Majority
Headnote
Fire Insurance—Valued Policy on Automobile—Breach of Warranty by Insured—Misrepresentation of Year of Manufacture. Describing an automobile as having been made in 1909 when in fact it was made in 1907 is such a material misdescription as to constitute a breach of the express warranty provided for by section 2607 of the Civil 'Code of .California, and avoids a valued policy of insurance.This is an action to recover, three thousand dollars upon a valued fire insurance policy upon plaintiff’s automobile. From a judgment for plaintiff, defendant appeals.
Appellant’s contention is twofold: First, that the automobile for the loss of which plaintiff brought suit does not answer the description in the policy, thus constituting a breach of warranty and preventing the risk from attaching; second, that it issued the policy on the strength of certain statements in the application for insurance which are untrue, and therefore relieve the defendant from liability.
It appears that in October, 1910, plaintiff resided in Bakersfield and was the owner of a four-cylinder, forty horse-power Pierce-Arrow automobile manufacutered in 1907; that one Otis Bishop was at that time manager of the insurance department of the Bakersfield Abstract Company; that in October, 1910, plaintiff made oral application to Bishop for insurance upon his automobile, asking for a valued policy in the sum of three thousand five hundred dollars, properly describing the car as to horse-power, number of cylinders, and year of manufacture; that Bishop turned this information over to his San Francisco correspondents, Gordon & Hoadley,
Taking up the first point made by appellant, the question arises whether the misdescription of the automobile in the policy amounts to a breach of warranty such as will relieve the insurer. Our Civil Code (section 2607) provides that “A statement in a policy, of a matter relating to the person or thing insured, or to the risk, as a fact, is an express warranty thereof,” and that (section 2612) “A breach of warranty, without fraud, merely exonerates an insurer from the time that it occurs, or where it is broken in its inception prevents the policy from attaching to the risk.” The effect of this section is limited by section 2610: “The violation of a material warranty, or other material provision of a policy, on the part of either party thereto, entitles the other to rescind.” But section 2611 goes on to say that “A policy may declare that a violation of specified provisions thereof shall avoid it, otherwise the breach of an immaterial provision does not
The only question under this head is whether, in describing an automobile for insurance purposes in a valued policy, the year of manufacture is such a material part of the description that a misstatement in this particular constitutes a breach of the warranty that the thing insured has been properly described. There was no dispute on the point that, other things being equal, a car two years older has a lesser value. This becomes particularly important in a valued policy, where the insurance company agrees in advance that the property insured is worth the amount for which it is insured, in this case three thousand dollars. (Civ. Code, sec. 2756.) Such a valued policy was under consideration in Harris v. St. Paul Fire & Marine Ins. Co., 126 N. Y. Supp. 118 , where a 1906 automobile had been described as a 1907 model. The court there said: “It is perfectly clear that a-used car, constructed in 1906, and insured in November, 1909, is not of the same insurable value as a car constructed in 1907, and the statement of the plaintiff that the car was of the 1907 model was a material representation, upon which the defendant had a right to rely, in issuing a valued policy in the sum of two thousand dollars.” To the same effect are Feed v. St. Paul Fire t& Marine Ins. Co., 165 App. Div. 660 , [ 151 N. Y. Supp. 274 ], and Smith v. American Automobile Ins. Co., 188 Mo. App. 297 , [ 175 S. W. 113 , 114]. In the latter case the court said: “It would seem to be in accord with common knowledge that a five year old automobile would be less valuable than, and not so safe a risk as, one two years old, and that the effect of wear and tear would be more likely to manifest themselves in the older car. If the fact that the car is five years old instead of two is not material to the risk, we cannot well see
Respondent does not deny that the description of his automobile in the policy as a 1909 model is in accordance with the statement in the application made out by Gordon & Hoadley, but relies upon the showing made at the trial that appellant had itself supplemented the description in the application by adding that the car had six cylinders and forty-eight horsepower. It is not at all clear that the insured, after retaining the policy for a year, can then insist that a misdescription of the thing insured, sufficient to constitute a breach of' warranty, was the act of the insurance company and entirely unknown to the insured. (See Madsen v. Maryland Casualty Co., 168 Cal. 204 , 206, [ 142 Pac. 51 ], and cases there cited.) We do not, however, pass upon this point, since it is clear that to describe an automobile in a valued policy as having been made in 1909 when in fact it was made in 1907 is such a material misdescription of the thing insured as to constitute a breach of the express warranty provided for in section 2607 of the Civil Code.
