Majority
Headnote
Where a letter of instructions from a principal to his agent is equivocal, and fairly susceptible of different interpretations, and the agent in fact is misled, and adopts and follows one while his principal intended another, the ' latter is bound and the agent exonerated.The jury found that there was an unconditional agreement on the part of Fredenburgh, to reinsure to the amount of $1,000, and the claim of the defendant that there was no completed contract of insurance, rests upon the fact that the rate of premium and the duration of the risk, were not specified when the agreement was made. There can be no doubt that these are essential elements of a contract of insurance, and if there was no meeting of minds of the parties upon these particulars, the contract of insurance was not consummated, and the matter stood as a mere negotiation, incomplete, and imposing no obligation upon either party. The claim that there was no consensué of the parties upon these points, rests upon the fact that no words passed between them in respect to the time or rate of insurance, when the alleged contract was made. But this was unnecessary, provided the jury were authorized from the circumstances of the transaction, to infer that the parties intended that the new policy should be issued for the same time, and at the same rate, of premium as the policy which had just expired. There was an express agreement as to the subject-matter of the insurance, the parties, the risk and the amount. The negotiation referred to a new insurance for $1,000 on the same building insured by the previous policy,6and in the same company. In the absence of negative words, it is a reasonable inference that the parties also understood that the new insurance was to be for the same time and at the same rate of premium as the prior one, differing only in amount. The policy prepared by the agent after the negotiation for the new policy, specified the same rate of premium as the prior one, and was for the usual time of one year; We think the jury were au
The remaining question on the merits, arises upon the defendant’s claim that Fredenburgh had no authority to insure the Eagle Hotel property, and that this was known to Winne when the alleged contract was made. It is admitted that Fredenburgh was the general agent of the defendant at Kingston, at the time of the transaction. He was intrusted with blank forms of policies of the defendant, signed by its officers, and was authorized to bind the company by his contracts in the first instance, the company reserving the right to cancel policies issued by him, and terminate the risk. Under this general authority, Fredenburgh had insured the Eagle Hotel property in the defendant’s company for several years, to the amount of $2,000, the last policy for that amount expiring July 1, 1876. The alleged limitation of his authority to insure the Eagle Hotel property, is contained in a paper called an “ expiration sheet,” sent by the company to Fredenburgh, according to its usual custom, showing the policies which would expire during the month ensuing that in which it was sent, and containing notations opposite each risk. The particular sheet now in question, was sent in June, 1876, and contained a list of seven policies, issued at his agency, which would expire in July. Opposite the policy on the Eagle Hotel property was the word “ drop,” and opposite the others the word “ renew.” Whether this expiration sheet was seen by Winne before he made the agreement with Fredenburgh for the policy now in question, was a subject of controversy on the trial.' But assuming that it was exhibited to and read by Winne before that time, so that he is chargeable with notice of its contents, we are nevertheless of opinion that the language used was not equivalent to an absolute instruction to Fredenburgh not to insure the Eagle Hotel property for any amount, and that an insurance of the property by him for a smaller sum, was not prohibited.
The remaining question is whether a joint action lies in favor of the plaintiffs. The plaintiff Henry W Winne was the owner of the property insured, and the plaintiff Benjamin J. Winne was mortgagee. The policy contains the clause, “loss, if any, payable to Benj. J. Winne, to the extent of his mortgage interest therein.” We think a joint action is proper. The plaintiffs have a common interest in enforcing the contract. The plaintiff Henry W. Winne has no adverse interest to that of his co-plaintiff. The fund is applicable, first upon the mortgage debt, and when that is paid, the balance belongs to the mortgagor. It is we think quite appropriate, and in accord with the flexible rule of procedure now applied in courts
We find no error in the record, and the judgment should therefore be affirmed.
All concur.
Judgment affirmed.
Cases cited
- Bentley v. Columbia Insurance 17 N. Y. 421 p. 187
- Wood v. Poughkeepsie Mutual Insurance 32 N. Y. 619 p. 187
- Sargent v. National Fire Insurance 86 N. Y. 626 p. 187
- Chase v. Hamilton Insurance 20 N. Y. 52 p. 187
- Train v. Holland Purchase Insurance 62 N. Y. 598 p. 188
- Sandford v. Handy 23 Wend. 260 p. 188
- Walsh v. Hartford Fire Insurance 73 N. Y. 5 p. 188
- Marvin v. Universal Life Insurance 85 N. Y. 278 p. 188
- Reed v. Gannon 50 N. Y. 345 p. 188
- Howard v. Norton 65 Barb. 161 p. 188
- Murdock & Garratt v. Chenango Co. Mutual Insurance 2 N. Y. 210 p. 189
- Jones v. Felch 3 Bosw. 63 p. 189
- Emery v. Erskine 66 Barb. 9 p. 189
- Pitney v. Glen's Falls Insurance 65 N. Y. 6 p. 189
- Grosvenor v. Atlantic Fire Insurance 17 N. Y. 391 p. 189
- Ripley v. Astor Insurance 17 How. Pr. 444 p. 189
- Dakin v. Liverpool, London & Globe Insurance 77 N. Y. 600 p. 189
- Audubon v. Excelsior Insurance 27 N. Y. 216 p. 189
- Claflin v. Lenheim 66 N. Y. 301 p. 189
- Barlow v. Scott 24 N. Y. 40 p. 189
- Chicago v. Sheldon 9 Wall. 50 p. 189
- McMorris v. Simpson 21 Wend. 610 p. 189
- Boynton v. Clinton & Essex Mutual Insurance 16 Barb. 254 p. 190, p. 193
- Ennis v. Harmony Fire Insurance 3 Bosw. 516 p. 193