Majority
Headnote
1. Insurance — Construction of Policy. Of two admissible constructions of an insurance contract the one against the insurers should be preferred, since they dictate its form and are the authors of its ambiguity.The plaintiff brought this action to reform a • contract of insurance and, as reformed, to recover against the nineteen defendants as joint insurers of a cargo of pressed bricks shipped by plaintiff at Cleveland, Ohio, about October 2, 1895, to Waukegan, Illinois. The cargo became a total loss and did not reach its destination.
The contract is in these words :
“No. 363. ' $2,000.00.
“ Inland Marine Certificate of Insurance.
“ Buffalo, N. Y. Oct. 5th, 1895.
“ This is to certify that The Imperial Shale Brick Company insured under and subject to the conditions of Open Policy No. 4007, issued by the Buffalo Fire and Marine Underwriters of Buffalo, N. Y., at the Buffalo, N. Y., agency, in the sum of two thousand dollars, on paving brick. In board cargo of Schooner John Magee, at and from Cleveland, Ohio, to Waukegan, Mich. Loss, if any, payable to order of assured thereon and return of this certificate. Valid when countersigned by the authorized agent of this company, at Buffalo, N. Y.
“ Countersigned by:
“ HIRAM H. SMITH,
“ Agent.
“ HENRY S. MoFALL, '
“ Attorney.”
This contract was delivered to the plaintiff at Cleveland, Ohio, by the defendants’ agent there. The open policy No. 4007, referred to in the certificate, was then in the defendants’ office in the city of Buffalo, one hundred and eighty miles from Cleveland. It had not been seen by the plaintiff, and its contents were unknown to it. No representation was made to
Ho one of the defendants ever paid in any money to the association, and it had no assets except such as it may have derived from premiums. With the certificate delivered and the open policy thus withheld, the plaintiff was led by the defendants to understand that he was dealing with a known
The reference to the open policy is to ascertain the quality of the insurance which the company named in the certificate
The defendants contend that the certificate is no more than an agreement by the company, if company the defendants were, that it has insured the plaintiff under the open policy, that is, under the separate nineteen contracts therein contained, and, therefore, the plaintiff’s sole recourse is to the nineteen contracts. We reject this contention, because it would give to the authors of this certificate the benefit of a subtlety in phrase and methods apparently contrived to mislead the plaintiff and deprive it of the sort of insurance the defendants led it to understand they sold it by the contract they delivered to it.
Construing the words “ under and subject to the conditions of open policy Ho. 4007 issued by the Buffalo Fire and Marine Underwriters of Buffalo, H. Y.,” favorably to the plaintiff, the words do not say or mean under the open policy, but under its terms and conditions. The open policy was made by nineteen underwriters instead of all of them as a company; thus we know that this company, as a single underwriter, is bound by the same terms and conditions as is each single underwriter in the open policy, provided he “ had issued to the assured herein a separate policy ” for the separate amount of his contract; that is, the company binds itself to the amount it assumes, the same as the individual underwriter binds himself for the amount he assumes. The company, by the certificate, thus assumed all the loss as a single underwriter. If the terms of the policy were inconsistent with those of the certificate, those of the certificate would prevail. (Rothschild
This company or association was not incorporated, was in nowise exempted by law from partnership liability, except as it should in its agreement with the insured actually and explicitly so exempt itself. (Wells v. Gates, 18 Barb. 554 ; National Bank of Watertown v. Landon, 45 N. Y. 410 .) This does not mean that seemingly constructive notice which is so contrived and intended as to be hidden in the letter, and not to be perceived or suggested until searched out of its lurking place after a loss. It means a notice so plain and fair that the party to be charged with it either receives it or it is his own fault if he does not. Chancellor Kent states the rule as follows : “ The members of a private association may limit their personal responsibility, if there be an explicit stipulation to that effect made with the party with whom they contract, and dearly understood by him at the time. But stipulations of that kind are looked upon unfavorably as being contrary to the general policy of' the law; and it would require a direct, previous notice of the intended limitation to the party dealing with the company, and his dear understanding of the terms of the limitation.” (3 Kent’s Com. p. 27; 1 Lindley on Partnership, 376, 377; Davison v. Holden, 55 Conn. 103 , 112; Beaver v. McGrath, 50 Pa. St. 479 .)
The “ binding slip ” cases, such as De Grove v. Met. Ins. Co. ( 61 N. Y. 594 ) and Lypman v. Niagara F. Ins. Co. ( 121 N. Y. 454 ) do not apply. In them it was held that the binding slip, in connection with the evidence, entitled the applicant for insurance to a policy of the company in whose behalf the slip was issued, and that the terms of the actual contract were to be found in the usual policy which the company actually by the slip and its contract agreed to issue. Such was the policy the parties had in mind.