The second point made by appellant is that the poRcy was issued under mistakes of fact caused by respondent’s misrepresentations in the application concerning the year in which the car was built and the amount paid therefor. The application for the policy stated that the car was built in 1909 and that plaintiff paid therefor three thousand five hundred dollars. In fact, the car was built in the year 1907 and the plaintiff paid one thousand five hundred dollars for it and some merchandise, which, he testified, made the car cost him two thousand five hundred dollars. Respondent contends that these misrepresentations are immaterial, in view of the finding that the car was worth three thousand dollars, the amount for which it was insured. But according to section 2565 of the Civil Code, “Materiality is to be determined not by the event, but solely by the probable and reasonable influence of the facts upon the party to whom the communication is due, in forming his estimate of the disadvantages of
Respondent seeks to avoid the effect of this conclusion by insisting that the misstatements as to purchase price and year of manufacture appearing in the application were not made by him, but were made by Gordon & Hoadley, whom the court found to be agents of the Federal Insurance Company. But this finding is not sustained by the evidence. As already indicated, the evidence shows that Gordon & Hoadley were not the regular agents of appellant, that they had never represented appellant before or since, and that this particular transaction was the only one in which Gordon & Hoadley and appellant ever had any dealings. Moreover, it was established that Bishop represented the plaintiff, and that Gordon & Hoadley were Bishop’s San Francisco correspondents, who made out the application solely at his request, and that appellant knew nothing of the entire transaction until the application was placed in its hands by Gordon & Hoadley. It is well settled that where, in circumstances such as are presented here, an insurance agent requests insurance from a company which he does not represent, he is acting for the insured, who is responsible for misrepresentations in the application made out- by the broker. (Parrish v. Rosebud M. & M. Co., 140 Cal. 635 , 645, [ 74 Pac. 312 ]; Mahon v. Royal Union Mut. Life Ins. Co., 134 Fed. 732 , [ 67 C. C. A. 636 ]; McGraw Woodenware Co. v. German Fire Ins. Co., 126 La. 32 ,
It does not alter the case that Gordon & Hoadley retained a commission for placing the insurance. Bishop, who admittedly was not appellant’s agent, also shared in the commission, and it conclusively appeared at the trial that all independent brokers in San Francisco receive similar commissions. This does not constitute the broker an agent of the insurance company. (United Firemen’s Ins. Co. v. Thomas, 92 Fed. 127 , [ 47 L. R. A. 450 , 34 C. C. A. 240 ]; McGraw Woodenware Co. v. German Fire Ins. Co., 126 La. 32 , [20 Ann. Cas. 1229, 38 It. R. A. (N. S.) 614, 52 South. 183 ].) Nor does it matter that the misrepresentations were made in securing the original policy, of which the one in suit is a renewal, for the latter was issued upon the original application wherein the misrepresentations appeared. (McKibhan v. Des Moines Ins. Co., 114 Iowa, 41 , [ 86 N. W. 38 ]; 2 Clement on Fire Insurance, 518.)
Judgment reversed.
Shaw, J., and Sloss, J., concurred.
Hearing in Bank denied.
Cases cited
- Fountain v. Conn. Fire Ins. Co. 158 Cal. 760 at 764 p. 136
- Bastian v. British American Assurance Co. 143 Cal. 287 at 291 p. 136
- Victoria Steamship Co. v. Western Assurance Co. 167 Cal. 348 at 357 p. 136
- Reed v. St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance 165 App. Div. 660 p. 136
- Madsen v. Maryland Cas. Co. of Baltimore 168 Cal. 204 at 206 p. 137, p. 139
- McEwen v. New York Life Insurance 23 Cal. App. 694 at 697 p. 138
- Columbia Insurance v. Lawrence 9 L. Ed. 512 p. 138
- Parrish v. Rosebud Mining & Milling Co. 140 Cal. 635 at 645 p. 138
- Elliott v. Frankfort Marine, Accident & Plate Glass Insurance Co. 172 Cal. 261 p. 139
- Sharman v. Continental Insurance 167 Cal. 117 at 125 p. 139
- Iverson v. Metro. Life Ins. Co. 151 Cal. 746 at 749 p. 139