Majority
Headnote
1. Fire Insurance — Several Insurances on Same Property. Neither the policy of the law nor contracts of insurance forbid, hut on the contrary permit, as many several insurances upon the same property as there are separate interests.The defendant insists that it is not legally liable to the plaintiff under the policy of insurance upon which this action is founded. Its claim is that the insured therein, at the time he became such, had another policy of insurance covering the same property, and hence this policy became void at the moment the indorsement was placed upon it declaring George E. Nichols, this plaintiff’s assignor, to be the owner of the property and of the policy. There was no attempt on the part of Nichols, or of any of the other parties having to do with either of the policies, at any stage of the transaction with which they were connected, to defraud the defendant or to procure double insurance. Indeed, the effect of obtaining the insurance complained of by this defendant has been because of the payment made by the company issuing the policy to reduce the recovery to a point much below what it would have been had such insurance not been obtained. Nichols contracted to buy the land upon which the burned buildings were situated, and immediately thereafter entered into possession and began extensive alterations and repairs upon the buildings, and he took out a policy of insurance for $3,500 on the residence and $1,500 on the barns in the London and Liverpool and Globe Insurance Company. This was on the 22d of December, 1892. A few days later, and on December 27th, Hanford Lockwood, who had once been the owner of the property, but then was a mortgagee, and as such the payee to the extent of his mortgage interest, in the policy of insurance that occasioned this action, apparently supposing that Nichols, plaintiff’s assignor, had become vested with the fee of the real estate, made application to the company to
The appellant contends that the effect of this indorsement was to make Nichols the insured under the policy, and at the same moment of time the policy became void for two reasons:
(1) Because five days before Nichols had taken out a policy of insurance in another company, although he was at that time ignorant of the existence of this policy.
(2) Because the indorsement did not truly state Nichols’’ interest in the property, in that it was not in fact that of unconditional and sole ownership.
Lockwood, who was a very old man, in fear, doubtless, of the clause in the policy providing that it should become void in the event of a change in the title, without notice to the company, attempted in good faith to preserve the policy by having the change of ownership noted thereon. ILe was mistaken merely about the fact of ownership. Nichols had a contract of sale instead of being the unconditional and sole owner of the property. If, however, the legal effect of Lockwood’s action was to make Nichols the insured under this policy, then the position of the defendant would seem to be well taken. For when Nichols became the insured under the policy, the clause therein which provides that it “ shall be void if the insured now has, or shall hereafter make or procure any other contract of insurance, whether valid or not, on property covered in whole or in part by this policy,” constituted a part of Nichols’ contract with defendant, and Nichols did then have other insurance. If the effect of this indorsement was
At this point we stop to state in their proper order the several transactions which induce this conclusion.
On the 27th day of June, 1892, Hanford Lockwood was the owner of the property, and on that date he obtained from this defendant the policy of insurance upon which this action is founded. Subsequently he sold, and by a good and sufficient deed conveyed, the property to Warren E. Smith, taking back from him a purchase-money mortgage, and immediately thereafter, and on August 18th, 1892, there was indorsed upon the policy the following: “ Warren E. Smith is now recognized as owner of this policy and the property mentioned as insured hereinunder, subject, nevertheless, to all the rules and condiditious of this policy, none of which are hereby waived or avoided, and loss, if any, first payable to Hanford Lockwood, mortgagee, as interest may appear. Twenty thousand dollars incumbrance is hereby permitted.” Smith was the owner of the property prior to the making of that indorsement. As soon as it was made he became the owner of the policy, Han-ford Lockwood being simply the payee therein to the extent of his mortgage interest. He had no other right or interest therein. The contract was one between Smith and the defendant insurance company. As the appointee to receive the moneys thereunder to the extent of his mortgage interest, Lockwood had rights that he could enforce, but it was not his policy, it was Smith’s. The contract of the company was with him. The defendant could not by any arrangement with Lockwood relieve itself from liability to Smith in the event of a fire. It was beyond its power, without notice to Smith, to
About three months after Smith had become the owner of the policy he entered into a contract of sale of the property with George E. Nichols. For some reason of convenience the transfer of the title was not made at once, but Nichols was allowed to go into possession for the purpose of making improvements to the buildings, and a month and two days after the contract of purchase was executed he procured a policy of insurance from the Liverpool and London and Globe Insurance Company for $5,000, $3,500 of it being on the residence, a sum not exceeding one-lialf the value of the building. Nichols had an insurable interest in the property; the policy was a valid one and it has been paid. When it was issued it had no effect upon Smith’s policy. Nothing that Nichols could do by way of taking out insurance could affect Smith’s right under his policy. The policies could co-exist, because while relating to the same property they affected different interests therein, and neither the iiolicy of the law nor the contracts of insurance forbid, but on the contrary permit as many several insurances upon the same property as there are separate interests. (Springfield F. & M. Ins. Co. v. Allen, 43 N. Y. 389 , 395; Lowell Mfg. Co. v. Safeguard F. Ins. Co., 88 N. Y. 591 .) Smith’s policy then was- unaffected by the taking out of another policy by Nichols, so that on. the 21th day of December, 1892, and down to the moment when defendant indorsed upon the policy the clause to the effect that Nichols was owner of the property and policy, it constituted an enforceable contract upon which Smith, its owner, had a right to rely for protection in the event of an accidental fire, and it was a valid policy after the indorsement, because the indorsement did not and could not affect Smith’s rights thereunder, it having been made without his knowledge or consent. As against him the indorsement was an absolute nullity, for it is not pretended that he either knew of or consented to it. Hanford Lockwood and this defendant were responsible for it. It is true that the indorsement was made
The defendant also insists that if Smith, instead of Nichols, was the insured under the policy at the time of the fire, then there should have been no recovery, because proofs of loss were not made iy the insured as required by the policy. It
The judgment should be affirmed, with costs.