The defendant Hickman, however, is not liable, under the findings. It is found that the association Commenced business in 1895, and conducted it during that season of navigation. The findings show that Hickman revoked his power of attor
The defendants complain that against their objection and exception the action was tried at the Equity Term instead of before a jury. The plaintiff applied for insurance upon its cargo in transit by lake from Cleveland, Ohio, to Waukegan, Illinois. By mistake Waukegan, Michigan, was written in the certificate and not observed by the plaintiff until after the loss. There is no such port as Waukegan, Michigan. The plaintiff properly asked in its complaint to have the certificate corrected in this respect. If the defendants had admitted by
The complaint does not contain separate equitable and legal causes of action, but it asks such relief in equity as would, if granted, permit a recovery, as at common law. But the complaint stated no common-law cause of action, except as conditioned upon the equitable relief, and hence the right to recovery rested primarily upon equitable grounds. The court having obtained jurisdiction in equity, may, if it grant the equitable relief, retain jurisdiction and render that further judgment which properly follows thereupon. Wheelock v. Lee ( 74 N. Y. 496 ), cited by defendants, was precisely the reverse. In that case there were four causes of action at law for the recovery of money. Conditioned upon such recovery was the demand that certain securities be surrendered. Of course, in such a case, success-in the actions at law is a condition precedent to any equitable relief, and the joinder of the former with the latter ought not to deprive the defendant of a jury trial of the former.
We have examined the other errors assigned by the defendants, but do not think any of them justify the reversal of the judgment of the Trial Term except as to the defendant Hickman.
The order of the Appellate Division should be reversed, with costs, and' judgment of trial court affirmed, with costs, except as to the defendant Hickman, and as to him, order affirmed and judgment absolute ordered in his favor on the stipulation, with costs.
Parker, Ch. J., O’Brien, Bartlett, Martin, Yann and' Cullen, JJ., concur.
Judgment accordingly.
Cases cited
- Imperial Shale-Brick Co. v. Jewett 42 App. Div. 588 p. 143
- Wells v. Gates 18 Barb. 554 p. 144, p. 150
- Edsall v. Camden & Amboy Railroad & Transportation Co. 50 N. Y. 661 p. 144
- Blair v. Erie Railway Co. 66 N. Y. 313 p. 144
- Herrman v. Merchants' Insurance 81 N. Y. 184 p. 144, p. 148
- Hoffman v. Ætna Fire Insurance 32 N. Y. 405 p. 144, p. 148
- Nicholas v. New York Central & Hudson River Railroad 89 N. Y. 370 p. 144
- Trustees of the Freeholders & Commonalty v. Smith 118 N. Y. 634 p. 144
- Blair v. Wait 69 N. Y. 113 p. 144
- Voorhis v. Olmstead 66 N. Y. 113 p. 144
- Kelly v. Scott 49 N. Y. 595 p. 144
- Maher v. Hibernia Insurance 67 N. Y. 283 p. 144
- Wood v. American Fire Insurance 149 N. Y. 382 p. 144
- Continental Life Insurance v. Chamberlain 132 U. S. 304 p. 145
- Schwinger v. Raymond 83 N. Y. 192 p. 145
- Bonnell v. Griswold 89 N. Y. 122 p. 145
- Israel v. Manhattan Railway Co. 158 N. Y. 624 p. 145
- Parsons v. Parker 159 N. Y. 16 p. 145
- Pratt v. Foote 9 N. Y. 463 p. 145
- Shotwell v. Dixon 163 N. Y. 43 p. 145
- Kenyon v. Knights Templar & Masonic Mutual Aid Ass'n 122 N. Y. 247 p. 145
- Arctic Fire Insurance v. Austin 69 N. Y. 470 p. 145
- National Harrow Co. v. E. Bement & Sons 163 N. Y. 505 p. 145
- Murdock & Garratt v. Chenango Co. Mutual Insurance 2 N. Y. 210 p. 145
- Allen v. German American Insurance 123 N. Y. 6 p. 145
- Ellis v. Albany City Fire Insurance 50 N. Y. 402 p. 145
- Ruggles v. American Central Insurance Co. of St. Louis 114 N. Y. 415 p. 145
- Hicks v. British America Assurance Co. 162 N. Y. 284 p. 145
- De Grove v. Metropolitan Insurance 61 N. Y. 594 p. 145, p. 150
- Lipman v. Niagara Fire Insurance 121 N. Y. 454 p. 145, p. 150
- Western Transportation & Coal Co. of Michigan v. Kilderhouse 87 N. Y. 430 p. 145
- Lorillard v. Clyde 86 N. Y. 384 p. 145
- Ormes v. Dauchy 82 N. Y. 443 p. 145
- King v. Van Vleck 109 N. Y. 363 p. 145
- Glenn v. Lancaster 109 N. Y. 641 p. 145
- De Remer v. Brown 165 N. Y. 410 p. 145
- Pindar v. Resolute Fire Insurance 47 N. Y. 114 p. 146
- Insurance Co. v. Mowry 96 U. S. 544 p. 146
- Insurance Co. v. Lyman 15 Wall. 664 p. 146
- National Union Bank v. Landon 45 N. Y. 410 p. 150
- Davis v. Allen 3 N. Y. 168 p. 151
- Howell v. Adams 68 N. Y. 314 p. 151
- Elmira Iron & Steel Rolling Mill Co. v. Harris 124 N. Y. 280 p. 151