Majority
Headnote
1. Life Insurance—Policies—Time of Taking Effect—Waiver.The defendant, September 13, 1895, executed and delivered to William A. Poste a policy of insurance in the sum of $10,000, payable to the plaintiff, his wife, upon his death. Mr. Poste died January 21, 1896. Mr. Poste never paid anything upon the policy, and the single question presented by this appeal is whether the policy, which was found among Mr. Poste’s papers after his death, ever became operative as a contract. The policy calls for a payment of a premium of $126.40 in advance, and a like payment semiyearly thereafter. It was issued upon the application signed by Mr. Poste, which contained this provision: “That any policy issued thereon shall not go into effect until the first premium has been actually paid during the lifetime and good health of the insured.” The policy states that the application is a part of the contract. It also states that “no person, except the president, first or second vice president, comptroller, or secretary of the company, is authorized to make, alter, or discharge contracts or waive forfeitures.” The complaint alleges that at the time of the issuing and delivery of the policy Mr. Poste was an attorney and counselor at law, and one of the attorneys in the employ of the defendant, doing its legal business, and so continued until his death; that it was agreed between him and the defendant that he need not pay the premium in advance, but that he might pay the same at some future time, and that meantime the policy should be in full force; and because of such agreement Mr. Poste deferred payment in advance, and postponed payment, and accepted the policy upon such agreement. The answer placed this special agreement in issue. The plaintiff failed to prove this special agreement. The plaintiff proved that the defendant, in its report to the insurance department of the state, made January 3,1896, reported, respecting this policy, under the caption, “Description of all the policies and other life contingent obligations of the American Life Insurance Company at present in force, with all the data necessary for a correct valuation of the same, returned to the insurance department of the state of New York by the actuary of said company”: “Number of policy, 2,192. Date of issue, ninth month, 1895. Age at issue, 46. Form of policy,.
Dissent
We think the judgment must be affirmed, with costs. All concur, except PUTNAM and HERRICK, JJ., dissenting.
The defendant, on or about the 13th day of September, 1895, executed and delivered to William A. Poste, deceased, a policy for the sum of $10,000 upon his life, payable to the plaintiff, his wife. It is conceded that the premium was never paid. The application for insurance, which forms a part of the policy, contains the usual condition, viz.: “That any policy issued thereon shall not go into effect until the first premium has been actually paid during the lifetime and good health of the insured.” The policy also pro
The complaint contains an allegation averring an agreement between the deceased and the defendant, by which the latter was to give the former credit for the premium of $126.40, which, by the terms of the policy, was payable in advance. Under such an allegation, the plaintiff, to recover in the action, was compelled to establish on the trial a waiver by the defendant of the prepayment of the premium. There is no substantial conflict in the testimony; and the question is presented whether the trial judge was right in his conclusion that the policy in question never took effect in consequence of the failure of Mr. Poste to pay the premium. Notwithstanding the clause above quoted, in the application, which must be deemed to have the same force as if inserted in the policy, the defendant could waive prepayment of the premium. In Van Schoick v. Insurance Co., 68 N. Y. 434 -439, Folger, J., remarks:
“It has been held over and over that the customary clause in a policy, that it will not be binding on the insurer until the premium is paid in fact, may be waived by parol, or by act, and the policy may be delivered and become a binding contract upon the insurer, without payment in hand of the premium. Trustees of First Baptist Church v. Brooklyn Ins. Co., 19 N. Y. 305 ; Sheldon v. Insurance Co., 26 N. Y. 460 ; Wood v. Insurance Co., 32 N. Y. 619 ; Boehen v. Insurance Co., 35 N. Y. 131 ; Bodine v. Insurance Co., 51 N. Y. 117 .”
Did the defendant in this case1 give credit to the insured for the premium? No agent or officer of the company was sworn as to the actual transaction. We have simply the fact that the policy was delivered to Mr. Poste, and remained in his possession until the time of his death; and also that the defendant, about four months after the date of the policy, reported it to the insurance department as an outstanding obligation of the company.
In Bowman v. Insurance Co., 59 N. Y. 521 -526, Judge Folger says:
“Undoubtedly, also, the defendant could waive its right to immediate payment, and give the plaintiff credit. A delivery of the policy without exacting payment is, for the time, a waiver of the right to have immediate payment. Nor does the fact that the policy contains a condition which expresses just what the law, without any condition, declares, make the delivery any less a waiver of the right to instant payment, and less a giving of credit; for the defendant may waive all conditions in its own favor, as well as those which the law provides for it.”