All concur, except O’Brien, J., not voting.
Judgment affirmed.
Cases cited
- Short v. Home Insurance 90 N. Y. 16 at 19 p. 354
- Sanders v. Cooper 115 N. Y. 279 p. 354
- Allen v. German American Insurance 123 N. Y. 6 p. 354
- Grosvenor v. Atlantic Fire Insurance 17 N. Y. 391 p. 355
- Bidwell v. Northwestern Insurance 19 N. Y. 179 p. 355
- Perry v. Lorillard Fire Insurance 61 N. Y. 214 p. 355
- Moore v. Hanover Fire Insurance 141 N. Y. 219 at 223 p. 355
- Mussey v. Atlas Mutual Insurance 14 N. Y. 79 p. 355
- Lasher v. St. Joseph Fire & Marine Insurance 86 N. Y. 423 p. 355
- Weed v. London & Lancashire Fire Insurance 116 N. Y. 106 p. 355
- Rohrbach v. Germania Fire Insurance 62 N. Y. 47 at 61 p. 355
- Quinlan v. Providence Washington Insurance 133 N. Y. 356 at 362 p. 355, p. 356
- New York Central Insurance v. National Protection Insurance 20 Barb. 468 p. 355
- Mead v. American Fire Insurance 13 App. Div. 476 p. 355, p. 356
- McMaster v. President of Insurance Co. of North America 55 N. Y. 222 p. 355, p. 356, p. 357
- Rickerson v. Hartford Fire Insurance 149 N. Y. 307 p. 355
- Darrow v. Family Fund Society 116 N. Y. 537 p. 355
- Baley v. Homestead Fire Insurance 80 N. Y. 21 p. 356
- Holly v. Metropolitan Life Insurance 105 N. Y. 437 p. 356
- Walradt v. Phœnix Insurance Co. of Hartford 136 N. Y. 375 p. 356
- Haight v. Continental Insurance 92 N. Y. 51 p. 356
- Eddy v. London Assurance Corp. 143 N. Y. 311 p. 356
- Lowell Manufacturing Co. v. Safeguard Fire Insurance 88 N. Y. 591 p. 356, p. 360
- Springfield Fire & Marine Insurance v. Allen 43 N. Y. 389 at 395, 396, at 395 p. 356, p. 360
- Robert v. Trader's Insurance 17 Wend. 631 p. 356
- Pelton v. Westchester Fire Insurance 77 N. Y. 605 p. 356
- Merrill v. Agricultural Insurance 73 N. Y. 452 p. 356
- Armstrong v. Agricultural Insurance 130 N. Y. 560 p. 356
- Blossom v. Lycoming Fire Insurance 64 N. Y. 162 p. 356
- Romeyn v. Sickles 108 N. Y. 650 p. 356
- Day v. Town of New Lots 107 N. Y. 148 p. 356
- Kernochan v. New-York Bowery Fire Insurance 17 N. Y. 428 p. 357, p. 362
- Titus v. Glens Falls Insurance 81 N. Y. 410 p. 357
- Bumstead v. Dividend Mutual Insurance 12 N. Y. 81 p. 357
- O'Niel v. Buffalo Fire Insurance 3 N. Y. 122 p. 357