defendant company, and had nothing to do with it.
The foregoing is a summary of all the evidence bearing upon the question of agency, and upon this the trial court held, as a matter of
This brings us to the consideration of the. remaining question, and • that is whether the court erred in dismissing the action as to the defendant MacPherson. The policy, as already indicated, provided that the loss, if any, should be payable to one Foster, agent for the mortgagee, as his interest might appear; and it was conceded upon the trial that the defendant MacPherson had succeeded to all the rights and interest in the policy which Foster had at the time the fire occurred. The defendant MacPherson resided in Canada. The respondent was a foreign corporation—authorized, however, to do business in this state. The policy was issued at its office in Montreal, and
It follows, therefore, that the judgment appealed from must be reversed, and a new trial ordered, with costs to each appellant to abide the event. All concur.
Cases cited
- Gray v. Germania Fire Insurance 155 N. Y. 180 p. 528
- Robbins v. Springfield Fire & Marine Insurance 149 N. Y. 477 p. 528
- Wood v. American Fire Insurance 149 N. Y. 382 p. 528
- Forward v. Continental Insurance 142 N. Y. 382 p. 528
- McNally v. Phœnix Insurance 137 N. Y. 389 p. 528
- Short v. Home Insurance 90 N. Y. 16 at 43 p. 528
- Woodruff v. Imperial Fire Insurance Co. of London, England 83 N. Y. 133 p. 528
- Richmond v. Niagara Fire Insurance 79 N. Y. 230 p. 528
- Sundheimer v. City of New York 176 N. Y. 495 p. 529
- McDonald v. Metropolitan Street Railway Co. 167 N. Y. 66 p. 529
- Pitney v. Glen's Falls Insurance 65 N. Y. 6 p. 529
- Brown v. Cattaraugus County Mutual Insurance 18 N. Y. 385 p. 529
- Ennis v. Harmony Fire Insurance 3 Bosw. 516 p. 530
- Winne v. Niagara Fire Insurance 91 N. Y. 185 p. 530
- Besant v. Glens Falls Insurance 72 App. Div. 276 p. 530