In the opinion in Wood v. Insurance Co., 32 N. Y. 619 , 620, it is said:
“If he had waived the condition of prepayment, the insurers would have been bound by his act, though it was in violation of their private instructions. The law would have implied such waiver if the policy had been delivered by the agent without requiring payment of the premium, and had been accepted by the plaintiff as a complete and executed contract.”
In Bodine v. Insurance Co., 51 N. Y. 117 -122, it was held that a waiver of prepayment of the premium may be shown by direct proof, or be inferred by circumstances.
“State of New York, County of New York—ss.: E. S. Savage, vice president, and B. F. Beimund, actuary, Of the American Union Life Insurance Company of New York, being duly sworn, severally depose and say, and each for himself says, that the foregoing register or registers contain a full and correct list of all the outstanding policies in force on the 31st day of December, last, with all the data necessary to make a net seriatim valuation of the same, and that the policies that have ceased to be in force prior to said date are correctly marked off and canceled, according to their best information, knowledge, and belief. Edward S. Savage.
“B. F. Beimund.
“Sworn and subscribed before me this 3rd day of January, 1896.
“Edward Haight, Notary Public Kings County.
“Certificate filed in New York City.”
This report was an official act of the company itself, sworn to by its officers, and affords satisfactory evidence that the policy issued to Mr. Poste was then in force, and, as it is conceded that the premium had not been paid, that prepayment of the premium had been waived by the defendant. If the position taken by the defendant on the trial and in this court on the appeal is correct, the policy in question was not in force on the 3d day of January, 1896; had never been in force; had never had an inception or delivery; and the report as to said policy, as well as the affidavit appended to said report, were in fact false. It is difficult to conceive of a more conclusive admission of the truth of the plaintiff’s contention than this official and verified report. The attempted explanation by the company that it was in the habit of reporting to the insurance department, among its policies in force, those which had never had any legal inception or delivery, is not satisfactory to me.
The deceased was one of a firm of attorneys who were doing business for the defendant at the time the policy was issued, and it may be presumed that it was the intent of the parties that the claim of the company for the premium on the policy in question should be paid by services thereafter rendered by Mr. Poste for it. It appearing on the trial that the policy was delivered to Mr. Poste, and retained by him until his death, and that 3-£ months thereafter the company,, in its sworn statement to the insurance department, reported this policy as outstanding and in force, in the absence of any conflicting evidence, I think it satisfactorily appeared that the defendant had; voluntarily given credit for the premium to the insured, and hence that the plaintiff was entitled to recover.
From the evidence in the case it cannot be doubted that the deceased accepted the policy. He took it into his possession, and placed it among his private papers in his safe, and at the time of Ms death it had been in his possession four months. His possession and retention of the policy for so long a period was sufficient to show his intent to accept a delivery thereof. The report of the defendant also shows such acceptance, and hence the deceased became liable
My conclusion is that the judgment should be reversed, and a new trial granted; costs to abide the event.
HEBBICK, J., concurs.
Cases cited
- Roehner v. Knickerbocker Life Insurance 63 N. Y. 160 p. 912, p. 916
- Evans v. United States Life Insurance 64 N. Y. 304 p. 912, p. 916
- Insurance Co. v. Mowry 96 U. S. 544 p. 912
- Schoick v. Niagara Fire Insurance 68 N. Y. 434 p. 913
- Trustees of the First Baptist Church v. Brooklyn Fire Insurance 19 N. Y. 305 p. 913
- Sheldon v. Atlantic Fire & Marine Insurance 26 N. Y. 460 p. 913, p. 916
- Wood v. Poughkeepsie Mutual Insurance 32 N. Y. 619 at 620 p. 913
- Boehen v. Williamsburgh City Insurance 35 N. Y. 131 p. 913, p. 914
- Bodine v. Exchange Fire Insurance 51 N. Y. 117 p. 913
- Bowman v. Agricultural Insurance 59 N. Y. 521 p. 913
- Wyman v. Phœnix Mutual Life Insurance Co., of Hartford 119 N. Y. 274 p. 914
- Merserau v. Phoenix Mutual Life Insurance 66 N. Y. 274 p. 914
- Marvin v. Universal Life Insurance 85 N. Y. 278 p. 914